Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 1

Posted November 27, 2014
- a parent
This school is the type of school that should be shut down. My daughter goes to this school and she hates it and so do I. Many of her friends have transferred out and have said that the new school is 10x better. The teachers have no control over students and their disciplinary system is laughable. Many children have done very disrespectful things at the school and nothing has been done. These students prevent my daughter from learning and it is extremely frustrating. The school review has said that students get opportunities that other students do not get but that is not true. It's acually the opposite. Other schools are already teaching our eight graders high school work but this school is way behind. This school barely goes on trips due to student behavioral issues. There are teachers that lose work and hold it against the students. I have first handedly seen teachers use profanities against the students in a very demeaning way. Many teachers have even been known to pick up chairs and threaten to throw at students. This school is the kind of school you wouldn't want your child in.

Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 4

Posted November 13, 2014
- a community member
As current 8th graders we disagree with the previous comment. Although, some children are disrespectful their actions are quickly brought to the teacher s attention and stopped in time. Here at Isaac Newton, teachers encourage everyone to learn and do their best. The school has amazing partnerships called Citizen Schools and Bridges. During these programs students are able to excel in their basic subjects such as math, ELA, and science. They also get help in the subjects they struggle with. There is also a program called CFES, which stands for College for Every Student. As eighth grade students we are role models for the sixth and seventh graders and set examples for them. Also, we visit different colleges to get a sense of the college life. We also do a science program at Mount Sinai Hospital Center. This school gives us many opportunities that other schools couldn t. The principals at this school work hard and do their best to make this school great. - From 8th grade peer leaders
1 person found this helpful


Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 4

Posted April 09, 2013
- a teacher
Overall, the atmosphere of the school is welcoming. Students are manageable when addressed apart from the group in a one-on-one setting (only a few students are deeply disrespectful to adults within the building- most of the behaviors exhibited by students are characteristic of their developmental age- a result of developmental, social, emotional, and environmental issues and stress). Most teachers in the school challenge the thinking of students and push them to strive to excel beyond their own expectations, and teachers tend to be highly qualified, hard-working, and passionate. While there are a few teachers who could use more structure in terms of expectations and practice, most teachers want their students to be successful in their subject area and later on in life.Teachers who use differentiation and work with students in small groups are able to reach the higher level students. A dean or point person to quell behavioral issues would be beneficial to ensure the positive environment and culture of the school, but with budgetary constraints it is difficult. Consistency, structure, and useful Professional Training would help staff and students feel more sure of themselves.
1 person found this helpful

Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 4

Posted April 08, 2013
- a teacher
Isaac Newton MIddle School is a wonderful school where most teachers work very hard and dedicate themselves to educating students. The administration works to overcome the lack of funding and onerous demands of the DOE, as much as possible. We have mostly terrific students. Of course, there are always a few unhappy teachers and students....no place is perfect. However, most of us are very committed to having an excellent school, and students are prepared for high school and beyond.
1 person found this helpful

Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 4

Posted April 08, 2013
- a teacher
Anonymous reviews...really? I believe that if you have something to say it would be advisable to discuss these matters with administration and colleagues.
1 person found this helpful


Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 2

Posted March 19, 2013
- a teacher
These reviews are laughable, particularly since they were all submitted around the same time. It looks like a campaign to build up an inflated good reputation. Behavior problems are rampant, administration is weak when it comes to solving major behavioral issues. Teachers are generally good, with a few that are excellent and more than a few that are terrible. It's not one of the worst schools in the city, but it certainly isn't great. I would never send my own child here, the environment simply isn't challenging enough for motivated students since the teachers have to spend most of their time on classroom management.

Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 4

Posted November 10, 2010
- a teacher
Students work hard; Leadership is strong; Teaching staff is of high quality

Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 0
no rating

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
Excellent and dedicated school leaders and staff!


Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 0
no rating

Posted November 09, 2010
- a community member
this school has the most dedicated teachers I've ever seen--the school spirit is fantastic!

Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a teacher
Isaace Newton MS is a safe environment for learning. The students are safe, kind and productive. There are many connections that get students the readiness they need for high school and college. The Citizen Schools Program at Isaac Newton is great! I would definately send my child here.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science
260 Pleasant Avenue, New York, NY  10029
(212) 860-6006
Last modified Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Isaac Newton Ms For Math And Science Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top