Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Heights Academy Charter School
Grateful to: Student

Posted May 06, 2016
- a teacher
I was walking down the hall on two occasions searching for two different classrooms, and the students were very helpful in directing me. Very nice kids.

New Heights Academy Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 06, 2016
- a teacher
The teachers came about the students and challenge them to go above and beyond. It reminds me of the school that I attended many years ago.


New Heights Academy Charter School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 06, 2016
- a teacher
I am only a substitute, so I don't see the amount of daily work given.

New Heights Academy Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a teacher
Yes, they are motivating students to think beyond the box when it comes to the workforce.

New Heights Academy Charter School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a teacher
Of course kids will be kids, so there are times of excessive talking. Overall, respect in shown to both teachers and students.


New Heights Academy Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a teacher
Teachers reward schools and push those students who are lacking. Great sense of community among the kids.

New Heights Academy Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a teacher
All students are given the same opportunity. They even have an intervention class that helps students whose schools are lower in a specific subject.

New Heights Academy Charter School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a teacher
I am a substitute teacher for eighth grade math and today the students were rewarded for being on the A/B honor roll. The entire class, with the exception of 4 students, went to the celebration. These students are academically motivated and the teachers push the students. Great school!!


New Heights Academy Charter School 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a student
It's a great school the lunch needs a little improvement but it's still great and the teachers are awesome they teach well and also they are very very helpful to students it's amazing the location is amazing is next to restarants so the kids can eat after school or before school and there's a park in front of the school so the kids can play after school when there parents pick them up the day there was great the rooms are amazing with three floors is so great for the students to have space and not be crapeds I love the desk and the chairs they are very comfortable and I love how they have dean's and a social worker because when the kids need a time out or need to talk to someone that is jot one of their friends they go to the dean or the social worker and talk to the it's a 5 Star School love love it Amazing it gets an A+++

New Heights Academy Charter School 3

Posted November 24, 2013
- a community member
I am a senior at this school there has been many changes . I am actually enjoying school now.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Heights Academy Charter School
1818 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY  10031
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (212) 283-5400
Last modified New Heights Academy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top