Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-12
Private
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 500
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 1

Posted November 17, 2014
- a student
I can honestly say as a student that the experience here is lacking. There is absolutely no support, and is all about appearance as they leech every last penny out of your wallet. Teachers give no help for their students. I thought that the small class size would help me excel, however it did the opposite. The teachers have been abusive to their students, and lose their tempers at students. I am constantly stressed out because the teachers they will not allow you to voice your concerns. The assistant head is very harrasive, and does not support you whatsoever. This school should not be in the top 500 private schools, and deserves to be investigated by the DOE

Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
As a parent for the last 5 years, I have seen much change at Leman, some good and some bad. The Head of Lower School and Assistant Head of Lower School are great. The US head is unproven after replacing a disastrous US head last year. The change at Leman continues to occur at a rapid pace and not necessarily for the better. The change and there is a lot of it, seems to be for the short term rather than the long term viability and success of the school and its students. I assume this is because the owners of this For-Profit school want to see a return on investment. As a for-profit school with headquarters and managers in the mid-west, it is managed from afar more like a business than a place of learning.
2 people found this helpful


Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 5

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
Leman Manhattan is a wonderful school. From the time you enter the building, the head of the school, administration, teachers and even the security guards are all welcoming. It is a very rigorous school, and keeps the students engaged and challenged at all times. Moreover, if you miss a few days of school, all the lessons and homework is on Skyward. Teachers are always willing to help you after school, if you need any extra help. Also, if you ever have any questions and concerns, the teachers respond very promptly. I highly recommend this school.

Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 5

Posted October 05, 2014
- a community member
This is a good school that gets stronger with each passing year. Yes, the school is young and because of this new structures continue to be put in place. However, these are solid structures that are elevating the quality of the school at a rapid pace. The curricular and extra-curricular programs are outstanding, as is the faculty & staff. This school is far superior than it was years ago. The positive change in the Upper School is particularly impressive.

Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
Leman Manhattan fosters an excellent learning environment for students in the lower school. The teachers instill confidence and a love of learning that you do not see much in schools today with the intense focus on test scores. Students are introduced to music theory, a musical instrument (the violin) and a foreign language at a young age. They have swim lessons as part of PE. All the while maintaining a focus on academics. The lower school is excellent and the students are happy.


Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 1

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Not sure what to think about the retention of administrators and faculty. I have heard there were 29 of 103 staff leaving over the summer. Either they are hiring the wrong people or educators don't like the way the school is being operated. Scary for our kids.
2 people found this helpful

Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a teacher
A school for the one percent with a few student from other backgrounds thrown in for good measure. The school head is wildly incompetent.
3 people found this helpful

Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a community member
As far as I'm concerned this whole place is a sham. The school is more focused on creating "Traditions" after less than three years of operation and appearing to be a wonderful learning institution than actually making sure the students are learning. Core curriculum is severely lacking. The school charges absolutely outrageous amounts for some of the worst services I've ever seen. Parents' concerns are almost never addressed and I've seen several kids flunk out or otherwise fail because of lack of support and zero accountability. I cannot wait until this year ends.
3 people found this helpful


Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
I have two children enrolled at Leman Manhattan and I couldn't be happier with their progress as students and young people. The school fosters individualized learning and promotes a sense of community among the student body and their families. Small class sizes and phenomenal, attentive teachers ensure that each student is getting the attention they need. The faculty is highly approachable and is ready and willing to respond positively and swiftly to any important matters that arise. The language (Mandarin, French, Spanish) and Arts program is stellar. Our children are able to participate in band as early as 4th grade and we have violin being offered in the third grade. This school has undergone many changes since inception but all of which have been positive and progressive and we are left with families who care and contribute to the welfare of the school.

Leman Manhattan Preparatory School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic school based in lower Manhattan with a truly internationally focused curriculum. Sister school to world famous Leman in Geneva, Switzerland. Big focus on academic success, athletics and social issues. One of the only Manhattan private schools that integrates teaching "humility" in all facets of its school. Very down to earth parent body. Highly approachable teaching staff that give students very individual attention.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leman Manhattan Preparatory School
41 Broad St, New York, NY  10004
(212) 232-0266
Last modified Leman Manhattan Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Leman Manhattan Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top