Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The East Village Community School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I want to say "thank you" to the Principal of EVCS. He is a wonderful leader, and a smart and thoughtful guide for our kids. At the beginning of this year our son had an incident with another boy that wasn't much fun to navigate, but Bradley handled it perfectly. He put the kids together, had them sort it out, was patient and understanding where he needed to be, and unrelenting in his expectations that they kids get to a place where they both felt comfortable and heard. He showed expert skill at diffusing the issue, and both the children benefited from his focus and attention. I am so grateful to him for the way he handled that - not just for my own child, but for the other child as well.

The East Village Community School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
The EVCS teaching body is AMAZING. During our 5 years so far our son has never had a teacher he didn't like, respect and trust. They are so dedicated and focused - all of them. They are good people with a real commitment to teaching our kids. And they really enjoy being there! That's very important - it translates to the children, and makes them excited to be at school and part of something positive and useful.


The East Village Community School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
The homework packets are carefully measured - we've never felt as though we were mired down with home work at all. The packets are fun, considered, and very useful in reiterating the lessons the kids are learning in class. Our son loves to do his homework!

The East Village Community School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely. EVCS is all about TRYING. It's not about whether you are the best, it's about DOING your best - and this determination and persistence that they're learning now is something they will take with them into further education.

The East Village Community School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Respect is earned, and I believe the Leader and teachers at EVCS truly earn the respect from the students that is so palpable when you enter the school. This respect then translates to their peers. What they see, children imitate, and this school is setting a very high standard for our kids.


The East Village Community School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
EVCS follows the 'responsive classroom' model, and led by a Principal who makes himself available to both the student and parent body every day, the kids are shown that the best way to communicate with others is with compassion and caring. The School Wide Morning Meeting that we have every couple of weeks says it all - the school gathers to sing songs about unity, compassion and caring, and then the Principal reads aloud a letter to the school that usually touches on things that are happening as well as what he's really enjoying see grow in the school - always a positive, caring and empathetic message.

The East Village Community School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
EVCS has a very well-developed social-emotional curriculum which is really the foundation of the school. The Principal and teachers model honesty and integrity for the kids, and use various techniques to teach and encourage the kids to do the same.

The East Village Community School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
EVCS is a fantastic school. The Principal is a smart, forward-thinking leader who makes himself available to the parent and student body at both drop off and pick up every day. He leads an amazing team of teachers who are committed to their task of educating our kids, and do so with kindness, warmth and clarity. I couldn't have imagined that a NYC public school could be this good! It really is just a wonderful experience - our son has been at EVCS since Pre-K and is in his 5th year so far, and just loves it. We feel so lucky to have a place at this fantastic school.


The East Village Community School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
It's my daughters second year and like at all schools you'll find a few kinks. I mean not everyone will be happy. My daughter was bullied by another girl but I took care of that day 1 and it was handled. The parents are a bit clicky but as people we naturally gravitate to those who have similar interests and views . But overall I like the school. It's welcoming for those who are different which is all of us. Lol. Everyone here is a bit kooky in their own way. After the nightmare at my sons school I must say I love love love EVCS.

The East Village Community School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Remarkable model for a progressive NYC Public school. Interactive curriculum, with a socio-emotional foundation focused on the "whole" child. The increasing wealth in the neighborhood makes me concerned for its future, but for the moment it remains a culturally and socio-economically diverse place that spends its time and resources focused on creating the best educational experience available. We really love this place...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The East Village Community School
610 East 12th Street, New York, NY  10009
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (212) 982-0682
Last modified The East Village Community School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top