Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
74 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 108 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Again, teachers have been the best part of the school for my kid so far.

New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
My daughter, who is 3rd grader, spends about an hour on average each day except Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. In addition to that she sometimes bring school projects I work with my kid for. I think this is a reasonable workload for 3rd graders.


New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
I believe my daughter's teachers have been successful to show this. My daughter has been really enjoying working with her teachers.

New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School 4

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
I have a 3rd grade daughter who goes to NEST+m. Most of all, she loves her teachers. This gives me a great comfort that there is someone in school she can trust. In terms of curriculum, all subjects seem to cover what 3rd graders need to learn. Workload (i.e., homework) has been reasonable so that she can spend about an hour each day. Emphasis on reading every night is the best. They might need to think about their choice of the 2nd language since many students and parents seem to think the course does not seem to be very successful.

New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School 4

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
My daughter is finishing Kindergarten at NEST. In terms of academics, the school is very targeted in it's curriculum and my daughter has progressed very well. Mark Berkowitz has come on board as the new principal after the former retired. It's been a little bumpy with regards to his transition, but he seems to work very hard to improve communication with parents and make things right. In general, NEST is a good school, but it can become a great school, with more collaborative efforts between the administration and parents.


New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School 4

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Overall, I feel NEST+m has been a positive experience for my 9th grader. The majority of the students are friendly and hard working, and she has some absolutely amazing teachers--truly collegiate level--such as Ms. Corbett, her physics teacher. I honestly cannot speak more highly of Ms. Corbett. Her ability to teach physics and inculcate a love of the subject is unparalleled. there is nothing rote or boring about her teaching methods and she has inspired my daughter to pick AP Physics for her elective next year. the downside of NEST is that a lot of things we were sold on to attend, did not materialize. There used to be a standout science fair, which no longer takes place, as well as monthly guest visits and discussion from experts in policy and science that no longer seem to happen. I would hope as Principal Berkowitz begins to make his mark on the school, that he doesn't forget the 9-12 aspect of having a K-12 school. I understand the need to focus on getting enrollment high in Kindergarten, but there are so few stand-out small science-based high schools in Manhattan (or NYC in general) that he has an amazing and unique opportunity to give students both a rigorous course of study as well as offer a more tailored experience. Restoring funding for lectures and the science fair would be a great start to helping build that.

New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Many thanks to Ms. Corbett (physics) and Ms. Gordon (English) and to Marcy Duran, the hardest working parent coordinator I've ever met!

New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
There are a few bad apples who will never leave, thanks to the policies of NYC DOE, but overall , the teachers here are impressive. In particular, the English, Languages and Sciences departments are stand out.


New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
I guess it is the same amount as most competitive high schools, but I feel the work can get overwhelming at times, especially in the beginning of the year.

New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Definitely! High schoolers are expected to self-advocate and to learn that having a conversation with a teacher in a respectful way is a part of life. This can only serve them well down the road.

Nearby schools

New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School
111 Columbia Street, New York, NY  10002
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 108 reviews. (212) 677-5190
Last modified New Explorations Into Science, Tech and Math High School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top