Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is a wonderful community school. Every staff member is very professional and very caring. They all are so pleasant and friendly.

Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
Esta es la mejor escuela del mundo 3 de mis hijos se graduaron de esta escuela. Mi hijo mas pequeno viaja del bronx porque a el le encanta su escuela y los maestros. Mi hijo se siente seguro y apoyado en la escuela.


Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
PS/MS188 is a wonderful school. The staff is full of love caring and motivated individuals that are the best role models a student can have. The school has a safe and welcoming environment, there are so many extra curricular activities such as flag football, tennis, violin classes and a chorus.

Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
The is the best school in the lower east side. The school has transform into a different school. The new administrators are caring, and very dedicated.

Ps 188 The Island School 4

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
The school is progressively getting better each year. The administration is taking an active role in communicating with parents and amongst themselves. I am confident the best is yet to come.


Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a community member
It is a warm loving and caring environment. Teacher's are always dedicated to helping there students achieve there goals.

Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
My grandkids have been going to this school for about two years now. I would like to compliment the principal, assistant principal, teachers and staff who have welcomed all four of my grandkids in. They have all been patient respectful understanding and have always been active with them from day one. Unlike their previous schools they have attended. They are very polite and take their time with each child individually. I love that they have extra activities for the students to join.

Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
My grandkids have been going to this school for about two years now. I would like to compliment the principal, assistant principal, teachers and staff who have welcomed all four of my grandkids in. They have all been patient respectful understanding and have always been active with them from day one. Unlike their previous schools they have attended. They are very polite and take their time with each child individually. I love that they have extra activities for the students to join.


Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
I'm gratefull for this school & their staff! they work hard to improve the school for the kids. They do so much to show the parents how to help our kids and make it fun. I am happy to have my son go to this school.

Ps 188 The Island School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a teacher
Although I am a staff member at this school I am a parent of 4 children and for this reason my comments come from the heart of a parent! Our teachers and staff truly teach from the heart!.. They are not only involved in the academics of our students but truly care about developing a well rounded child which includes but is not limited to academics, social and economical development.. We offer a great deal of support, programs and incentives not only to our students but to our parent body as well. We are here to educate not only our students but our families as well.

Nearby schools

Ps 188 The Island School
442 East Houston Street, New York, NY  10002
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (212) 677-5710
Last modified Ps 188 The Island School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top