Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Side Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thanks for leading the school in right direction and teaching our kids and your students in the best possible way !!

East Side Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter goes to ESMS and she absolutely love it !!! She is currently in 8 th grade and hopes she finds HS at least similar like ESMS . School does not have lots of students and everyone knows each other !! Teachers are great and i hope my son gets also in this school.


East Side Middle School 3

Posted August 01, 2014
- a community member
This school has a sibling policy. It is not official but if your child has an older sib attends ESMS, don't fret, your younger child will get in. Great for parents who don't want to stress about having their kids at different schools. I've seen many examples of this at ESMS.

East Side Middle School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attends ESMS and is now in 7th grade. She is getting the best education possible in a very caring environment. Go tigers - roar!

East Side Middle School 4

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
My son graduated ESMS last year. He had exceptional experiences there that will remain with him for the rest of his life! The teachers are very nurturing and caring, the student body very tight, and the academics are very good! Indeed, the administration seems to know every kid on a first name basis. The english/humanities programs here are unrivalled and are top notch. The math program is good but there is room for improvement since admissions to specialized high schools is good but not great and is directly related to STEM initiatives. The science is soft and reminds me of physics for poets (limited quantification). Overall, a great public school education compared to other D2 choices!


East Side Middle School
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
My older daughter graduated last ytear and now I have a 6th grader. I am very pleased with the evel of education our kids recieve. Additionally, the integrity of the administration and the teachers is exactly what I look for for the kids.

East Side Middle School 5

Posted January 23, 2010
- a student
I'm a 7th grader at ESMS, it's the best middle school in the world and I love it!

East Side Middle School 5

Posted December 16, 2009
- a student
I go to ESMS, and I'm an 8th grader this year. I love it! Everyone, even the teachers, are nice and have a sense of humor...it's a very small school, but that's what I love about it; everybody knows everybody. The math program is very challenging and successful. I have learned so much in this school.


East Side Middle School 5

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
ESCS has great extracurriculars and great education it s an all around great school

East Side Middle School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a student
I love ESMS, I'll definitely miss it as I graduate this year. I look forward to the new school building and the lockers even though I might not get to see it. Besides the crowded hallways, ESMS is perfect.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Side Middle School
331 West 91st Street, New York, NY  10024
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (212) 360-0114
Last modified East Side Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top