Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
This School can use a makeover! From the Top, the Teachers are Great but, are kept in the Dark about what is expected. The Parents are also kept in the dark. But, my Faith is Strong and I know that I (we) the new parents were put here for a reason! We need this School so, Change is Coming!

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 4

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Small class size. Nice diversity in the lower grades. Some expert teachers. Leadership needs improvement in several areas. The school could use some help with their website and getting information to the parents. They currently do not have open houses for potential parents. Structure for parent involvement is very weak.


47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 4

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
This school has a strong Reggio based pre-k for three and four year olds. The teachers that my kids have had are awesome. I like the small class size. The children seem happy. There is a lack of enrichment courses. The administration could benefit from structure. The way schools care about children is reflected in the way schools care about families and the administration is not reaching out or encouraging parents to be active in the school. I think lack of a plan to build strong parent community is an issue. The low test scores are alarming in the higher grades and are in high need to be addressed with both teacher development and tutoring for students.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 4

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Great Pre-k program. I have a child in the pre-k program currently. The Reggio Emilia Style Pre-k is wonderful. Six years ago, some of the teachers were able to go to Italy to learn first hand the Reggio Style of teaching. The classes are small, capped at 12 for the pre-k. The Pre-k goes on at least 8 field trips a year. The teachers we have had the opportunity of working with are very educated and nurturing. The current administration at the school is not striving for excellence or even working with the teachers for the best interests of the children. It is very unfortunate, that the administration is not striving to make it a place of academic excellence or for strong parent community. If the administration had some professional training, I think the school might go in a better direction and could potentially be one of the most sought after schools in the city.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends pre-k at 47 and we absolutely love being here. Her teachers are amazing, helping her find her way. Her classmates are loving. The library is so full of books I almost cried the first time I saw it - I love to learn. From the guards at the front door to the parent coordinator, everyone has taken an interest in helping my daughter become the best version of herself that she can be. LOVE 47.


47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
Hasta este momento mi hijo me ha comentado que se siente muy bien es el primer a o de el y no he tenido ningun problema. Ademas aprenden otro lenguage.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a teacher
We have a fabulous 21st century library media program! Authors, Working Artists and musicians come to teach. Kids learn American Sign Language, too.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 4

Posted September 01, 2009
- a teacher
As librarian since 2002, I can say that I work in collaboration with all teachers with two student outcomes in mind: (1) they love books and have access to their favorites, and (2) they learn how to conduct inquiry: asking questions, investigating, and using multimedia to create projects. I love working with our bilingual staff and our kids become pretty sophisticated thinkers and fluent in two languages, if not three! I applaud them and our teachers. Visit us at http://www.47lowerschool.org and don't miss the library site!


47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 2

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
My son goes to the school here and sometime they can be a little bit out of control. They need more help.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 0
no rating

Posted July 29, 2008
- a community member
my nephew goes to school here.. from what I've seen-- the school is not organize and poorly managed. classes are small, but the students are not performing well.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School
223 East 23rd Street, New York, NY  10010
(914) 326-6609
Last modified 47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top