Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mott Hall High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a student
Most students are disrespectful and very rude to many teachers and other students and themself

Mott Hall High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 21, 2015
- a student
Most teachers don't care and are there to get a check the only thing they worry is about uniform when is not obligated to wear by department of education


Mott Hall High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 17, 2015
- a student
the good teachers and the counselors that care and want to help us do good and graduate

Mott Hall High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a student
they care only of uniform and getting bad teachers to teach us so we don't learn

Mott Hall High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
we barely get homework and when we do , nobody does it cause we don't learn the material it's just given to us.


Mott Hall High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
it's a school to basically just to see fights , honestly basically the only thing this school is determined to do is create drama.

Mott Hall High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
the students and teachers are disrespectful , they don't care about us unless the school has visitors .

Mott Hall High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
we don't learn anything , we literally go to school to see fights , and sit in class using our phones.


Mott Hall High School 1

Posted October 27, 2014
- a community member
I dont hate this school but the fact that this school thinks they compare themselves to Stuyvesant. They let students graduate every last day of January every year. Stuyvesant doesnt do that even though its one of the best schools in New York and its much more responsible and with a higher academic performance! Unlike Mott hall high school, theyre too irresponsible and have a lack of academic performance. till this day, I regret going here and graduating from there!! I will never recommend my future colleague's kids to apply there. They will regret!

Mott Hall High School 1

Posted December 18, 2013
- a student
This school is unorganized, unappealing, and definitely does not offer a "Warm welcome" for new students, or even staff members. I have attended this school for 4 years and all I can say is these have probably been the worst 4 years of my life. The students are extremely disrespectful and obviously not motivated to learn, some staff can also be very rude and uncaring. This school has very few things to offer in terms of extra curricular activities, so if you're into various sports and clubs, then you should look elsewhere. There are very little AP classes offered and they are all offered to minor subjects such as foreign language. The most advanced mathematics offered is Algebra 2 /Trig and the most advanced science offered is chemistry. Now let's go onto the principle... Instead of using the school's budget on development or support of new clubs, extra curricular activities, or even text books, it's being used on flashy signs and TV's we don't even use. I can't blame her though, even if she did any of the things that I have mentioned above, most students would be ungrateful. All in all, if you didn't catch it off the low rating and high criticism, this school is pretty bad.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mott Hall High School
6 Edgecombe Avenue, New York, NY  10030
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (212) 694-6020
Last modified Mott Hall High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top