Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
9-12
Public
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 336

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a student
Lower Manhattan Arts Academy allows it's students to explore the arts and build the confidence to achieve greatness. The school's teachers provide many opportunities to excel academically. When the students graduate, all of them feel prepared to face life's challenges and are confident that they will succeed in anything they think of.

Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 4

Posted October 14, 2014
- a student
LoMA is a very great school to help you become an independent individual. In your freshman year you may think its very hard and the teachers are mean but as you progress throughout the years you will realize that they prepare you for the real world they hold your hand but also let you understand what it is to have responsibilities. As a senior i realized that LoMA is true to its word, LoMA cares. Its not all fun it takes hard work to graduate from LoMA but in the end you will be proud of the person they helped create


Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 4

Posted October 13, 2014
- a community member
I am a senior at LoMA. I really have enjoyed my time here. The teachers are great and truly want you to succeed and will do whatever they can to help you do your best. The school has connections with a lot of great organizations and programs. The are many groups and activities to keep you interested. This school has definitely helped me and I recommend it.

Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 4

Posted October 10, 2014
- a student
When LoMA say "LoMA cares" they really do care. It may seem like the teachers are annoying at first but they are really pushing you to be the best you can be. for all the four years I've been here I have improved so much.

Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 1

Posted September 12, 2014
- a student
LOMA is a bad school. They claim to be an art high school, but the truth is that they don't teach art, the students didn't know that it was an art school when they enrolled in. Also, the teachers abuse of their power and are rude. the students don't want to do with anything related to art. for example in drama class they only play hide and seek and are not allowed to use the auditorium. go to another school, it's not a safe school or good.


Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 5

Posted March 22, 2012
- a student
This is my last year here at LoMA and I can say it's been a great experience. I made a lot of new friends and met many helpful staff and teachers. I hope it continues to do well and grants many more students with plenty of opportunities.

Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 4

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
Lower Manhattan Arts Academy (LoMA) is still in it's infancy stage and continues to be a work in progress as the class of 2010 was only its 2nd. However, the progress and accolades achieved by this school in that time span have been nothing short of amazing; it is one of NYC's top 10 performing high schools Teachers go the distance to insure the success of every student. LoMA offers fairly rigorous (Physics, Calculus, AP and college classes) curriculum for a small school. The school leader is thoughtful and effective, a good principal; not one to back down from challenges, by the time my child graduates in 2013, he will be a highly effective leader and a GREAT PRINCIPAL' I love this school; most importantly, my child does too

Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 5

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lower Manhattan Arts Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lower Manhattan Arts Academy
350 Grand Street, New York, NY  10002
(212) 505-0143
Last modified Lower Manhattan Arts Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lower Manhattan Arts Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top