Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tag Young Scholars 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
Great school, wonderful diversity that you don't get anywhere else with equally rigorous academic curriculum. We're truly lucky to have our daughter at TAG. We supplement enrichment with after school art and sports activities.

Tag Young Scholars 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I'm so thrilled that my child is lucky enough to attend this wonderful school (although this wasn't our first choice at the beginning) There is amazing group of parents work hard together to make the school better. The standards are high with teachers expecting students to achieve the standards set for the grade above them. There is a fair bit of homework, but I am sure it will pay off... The teachers are also very experienced and very motivated to improve themselves and the curriculum.


Tag Young Scholars 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
TAG is a great school. The teachers are simply outstanding. They do so many things right- art, music, science, technology! My one concern is that children need to play and exercise, and there is not enough physical activity at TAG. Research shows that physical play and exercise will enhance learning. I am looking forward to seeing more opportunities at TAG. I know this school will only get better and better, and I'm proud that my children attend school here.

Tag Young Scholars 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
TAG has both inspired and challenged my daughter. She is genuinely thrilled to wake up for school every morning.

Tag Young Scholars 4

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Some of the advantages of TAG are its outstanding, energetic teachers, and dedicated, involved parents. One of the disadvantages is that it sometimes sacrifices physical education and play time in order to maintain a high academic standard.


Tag Young Scholars 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Amazing teachers!!! A lot of parents involvement. Singapore math is awesome! A lot of emphasis on reading and writing, which is great!

Tag Young Scholars 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
It's a great big family! There's diversity, exceptional learning going on every minute! I could not ask for more! My daughter is taken care of academically, socially and medically as well! I LOVE TAG!

Tag Young Scholars 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
TAG motivates the child in class and it reinforces learning with field trips. The PTA does an amazing job by adding enrichment classes to the curriculum. I just wish the city would fund the school more.


Tag Young Scholars 4

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
This is a great gifted and talented school in so many ways. Is not only academics but structure, discipline and good bases for the kids My only concern is the lack of sports and the very low support from the city with money for school, they are in need with a lot of things and PTA has to do magic and fundraising all the time Since this students are from all the backgrounds, struggling with money for school is an issue

Tag Young Scholars 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
T.A.G which is one of the 3 Manhattan citywide schools for intellectually gifted children is a wonderful school. Although the location leaves much to be desired, the peer group (all of whom scored a 99 on the gifted testing just like the other city wide schools) and the teachers provide an intellectually stimulating, academically advance (one year accelerated in addition to enrichment), engaging and rigorous experience. For a truly gifted child, this is the perfect school, but for those who cannot compete, it is a struggle. For my daughter, the experience and education here is unparalleled. When deciding between Anderson and T.A.G., I'm happy I chose T.A.G., not because I believe one is superior to the other, but because of diversity in addition to the advance curriculum that is not present at Anderson nor NEST. This experience gives my child cultural understanding that she could not get elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tag Young Scholars
240 East 109th Street, New York, NY  10029
(212) 860-6003
Last modified Tag Young Scholars is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tag Young Scholars Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. Top