Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
76 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 120 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been going to girls prep since 1st grade she has excel verbally, academically. I am just so proud of her. The teachers care and keep in contact via email or phone or text with the parents so we know what's going on. I think it was the best thing I did for her, because she was not doing well in public school. She has more confidence she is learning so much and getting so much more than an education.

Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to Ms. Aquila for all that she has done to help me and my daughter last year. She definitely showed me that it's not just a job to her she actually really cares about her students even after they are no longer in her class.


Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
There is no tolerance for disrespect, they make the children own up to their wrongdoings and take responsibility for their actions.

Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
The teachers care they want to see the children succeed now and in the future to come. My daughter was going through a lot last year and her teacher was so caring and understanding. She was also helpful with me on showing her how to learn and getting her to open up great advice she had given me.

Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York 5

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been a student at Girls Prep since Kindergarten. She is now in her last year (4th grade) and will be attending the Girls Prep Middle. I am so happy that I enrolled my daughter at Girls Prep. Since the start, my daughter has been given all the support she has needed to excel in all subject matters. Even when she has fallen behind the teachers at Girls Prep have provided her with the support needed and my daughter was able to get back on track. Overall, the Girls Prep community is one that is both supportive and warm. They care to provide every student with what they need to excel and are always communicating with families to make sure they feel supported. Every morning the principal of the school is at arrival greeting every student that enters the school. She always makes time to hear the concerns shared by families and takes every feedback into account. Overall my experience has been a great one and I am very proud of being a Girls Prep parent.


Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Ms. Munshi-South for all leading the Girls Prep Lower East Side Elementary school and for all of your hard work in making sure that the school is a supportive and safe one. I also want to thank all of the amazing teachers at Girls Prep for their dedication in helping mold our girls into productive members of their community and one day society.

Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
I have found that the teachers at Girls Prep are very reflective and are always looking to improve their teaching craft.

Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
At Girls Prep students are encourage to demonstrate self-respect, respect for their peers and respect towards staff. This is evident in the relationships that the staff build with their students and their families.


Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
Girls Prep believes in organically instilling the core values of Scholarship, Merit, Sisterhood and Responsibility into everything their students do. Students are encourage to lift, cheer, and help one another out as to create a positive, caring and compassionate environment.

Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
This school has developed honesty, integrity, and fairness in it students by creating an environment in which both the student and their families feel supported, heard and respected. They address the concerns families may have and they are quick to fix and address the concerns.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York
442 East Houston Street, New York, NY  10002
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 120 reviews. (212) 388-0241
Last modified Girls Preparatory Charter School of New York is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top