Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Newburgh, NY
Students enrolled: 3,339
 

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus 2

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Very disappointed. My son graduated from the school early. He did not assist to his prom because , when his best friends since middle schools graduated he was in Oklahoma in basic training. Try to go for his girlfriend's prom day. He manage to get a realise the same day but the schools won't let him in because he did not got the ticket on time. I think that the should put students in front. I don't think the really care for the students. They just left a sour taste in their live and they can't get this day back. I just wanted for him to be a kid and enjoy a prom. If you believe in Cinderella storys don't assist this school they are to busy handling the out of control kids that the forget the good ones.

Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus 4

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
I am an NFA graduate as well as a parent of 2 children- one currently attending, one previously attended. NFA is definitely what you make of it. Many opportunities- drama, dance, cosmetology, nursing, art, auto mechanics, youth in government, clubs galore and every sport imaginable. They have their fair share of problems and could use more parental and community support. Very big and can be overwhelming if you are unaccustomed to that, but caring teachers and guidance counselors are there if you need them.


Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL IS ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. THE PRINCIPALS AND MANAGEMENT AT BOTH MAIN AND BORTH CAMPUSES DONT CARE ABOUT THEIR STUDENTS AND WANT TO GET THEIR JOBS DONE AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE. BOTH CAMPUSES HAVE NOT BEEN RENOVATED IN LIKE 40 YEARS AND REEK WITH ODOR. SENDING YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL WOULD BE THE WORST MISTAKE OF YOUR LIFE. DONT DO IT, ANYWHERE BUT HERE.

Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus 4

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
I think the Newburgh School District is getting the dirty end of a long stick. The schools have lots of programs (sport, art and more) to offer. All of my children went to Newburgh Schools and they've never encountered a problem. I think more parents should be involved in what their kids are doing and their education. I love Newburgh schools!

Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus 1

Posted May 13, 2012
- a student
This school is horrible ,I go there now graduating next year and all there is bullying, and gang fights everyday . The other students there are very rude and unfriendly. The teachers are okay some just don't care. Don't go here !


Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus 1

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
Overcrowded, a lot of drama, always someone fighting, too much tension, some teachers don't know how to teach. Worst school I ever went to and every student thinks the same as well. Oh, and it's strict and you can't do ANYTHING anymore, there's no fun going there.

Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
I am a new parent to the Newburgh School District, however i graduated from it in 1994. It was a great school then and by the way my son raves about it now, i still believe it. He said the people (teachers, guidance counselors, and administrators)are very accomidating and coming from my little critic thats saying alot. Keep up the good work NFA.

Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus 1

Posted September 02, 2009
- a community member
This school is overcrowded, unsanitary, and hard to get around. The room number system is completely unorganized. The teachers here are okay, with some being very unprosfessional.


Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus 5

Posted October 28, 2008
- a student
NFA a great school for any student as long as they do they work .NFA offers alot of extracurricular activities n programs to be anything you want to be from drama plays to a certified nurse. great school great teachers

Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus
no rating

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
Diversity and opportunity abound. Programs to combat dropping out operate next to an in house Theater Academy, Solar Car Garage, Web Design and Fashion Design Centers and the Crew Teams have a boathouse on the Hudson. Do not judge this book by its cover. It's a unique place with an amazing core faculty. Solar Car, Track and Debate travel the East Coast. Ssports include Golf, Crew, Ski, Tennis and traditional team sports. Drama and video production are in NYC routinely.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus
201 Fullerton Avenue, Newburgh, NY  12550
(845) 563-5400
Last modified Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Newburgh Free Academy Main Campus Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top