Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 212 Midtown West
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I do believe this school promotes honesty, but when the staff isn't always honest, there are problems relaying that message to the students. The school boasts school safety and protection for all students, but it seems like they are concerned with "some" of the students, not all of them. If the school favors the parents, then they are very helpful and concerned for "that" student. I don't think they would allow anything horrible to happen to any of the students, but favoritism definitely runs deep at 212.

Ps 212 Midtown West
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
The extended day teachers are amazing. They care for all the students, Teacher Tori also works like crazy.


Ps 212 Midtown West
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Curriculum could be more rigorous. Success Academy is down the street and their children are leaps and bounds ahead of our kids in the same grade. Very sad, considering they have all grown up together.

Ps 212 Midtown West 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
This is my son's second year at Midtown West and he could not be happier!

Ps 212 Midtown West 5

Posted July 26, 2012
- a parent
Transferred in from a progressive private school and we love it! Wish we had gotten in sooner and saved thousands on tuition. Teachers and student teachers are great, excellent enrichment programs in school and in afterschool programming. Diverse student community. Caring and visionary leadership by principal and aministrative staff.


Ps 212 Midtown West 5

Posted January 17, 2008
- a parent
this school is a great school my son went there last year but he graudated he cried he still wished he went there

Ps 212 Midtown West 4

Posted May 17, 2007
- a parent
Just a really friendly, warm, relaxed little school. Only two classes per grade and the teachers have the kids for two years, so everyone gets to know everyone well. The principal is very warm and genuinely seems to enjoy and like and get kids, and they like him back. The diversity is a real strength, as is the highly involved artsy musical parent body. It can get chaotic there, but cheerfully so. The school is like a family, in that you see its flaws but you can't help loving it. The Martin Luther King Jr. celebrations are always a highlight of the year for me.

Ps 212 Midtown West 5

Posted January 15, 2006
- a teacher
Although I am not a parent of the school, I was blessed to have the opportunity to be a student teacher in a Kindergarten class. I am from Australia and I felt so warmly welcomed into the school community by students, parents and staff over the 4 week period. A fantastic school offering an abundance of after school program activities. From my experience, the level of parent involvement was extremely high, with parents involved in field trips, lunchtime supervision and well informed of the day to day runnings of thier childs classroom practices and experiences. Thank you for having my MTW and I will forever be grateful for my unfogettable and most rewarding experience.


Ps 212 Midtown West 2

Posted October 26, 2005
- a parent
I am a parent of a kindergarten student and I am extremely disappointed in Midtown West thus far. I feel that the school is overcrowded and unorganized.

Ps 212 Midtown West 4

Posted June 26, 2005
- a parent
Midtown West offers a wonderful learning community. The teacher and parents work collaboratively to ensure a rich learning environment for each child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 212 Midtown West
328 W 48th St, New York, NY  10036
(212) 247-0208
Last modified Ps 212 Midtown West is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 212 Midtown West Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top