Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our World Neighborhood Charter School 4

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
This school has honestly been a great experience for me but I do not recommend the middle school. as much as I recommend the elementary school. Many of the middle school teachers that were really good have left but all of the teachers, even if they don't have that much experience, are caring and do everything to make sure you are safe and secure. The elementary school definitely has better teachers and a nicer building overall.

Our World Neighborhood Charter School 3

Posted September 30, 2014
- a teacher
Many of the best teachers have left in recent years. Lower pay and benefits (compares to NYC school) is turning OWNCS into a place for new teachers to gain experience, build up their resumes, and find a new job.


Our World Neighborhood Charter School 1

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
This school should do something about the high turnover rate. It says a lot about the environment when good teachers leave.

Our World Neighborhood Charter School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
My son is now in 4th grade and is thriving academically and socially. The workload is heavy and expectations are high. Every teacher he has had, from grade teachers, to music, to Spanish, to art, has been amazing, dedicated, kind and caring. The school is ethnically and socio-economically diverse, and that diversity is celebrated. Mr. Ferguson is a wonderful school leader who makes the children's needs a priority. There is great communication between the administration and the Parent Teachers Organization. The PTO is very active.

Our World Neighborhood Charter School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This school thrives because of wonderful, motivated teachers who go the extra mile and parents who are very involved and engaged in the learning process. The workload is heavier, since the introduction of common core, but this is the case across the board these days.


Our World Neighborhood Charter School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
OWNCS is a great environment for children to play, learn and excel. My daughter has blossomed while attending and I'm excited for many more years at OWNCS.

Our World Neighborhood Charter School 1

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
This is school is so bad. I can't express it. I don't like one thing about it. My kids get so much homework. She got 10 hours of this site. And 4 packtes that are very thick.

Our World Neighborhood Charter School 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
We have been most impressed with this school. Some data: *Ranked #11 by The Observer for Best Middle School in New York City in 2012; *Ranked a "Notable School" by InsideSchools; *over 3 consecutive years, 90%+ of OWNCS parents reported "high satisfaction" with the school according to DOE surveys; *the majority of students go on to their first choice high school; *the school has implemented a comprehensive plan to assist special needs children; *and over four consecutive years the school has had over a 500 student waitlist. There is strong parent-teacher coordination, and real sense that this a community. The administration has a strong strategic vision that embraces diversity and demanding academics. Sports like tennis, soccer, and basketball are all offered, along with salsa and African drumming. A big league school with high expectations of its staff and students, and a record to match.


Our World Neighborhood Charter School 5

Posted October 25, 2012
- a community member
MY CHILD WENT TO THIS SCHOOL. TEACHERS SEND THEIR KIDS TO THIS SCHOOL. DEFINITELY FOR SMART KIDS. NOT GOOD IF YOUR KIDS HAVE IEPs. THE SCHOOL HAS THE WORST STAFF BUT GREAT TEACHERS. IT IS A MIRACLE THE PLACE STAYS OPEN. PHONE NEVER ANSWERED. NO CALLS/E,MAILS RETURNED UNLESS IT IS TO THEIR BENEFIT. FUN PLACE TO WORK, KIDS NOT FIRST PRORITY. PARENTS GET IN THEIR WAY. IF YOU WORK A LOT AND HAVE A SMART KID THIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL. WARNING THE BOARD IS THE PRINCIPAL'S BEST FRIENDS. AGAIN GREAT TEACHERS!!!!!

Our World Neighborhood Charter School 4

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
Strong leadership. ELA and Social studies curriculum outstanding. Math program has shown amazing improvement. Science curriculum is nearly non-existent with inefficient teaching.. And administration is beginning to look like nepotism central. A very good school that I still recommend to others, but it needs to expand administration to include a representative sample of the community. In this economy, it seems laughable that the ONLY people hired are relatives or friends of administration. This needs to be addressed by the boar before it affects the good reputation the school has as a diverse community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our World Neighborhood Charter School
36-12 35th Avenue, New York, NY  11106
(718) 392-3405
Last modified Our World Neighborhood Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Our World Neighborhood Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top