Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cristo Rey New York High School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a parent
This cares about their children. The school is the lowest priced private school. Therefore showing parents that they also care about the parents while still giving the children a quality learning experience. I hope my child gets picked for this school. It is highly spoken about in the community. Word to mouth this school is great.
1 person found this helpful

Cristo Rey New York High School 2

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Nice kids but totally unprepared for academically challenging college life outside community college level. Not that there is anything wrong with attending community college. It is that they sell you on so much more only to have your child apply to schools that they would have qualified for with out Cristo Rey. It is also true that no more than half of all registered freshmen ever graduate from this school and have to catch up on the basic math and science courses which they choose not to provide at Cristo Rey. Thereby adding up to two more years in school. The head of the school seems to be ok with that as long as funding keeps coming in.


Cristo Rey New York High School 1

Posted September 25, 2013
- a community member
There needs to be a much better system. Not organized and very displeased with the way the school is going.

Cristo Rey New York High School 1

Posted September 25, 2013
- a teacher
It's a cheap school but for a reason. They just don't have the tools needed to send the student to top colleges. If you want the students to go to community colleges than this school is for you...

Cristo Rey New York High School 1

Posted September 25, 2013
- a student
The school is to far. It moved and has made it harder to get there on time.
1 person found this helpful


Cristo Rey New York High School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a student
My school is amazing not only because of the support I get from my teachers but from my classmates as well. My teachers prepare me for college and the overall experience since being in Cristo Rey is amazing especiallybeing a transfer student all the sudents were very welcoming and added me to thier Cristo Rey Lion. I wish I knew more middle schoolers so I can tell them to come here!

Cristo Rey New York High School 5

Posted June 28, 2012
- a teacher
Former teacher/staff member. Great staff leadership allows for lucid, organized teaching. The incorporation of this rigorous college prep education and work study program facilitates the characteristics for success in college and life. The progress of the sports, music, drama and technology department have deepened the studen'ts participation in positive activities.

Cristo Rey New York High School 4

Posted May 20, 2012
- a student
CRNYS is a college preparatory school that provides the requisite tools needed for thriving in college. The teachers are marvelous and approachable men and women who are capable in explicating their subjects clearly. Not only do they teach the class, but they also give students insight on how to proceed in life using the tools provided in class. They open their eyes to the world around them and inform them of certain issues circulating the web and ultimately connecting it to their studies. They are truly dedicated in serving the community and demand that each and every student take the initiative in doing their work and striving to learn more. Getting accustom to CRNYHS takes time, especially when it comes to work. Although working may be boring, it ultimately separates you from the norm by adding something new to your college resume. Depending on where a student works, the job site may offer that student a summer job where he or she works from 9 P.M -5 A.M ( Depends on over all performance throughout the year). Certain students do receive the opportunity in going to NY Yankee games or to basketball games in Madison Square Garden. It is up to the student to make the most of CRNYHS.


Cristo Rey New York High School 5

Posted June 17, 2011
- a student
This school is a wonderful school. I have learned a lot from the four years I have attended. I would strongly recommend this school to any student entering high school. The corporate work aspect, atmosphere, and family-feel are some of the various factors that allow for Cristo Rey New York High School to come up on top. The faculty make sure that their children understand before moving on. They care about each and every student attending. I had an amazing time at this school and I am sure you (as a student) or your child (as a parent) will as well.

Cristo Rey New York High School 2

Posted November 19, 2010
- a student
i already attend this schhool and i dont like it. its ridiculous and thats y im transferring for or b4 tenth grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cristo Rey New York High School
112 East 106th Street, New York, NY  10029
(212) 996-7000
Last modified Cristo Rey New York High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Cristo Rey New York High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top