Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 3

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
High School for Math, Science and Engineering is not as good as I had hoped. The teachers, with the exception of a few good ones, lack compassion. Some act as if it is a bother to actually teach and would rather have the kids learn on their own. The principal doesn't appear to have much control over the teachers' behavior.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of a freshman student. The teachers are all so dedicated and the students are the best. The principal, Crystal Bonds, is one of the most dedicated principals I have ever scene. She makes students her number one priority, and makes the atmosphere and environment a wonderful learning experience.


High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
If you can't afford Dalton or Collegiate but you want to go to one of the best high schools in New York City, this is your chance. HSMSE is indeed the jewel in the crown of NYC's specialized high schools.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a student
HSMSE is wonderfully diverse, and not just ethnically. No matter the student's interests or hobbies, they are able to be themselves without the pressure of conforming or the threat of being bullied. The curriculum is difficult at times, but the school offers an introductory freshman academy class to all freshman in order to prepare them with time management skills and study habbits. I LOVE the fact that students get to choose a major for their Junior-Senior years. It gives us the freedom to choose what we are interested in, and then learn about it in much depth. Almost like a gateway to the college experience. The principal calls HSMSE a hidden treasure.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 4

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
Don't believe the hype. It's a good school and will relly look good on your college aps and I really am overall satisifed that I sent my child there. Only problem is that not all the teachers are as helpful and engaged as some would have you believe. I would say about 10 - 15% of the teachers fall into this category. When viewing this school we were told about how there was tons of communication and that teachers would update the engrade grade reporting system on a daily basis. My experience has been that most emails to teachers go unanswered for days if not weeks (emails to administrative staff is often answered asap so there is that) and I've had some of my child's class grade go un-updated for weeks. It's incredibly frustrating some times. That said the majority fo the teachers do make themselves avialable but be forewarned that you and your child will have to do the majority of the heavy lifting. If you are not prepared to be a highly involved parent or have a child who is not driven to excel in school then I would recommend you look elsewhere. I will say that the most important thing to do as a parent is network with other parents so you can sidestep unresponsive teachers.


High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
HSMSE is a great small school. It's focus is (surprise) math, science and engineering - so, don't go here if you don't enjoy those topics. History is pretty good for a science school; the quality of the English courses is good not great. The kids are smart, friendly and nice. Unlike other specialized HS, there is not a drug or a cheating culture. It's not very cliquish either. The teachers really know my child and are available for extra help when needed. There is great communication with the administration - the door is always open if a parent or student have an issue. I highly recommend this school.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 5

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
Tough curriculum, fine teachers who will get to know your kid. I am proud of our son and his development as a student at HSMSE. He and the kids there work very hard and give much in return. Win-win.

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
Academically superior to any other high school including the top schools here in NY. Small and friendly but still very challenging.


High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 0
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a student
Great small school.. Everyone knows your name and you have plenty of friends to spare.. Great curriculum and great faculty who really really care

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a teacher
My school has small class sizes, dedicated teachers, and a real mix of students from all races and beliefs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny
240 Convent Ave, New York, NY  10031
(212) 281-6490
Last modified High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
High School Math Science And Engineering At Ccny Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 45 reviews.