Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

5 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies 5

Posted October 22, 2010
- a parent
My daughter recently transferred into this school from another high ranking HS, she excels in learning Chinese , so this school is a great fit. I was very impressed with the principal, Li Yan, he spoke to my daughter directly and honestly.This is a small school, with limited funds, the focus is teaching quality and clas development. There are now many AP classes, electives and a good after school. Tutoring is given, one on one and encouraged. Excellent enviroment, very chanllenging and supportive. A strong desire to learn and study Chinese culture and language is a must.

High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies 2

Posted June 30, 2010
- a parent
This school is not as good as people thought it was. Teachers are very knowledgeable and professional, but absolutely not the principal. Course offering in this school is limited and therefore there is an obvious difference between what on website and the reality which is not easy to tell until my child went there and found out later. The worst of all is that there is no formal computer education in this school. This school's computer lab has not been used formally for even one day for students' computer education since its setup in 2003. As a matter of fact, the computer lab is being stored with so much other stuff, like a storage. All computers and laptops are set there idle and I could not foresee any improvement in near future. What a big waste ! I really don't believe the principal is capable of managing this school well.


High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
my son is graduating this year and my daughter also started as a 9th grader. There is no better school in New York city. Principal is amazing. He is always the last one to leave the school. he is aware of everything. Gidance counselor Ms. MAn is the best. All teachersare hand picked and they know kids and their subjects. Very nurturing enviroment. No drugs ever..Very safe and meticiliously clean

High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My son just started his first year there. So far he's been very satisfied with the programs and with the teachers. Now after 2 marking periods and meeting with his teachers, I'm impressed with their dedication to their students. It's a small school and they know all their students very well. The atmosphere is much like an intimate yet disciplined private school. The students are very respectful and take their education very seriously. Additionally, there are also a few extracurricular clubs and sports teams. Being that it is in the city where space is a premium, there are no major field sports available such as football, soccer or baseball. My son is taking part in handball and piano class. There is a large swimming pool in the school so I'm sure there are aquatic activities available.

High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies 5

Posted November 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies 0
no rating

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
My son goes to this high school . It is run by an amazing principal and teachers. Very hands on and diciplined

High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies 5

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school if your child seeks and can handle a rigorous and challenging schoolwork. There are a lot of AP classes offered considering the small size of the school. My daughter has been at this school for 2 years now and the school's a perfect fit for her because she loves to learn Chinese-Mandarin. I recommend this school as a good alternative to the specialized schools.

High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies 5

Posted January 27, 2008
- a student
terrific!!!!! it's really a great school``!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies
350 Grand Street, New York, NY  10002
(212) 475-4097
Last modified High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
High School For Dual Language And Asian Studies Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top