Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
This School can use a makeover! From the Top, the Teachers are Great but, are kept in the Dark about what is expected. The Parents are also kept in the dark. But, my Faith is Strong and I know that I (we) the new parents were put here for a reason! We need this School so, Change is Coming!

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 4

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Small class size. Nice diversity in the lower grades. Some expert teachers. Leadership needs improvement in several areas. The school could use some help with their website and getting information to the parents. They currently do not have open houses for potential parents. Structure for parent involvement is very weak.


47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 4

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
This school has a strong Reggio based pre-k for three and four year olds. The teachers that my kids have had are awesome. I like the small class size. The children seem happy. There is a lack of enrichment courses. The administration could benefit from structure. The way schools care about children is reflected in the way schools care about families and the administration is not reaching out or encouraging parents to be active in the school. I think lack of a plan to build strong parent community is an issue. The low test scores are alarming in the higher grades and are in high need to be addressed with both teacher development and tutoring for students.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 4

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Great Pre-k program. I have a child in the pre-k program currently. The Reggio Emilia Style Pre-k is wonderful. Six years ago, some of the teachers were able to go to Italy to learn first hand the Reggio Style of teaching. The classes are small, capped at 12 for the pre-k. The Pre-k goes on at least 8 field trips a year. The teachers we have had the opportunity of working with are very educated and nurturing. The current administration at the school is not striving for excellence or even working with the teachers for the best interests of the children. It is very unfortunate, that the administration is not striving to make it a place of academic excellence or for strong parent community. If the administration had some professional training, I think the school might go in a better direction and could potentially be one of the most sought after schools in the city.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends pre-k at 47 and we absolutely love being here. Her teachers are amazing, helping her find her way. Her classmates are loving. The library is so full of books I almost cried the first time I saw it - I love to learn. From the guards at the front door to the parent coordinator, everyone has taken an interest in helping my daughter become the best version of herself that she can be. LOVE 47.


47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
Hasta este momento mi hijo me ha comentado que se siente muy bien es el primer a o de el y no he tenido ningun problema. Ademas aprenden otro lenguage.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a teacher
We have a fabulous 21st century library media program! Authors, Working Artists and musicians come to teach. Kids learn American Sign Language, too.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 4

Posted September 01, 2009
- a teacher
As librarian since 2002, I can say that I work in collaboration with all teachers with two student outcomes in mind: (1) they love books and have access to their favorites, and (2) they learn how to conduct inquiry: asking questions, investigating, and using multimedia to create projects. I love working with our bilingual staff and our kids become pretty sophisticated thinkers and fluent in two languages, if not three! I applaud them and our teachers. Visit us at http://www.47lowerschool.org and don't miss the library site!


47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School 2

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
My son goes to the school here and sometime they can be a little bit out of control. They need more help.

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School
no rating

Posted July 29, 2008
- a community member
my nephew goes to school here.. from what I've seen-- the school is not organize and poorly managed. classes are small, but the students are not performing well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School
223 East 23rd Street, New York, NY  10010
(914) 326-6609
Last modified 47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8
47 the American Sign Language and English Lower School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top