Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-8
Private
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 76
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


46 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ascension School 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy with the learning outcome of our son. we believe that most of the teacher are excellent.

Ascension School 4

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are great in at Ascension School of new york. It's nicely located in the upper west side.


Ascension School 1

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AT THIS SCHOOL FOR UPPER GRADES. TO BAD THE ARCHDIOCESE DOESNT CARE ABOUT WHATS GOING ON THERE MANY PARENTS HAVE SENT IN LETTERS AND PHONE CALLS.

Ascension School 2

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I am very sorry, but this school is horrible. Not only are the staff lazy but all they do is yell at the kids. I have had my daughter at this school since she was in kindergarten and she is now going to 8th grade. The only reason that she is still in this school is because this is her last year and it's the closest school to home. Do not waste your time and money here, some teachers are great while others just play nice in front of parents but are tigers behind your back. The food doesn't even look edible. I have seen rats scurry in and out of the building. Do not go here.

Ascension School 4

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
The staff is very friendly, and the teachers are wonderful. My children were in the Pre-K 3 class and we just really loved the school. The school is a little under-resourced, and that is why I'm not going with five stars, but they did pretty well with what they had.


Ascension School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
This school turned out to be a nightmare. Math and science is really bad, staff yells at kids all day. It is not worth the tuition.

Ascension School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Ascension is an amazing school. We are in the Pre-K and the teachers and the principal are marvelous. They seem to practice positive discipline and the kids all seem very well-behaved and happy. We considered all the other Pre-Ks on the UWS (where our friends send their kids)-Ascension was as good as any of them. You can't beat the tuition either! The program is developmentally appropriate. It is academic, but the kids have a lot of free play. Love, love, love this school.

Ascension School 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
We love this school the learning environment is the best you could get for your children . My son's learn something new everyday and they love going to school they look forward to learning and seeing their friends everyday . We have developed friendships with so many different family's you don't have to be R. C. to attend Ascension . When we drop our children off in the morning we know they are safe we know they are getting a great education what more could you ask for. All of our children have an avg of 90 or better. No school is 100% but Ascension comes pretty close .


Ascension School 1

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
Our child was interviewed and did not get in. There was no explanation. We were told he performed well in all the tasks but they were not accepting him. No explanation.

Ascension School 5

Posted June 11, 2012
- a community member
ascension school is the best school in the country. the principal mr. mc,mahon is a great principal. the teachers are fun and interactive with the students. the gym teacher is the best mentor i know i actually belive he should be a teacher. the kitchen staff is the best, they are nice and thoughtful for others. the nurse is a overalll great nurse she takes care of her patience with love and care.most of all the students are a good influence on other. as you can see ascension is a great school. infact this here letter is wrote by a 7th grade student by the names of (Ben Frierson) if you want a great future for your child this is the one.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ascension School
220 West 108th Street, New York, NY  10025
(212) 222-5161
Last modified Ascension School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Ascension School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top