Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 1

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
This is a small school yet the staff seems to choose a only handful to guide. As a parent you are shut out, yet held accountable for the unorganized, irresponsible staff. It took 6 copies and 11 months for my child to receive credit for his 200+ community service hours. The uneducated staff could not even do simple math to total the number of hours. Insisting the total was incorrect. For four years we were received bills for books that were either never distributed or returned the prior year to the distribution date on the bill. The guidance counselor has a private college consulting firm that takes priority over the juniors and seniors at The school that gives him a steady paycheck and benefits. I know this because although I left countless unanswered messages I had friend call the consulting company and they received immediate responses. Students are promised college credits, however, due to the incompetence of the staff those credits are never received. Students accepted to this specialized high school are very intelligent yet they are knocked down and left with little self confidence if any. If my child had to choose a high school again HSMSE would NEVER be considered.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 3

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
High School for Math, Science and Engineering is not as good as I had hoped. The teachers, with the exception of a few good ones, lack compassion. Some act as if it is a bother to actually teach and would rather have the kids learn on their own. The principal doesn't appear to have much control over the teachers' behavior.


High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of a freshman student. The teachers are all so dedicated and the students are the best. The principal, Crystal Bonds, is one of the most dedicated principals I have ever scene. She makes students her number one priority, and makes the atmosphere and environment a wonderful learning experience.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
If you can't afford Dalton or Collegiate but you want to go to one of the best high schools in New York City, this is your chance. HSMSE is indeed the jewel in the crown of NYC's specialized high schools.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a student
HSMSE is wonderfully diverse, and not just ethnically. No matter the student's interests or hobbies, they are able to be themselves without the pressure of conforming or the threat of being bullied. The curriculum is difficult at times, but the school offers an introductory freshman academy class to all freshman in order to prepare them with time management skills and study habbits. I LOVE the fact that students get to choose a major for their Junior-Senior years. It gives us the freedom to choose what we are interested in, and then learn about it in much depth. Almost like a gateway to the college experience. The principal calls HSMSE a hidden treasure.


High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 4

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
Don't believe the hype. It's a good school and will relly look good on your college aps and I really am overall satisifed that I sent my child there. Only problem is that not all the teachers are as helpful and engaged as some would have you believe. I would say about 10 - 15% of the teachers fall into this category. When viewing this school we were told about how there was tons of communication and that teachers would update the engrade grade reporting system on a daily basis. My experience has been that most emails to teachers go unanswered for days if not weeks (emails to administrative staff is often answered asap so there is that) and I've had some of my child's class grade go un-updated for weeks. It's incredibly frustrating some times. That said the majority fo the teachers do make themselves avialable but be forewarned that you and your child will have to do the majority of the heavy lifting. If you are not prepared to be a highly involved parent or have a child who is not driven to excel in school then I would recommend you look elsewhere. I will say that the most important thing to do as a parent is network with other parents so you can sidestep unresponsive teachers.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
HSMSE is a great small school. It's focus is (surprise) math, science and engineering - so, don't go here if you don't enjoy those topics. History is pretty good for a science school; the quality of the English courses is good not great. The kids are smart, friendly and nice. Unlike other specialized HS, there is not a drug or a cheating culture. It's not very cliquish either. The teachers really know my child and are available for extra help when needed. There is great communication with the administration - the door is always open if a parent or student have an issue. I highly recommend this school.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
Tough curriculum, fine teachers who will get to know your kid. I am proud of our son and his development as a student at HSMSE. He and the kids there work very hard and give much in return. Win-win.


High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
Academically superior to any other high school including the top schools here in NY. Small and friendly but still very challenging.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a student
Great small school.. Everyone knows your name and you have plenty of friends to spare.. Great curriculum and great faculty who really really care

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny
240 Convent Avenue, New York, NY  10031
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (212) 281-6490
Last modified High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top