Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 2

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended Promise Academy since it opened in 2004. I believe the concept of the school is a great idea on paper, however the staff has not been able to implement this concept. The teachers are very ghetto and unprofessional. They argue with the students and have no control over the class. Students will be unruly at times but the teacher should always maintain a level of respect. There, teachers lower themselves to the child's level. There are a few really good teachers and the principles of the Jr High and High Schools are excellent. Yet, their efforts are overshadowed by actions of the rest of their staff. They built a new school right in the middle of a NYC housing project and the HS kids are at risk of being robbed on a daily basis. There are a bunch of new staff that do not know the parents and are often very rude. There has also been a host of new rules that are insane and only create a hostile environment for both parents and staff. I really want to stick this out and have faith that at the end this promise will be fulfilled. But unless there are some really qualified educators hired, I do not see a bright future for HCZ.
1 person found this helpful

Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 4

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
HCZ Promise Academy is an excellent school! Yes, it's had ups and downs, what new school hasn't? The school is stronger than ever with great Principals, teachers and student advocates too. The school is exceptionally safe, they provide their own school safety staff, which escorts students to the public transportation and patrols the neighborhood during "safety nights." The teachers are caring, smart and really work with each and every student. They have a chef who prepares fresh food for the students every day. The children are encouraged to eat healthier, with a new program launched this year, "Healthy Harlem" The school has several sites and recently built a new school, located in the public housing that is so beautiful! The new school has WIFI and the state of the art classrooms, science labs, lockers, physical, occupational therapy rooms, music and art classrooms. There is FREE after-school for every student until 6-7pm and they provide nutritious snacks for the students as well.


Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 1

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
This school has amazing teachers but major behavioral issues.Children are very disrespectful to adults and are very disruptive in class.I sat in on one class in my student's class and there is little learning happening and more disciplining taking place.I reward the work of the teachers but I am not sure how much learning is actually taking place.Teachers walk around look very annoyed due to the fact that they cannot teach the material to disruptive children.

Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a teacher
Jeffrey CAnada has made this program effective and a national model.

Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 5

Posted June 26, 2010
- a parent
I have a 6 year old in kindergarten. She began in Uptown Harlem Gems, based for pre-k. She learned some French and Spanish along with a day full with interesting activities. When she went to K, the only issue I had was the slow teaching pace. She was doing thing she did while in pre-k and because of this her teacher and I couldn t see eye to eye but since the 2nd parent/teacher meeting things have gotten better and she has adjusted to my child s advanced learning. She is reading on 2nd level, + and - large numbers, spelling large words. I am happy she is in a school that will stay with her through college. She loves school, even after-school, and doesn t want to go because of it. She adores her teachers and is having fun while learning what more can I ask for.


Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 3

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 1

Posted July 16, 2007
- a parent
This school only holds the kindergarten to 2nd grades. It's awful. Dirty. The first year, when my son was in kindergarten, was great, and his teacher was an amazing man. All the teachers were great that year and so was the first principal. Every one of them is gone. I've transferred my son to a public school, which is sad. They didn't live up to their promise at this school.

Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 1

Posted August 28, 2006
- a parent
First of all let it be known that the school on 125th street only houses the JHS students. The k-1st grade students are held in two different city school that have a mice infestation. There is also no library, gym or computer lab in the school building. There are 2 to 3 computers in each class with 18 to 20 students sharing them. The teachers and the principal at the 134th street school are fantastic but are forced to work under these hazardous conditions. Many parents are transferring their children to different schools.


Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School 2

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
Promise Academy would be a great school if they had a strict code of conduct for all the students. This school is not safe or an enjoyable place for kids who don't like a lot of fighting, other children picking on you or disrepecting teachers and cursing. This shchool has lost a lot teachers because of the children's behavior. When parents sign up for this school they are not going to tell you all the behavior problems this is school is having, so before you put your child in this school think twice, it's not one of the best charter schools. My child told me it's hard to concentrate in her class because it's so much disruption when the lesson is being taught. I feel the 'new principal' should step in and enforce a 'STRICT CODE OF CONDUCT'. Also, this school needs to stop giving these kids money!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School
35 E 125th St, New York, NY  10035
(646) 556-6275
Last modified Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8, 11-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harlem Children's Zone Promise Academy Charter School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top