Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Heights Academy Charter School 2

Posted May 24, 2013
- a community member
This School isn't a horrible school, however it needs a lot of work! The school is trying its best to control and teach students manner and respect however the students are uncontrollable. This happens because the school doesn't enforce their policy equally. The school is attacking the teachers when truly it should be attacking the parents to teach their son and daughter how to behave in class. THE TEACHERS ARE AWSOME! They really want to help the students and the school really only hires the best teachers. I would give this school 4 stars if they learn to discipline their students. Also the food sucks, and i was bullyed in this school and the teachers knew and acted like nothing happend.

New Heights Academy Charter School 2

Posted April 30, 2013
- a teacher
The kids in these school are very DISRESPECTFUL and have no manners which make it difficult to teach. The discipline officers are also inconsistent with their policies in regards to consequences and are not FIRM & TOUGH enough to handle students that always exhibit inappropriate behavior and always cause disruption in the classroom. I also did not receive the much needed support and the instructional leaders are just good at criticizing at where teachers go wrong in their instructions, only look at the negatives but do not push and encourage teachers by at least highlighting positives to keep them going. Worst part is they do not demonstrate by example. The teachers at New Heights are talented, intelligent and very competent. I just think the students should feel lucky to have them as their teachers and pay them RESPECT that they deserve.


New Heights Academy Charter School 2

Posted September 08, 2011
- a teacher
Although this school has an extended day and claims to have all the resources and materials to help students learn that is unfortunately not the case. I urge parents to steer clear of this school.

New Heights Academy Charter School 1

Posted August 29, 2011
- a teacher
This school needs to improve, especially in the area of staff development and training. It is very clear that the teachers are very weak and this has a significant effect on instruction for all students. The disciplinary procedures need to be investigated in order to help the students manage their behaviors and develop some self control. I have found that many students who are accepted here have no social skills and this also makes it a difficult place to work and teach. Parent training is also needed!

New Heights Academy Charter School 1

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent of 2 in this school these teachers have there favorites & its sad because everyone is there to get taught. My middle schooler has an IEP in which the teachers are getting paid to help her with her disability and I havent seen no improvement. They want the kids to climb the ladder but the kids arent getting all the help they need. Im personally goin thru it because my daughter wonders why do her teacher hate her so bad, so on a daily basis im pushing her to go to school. I am looking into taking her out of this school.


New Heights Academy Charter School 2

Posted June 11, 2011
- a teacher
This school needs improvement, especially in the area of disciplinary procedures. The students are permitted to do whatever they want and there are no consequences for their negative behaviors. It is very clear that there is a complete breakdown in communication between teachers and administrators which does not help the school culture or climate. Since this school accepts many students from culturally diverse backgrounds, they are weak in basic skills and have a difficult time with content-area subjects. The students have no manners and do not respect authority.

New Heights Academy Charter School 5

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
I am a mother of a student attending NHACS, he is in 11th grade. When he entered the school he was below average and his grades were not as good,but with the help of the all his teachers he has progressed a lot. The teachers are really helpful and they encourage the kids to reach their potential. I am really satisfied with the quality of the school and that's why I've decided to transfer my 10 year old son. I would really like to thank the teachers and faculty for doing such a good job.

New Heights Academy Charter School 5

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


New Heights Academy Charter School 5

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

New Heights Academy Charter School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Heights Academy Charter School
1818 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY  10031
(212) 283-5400
Last modified New Heights Academy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Heights Academy Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top