Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ascension School 3

Posted February 07, 2015
- a community member
I would like to start off by saying that I have graduated from this school. I am now in a Catholic high school and was accepted with scholarships. My early years in Ascension, kindergarten to fifth grade, were okay. Nothing too great but nothing too bad either. The children were disciplined well and academically we were a good class. The management slowly began to decline throughout the years. I would have to say that the best time for Ascension would have to be from 2003-2009. After that the new principals did not know how to hire teachers, which costed me 2 years of actual math and science classes, and let the upper grades do so many things against the rules. After the joining of Annunciation the school lost their original values and mission. The school not only changed the uniforms but also their traditions. I truly feel sorry for the young boys and girls that will never know what the tradition of Ascension really was, they have lost their Ascension identity and have become the new Annunciation. In all honesty, the administration seems to only care for how the school looks on paper and not what the students actually need.

Ascension School 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy with the learning outcome of our son. we believe that most of the teacher are excellent.


Ascension School 4

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are great in at Ascension School of new york. It's nicely located in the upper west side.

Ascension School 1

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AT THIS SCHOOL FOR UPPER GRADES. TO BAD THE ARCHDIOCESE DOESNT CARE ABOUT WHATS GOING ON THERE MANY PARENTS HAVE SENT IN LETTERS AND PHONE CALLS.

Ascension School 4

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
The staff is very friendly, and the teachers are wonderful. My children were in the Pre-K 3 class and we just really loved the school. The school is a little under-resourced, and that is why I'm not going with five stars, but they did pretty well with what they had.


Ascension School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
This school turned out to be a nightmare. Math and science is really bad, staff yells at kids all day. It is not worth the tuition.

Ascension School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Ascension is an amazing school. We are in the Pre-K and the teachers and the principal are marvelous. They seem to practice positive discipline and the kids all seem very well-behaved and happy. We considered all the other Pre-Ks on the UWS (where our friends send their kids)-Ascension was as good as any of them. You can't beat the tuition either! The program is developmentally appropriate. It is academic, but the kids have a lot of free play. Love, love, love this school.

Ascension School 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
We love this school the learning environment is the best you could get for your children . My son's learn something new everyday and they love going to school they look forward to learning and seeing their friends everyday . We have developed friendships with so many different family's you don't have to be R. C. to attend Ascension . When we drop our children off in the morning we know they are safe we know they are getting a great education what more could you ask for. All of our children have an avg of 90 or better. No school is 100% but Ascension comes pretty close .


Ascension School 1

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
Our child was interviewed and did not get in. There was no explanation. We were told he performed well in all the tasks but they were not accepting him. No explanation.

Ascension School 5

Posted June 11, 2012
- a community member
ascension school is the best school in the country. the principal mr. mc,mahon is a great principal. the teachers are fun and interactive with the students. the gym teacher is the best mentor i know i actually belive he should be a teacher. the kitchen staff is the best, they are nice and thoughtful for others. the nurse is a overalll great nurse she takes care of her patience with love and care.most of all the students are a good influence on other. as you can see ascension is a great school. infact this here letter is wrote by a 7th grade student by the names of (Ben Frierson) if you want a great future for your child this is the one.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ascension School
220 West 108th Street, New York, NY  10025
(212) 222-5161
Last modified Ascension School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Ascension School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top