Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newburgh Free Academy-Main Campus

Public | 9-12 | 3379 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2012

I think the Newburgh School District is getting the dirty end of a long stick. The schools have lots of programs (sport, art and more) to offer. All of my children went to Newburgh Schools and they've never encountered a problem. I think more parents should be involved in what their kids are doing and their education. I love Newburgh schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2012

This school is horrible ,I go there now graduating next year and all there is bullying, and gang fights everyday . The other students there are very rude and unfriendly. The teachers are okay some just don't care. Don't go here !
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2010

Overcrowded, a lot of drama, always someone fighting, too much tension, some teachers don't know how to teach. Worst school I ever went to and every student thinks the same as well. Oh, and it's strict and you can't do ANYTHING anymore, there's no fun going there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

I am a new parent to the Newburgh School District, however i graduated from it in 1994. It was a great school then and by the way my son raves about it now, i still believe it. He said the people (teachers, guidance counselors, and administrators)are very accomidating and coming from my little critic thats saying alot. Keep up the good work NFA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

This school is overcrowded, unsanitary, and hard to get around. The room number system is completely unorganized. The teachers here are okay, with some being very unprosfessional.


Posted October 28, 2008

NFA a great school for any student as long as they do they work .NFA offers alot of extracurricular activities n programs to be anything you want to be from drama plays to a certified nurse. great school great teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

Diversity and opportunity abound. Programs to combat dropping out operate next to an in house Theater Academy, Solar Car Garage, Web Design and Fashion Design Centers and the Crew Teams have a boathouse on the Hudson. Do not judge this book by its cover. It's a unique place with an amazing core faculty. Solar Car, Track and Debate travel the East Coast. Ssports include Golf, Crew, Ski, Tennis and traditional team sports. Drama and video production are in NYC routinely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

I was a student at NFA, until I moved to Dallas, TX. I wish I can turn back time and stayed at this school. NFA is the best. The teachers there are great. I wish I could of stayed to graduate with my class.(2008) The new I went to has nothing on NFA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

NFA is what you make it. Yes, it is a city school and with that fact comes problems. That being what it is, students at NFA have such a numerous amount of interests and classes to choose from. The Arts program at NFA really supports those students who want to do well and the teachers are, for the most part, wonderful examples of what teachers can and should be. There are just so many opportunities for every student at that school and I feel privileged to say that my children are a part of this district. I am a parent of 3--one of whom graduated last yr.in the top of his class and parent of one child who will graduate this year, also at the top. My children have a well-rounded view of the world and we chose to have them in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

The administration is just happy if the student passes. Let them cut, be absent, not do work, all acceptable with no consequences what-so-ever. There are so many problems that if the child is passing, they turn the other way. Even when the parent confronts them, it does no good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

I gaduated from NFA in 1983 and I had achild that graduated in 2003, now I have another child entering in and I was surprised to see all of the things NFA had to offer. No student should leave there undecided about their life after NFA and if they did then they wasted 3 years. If your willing to learn then the teachers are their to teach you and there should be zero tolerance for students that come there their parents expect for them to be there but they spend the day giving the teachers, security guards and other students a hard way to go.' A graduate of the class of 1983.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

To start with this school doesn't even have enough desks and chairs for the number of kids in a class, this is outrageous. As far as teachers go I had to request 4 times to get calls from my childrens teachers and even at that only a few of them called. To say I am disappointed in this district is an understatement. This is our second year in this district and it will also be our last.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

I have just graduated from NFA this past June (06). I have to say that the school is academically a great school however, the students and the environment in which the school is gives NFA a negative impression. We really didn't need security cameras or medal detectors in the entrances. The security guards are racist and prejudice against almost everyone who isn't an African American or Hispanic. The teachers and guidance counselors are great. I am good friends with the principle and the asst.s, they were great. The school has a lot to offer with athletics, clubs, and other organizations. I came out of NFA with a great education and idea of what to expect in the world. It's just that the good students were the ones that did not receive any credit for their work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 16, 2006

The quality of academics is very high. Great teachers,that care about the kids. Offers all the courses that Boces offers,because not affiliated with boces. Ex.,Auto body,Chef Prep,Cosmotology,etc...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 9, 2006

NFA is a good school academically and offers a wide array of class options. However, the school has many problems to work on in terms of many problems occurring at the school (drugs, vandalism, fights, etc). I think it is very difficult for children to learn in such a hard environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

This school suffers from a bad reputation due to past events. Although there are many positive things to be said about nfa, many tend to stress only negative aspects. This school has definetly struggled through a difficult past but the future is very bright.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

What you see on this web page certainly does not reflect the Newburgh Free Academy. It is a shining star in a city with many difficulties. Any student who wants to has the opportunity to succeed, and is encouraged to take advantage of what is offered. Few schools out side of the city of New York offer the subjects, and opportunities in the areas of academic or career education that this high school does to as diverse a population, and non english speaking population that this high school has. When people are considering places to live, and schools in an area, it is worth a look - see. Don't be fooled by the scores. The education is there for the taking. The teachers do care, and need only be asked for help. Sincerely; the parent of graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

I was a student at NFA, and I have to say that NFA is the greatest school compared to the one I attend now. I graduate in 2005, I wish I could be there to graduate with my friends, and the school is very alive in spirit and full of life, teachers really care about there students and they put attention to them. But what I have to say is that nothing compares to NFA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

Great school, very diversified, offers all kinds of programs- has Inner city mixed in with Town - Real Life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I was a studemt at NFA, until I moved to Albuquerque, NM. I missed NFA. The school I came to wasn't as good as NFA. The teachers teach you at NFA! I did graduate,2000. I wish I would have stayed to garduate at Newburgh Free Academy. It's a good school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

343 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
40%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

259 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

554 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

797 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

41 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

554 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

1165 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

1041 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
58%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

129 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

996 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

434 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

897 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Students53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Earth Science

All Students55%
Students with disabilities9%
General population57%

English

All Students88%
Students with disabilities55%
General population92%

Geometry

All Students63%
Students with disabilities33%
General population63%

Global History and Geography

All Students55%
Students with disabilities14%
General population59%

Integrated Algebra

All Students45%
Students with disabilities14%
General population51%

Living Environment

All Students55%
Students with disabilities17%
General population61%

Physics

All Students51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population51%

U.S. History and Government

All Students71%
Students with disabilities29%
General population75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 23%
White 29% 48%
Black 28% 19%
Asian 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 41%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MATTEO DODDO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Fullerton Ave
Newburgh, NY 12550
Phone: (845) 563-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New York Military Academy
Cornwall on Hudson, NY



The Storm King School
Cornwall on Hudson, NY


The Birch School
Rock Tavern, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT