Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maple Avenue School 3

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
We actually decided to send our 5-year-old to a private kindergarten even though Maple Ave is only 2 blocks from our home. When we went to see their kindergarten program, we found one teacher was retiring (she wasn't old) and one teacher seemed completely disinterested in actually working with the children's needs. Our child wouldn't even go inside the rooms, there was such a vibe of chaos.

Maple Avenue School 2

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
Sad to say this is my childrens home school. My oldest is now 18 ..and my youngest will be starting this yr in pre-k. The teachers do not tolerate diversity in children and push parents to medicate . God forbid the child with special needs to attend this school. There are a couple teachers that care...the others gossip to other parents and make you feel less of a parent if you have to work to support your family . I am hoping a new principal this year will improve the quality of the school


Maple Avenue School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
I personally love the school so far. My son started this year in the pre k program. He has learned so much already. He is even beginning to read and write. I feel his teacher is doing an exceptional job. The pre k program is doing a good job at preparing him for kindergarten. This is not our home school, i ask for him to go there because i feel its a great school!

Maple Avenue School 1

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
personally, my kids have been in this school since pre-k. Thankfully we are moving soon because the school is awful. My daughter is in 1st grade and has never seen a spelling test, they haven't taught her phonics so now she is doing poorly in reading and the teacher barely does her job. My son is in 3rd grade, he has ADHD and we treat it with diet, sleep and exercise, the school has been pushing me to drug him since he started, he should be in special education classes, the school does not offer it so they are basically setting him up for failure, again the teacher does not feel the need to teach at all, which is a pretty common occurance in maple avenue. Oh and god forbid if you are ever tight on cash, because this school loves parental money every time you turn around. Awful school with awful teacher and substandard teaching methods. I do not recommend this school to anyone that actually cares about their childrens education. simply put, it is a joke passed off as a school!

Maple Avenue School 5

Posted July 22, 2012
- a parent
Love the pre-k program my child will be attending in the fall for the very first time.


Maple Avenue School
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
We made the choice when purchasing a home to be in the Maple Ave district. Our son started in Pre-K last year and is in Kindergarten this year. We have had such a positive time. Each teacher has shown him understanding, caring and have started him on a great path for his schooling.

Maple Avenue School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
We have a wonderful playground and a vibrant, energetic after school program. It's our neighborhood school.

Maple Avenue School 4

Posted January 11, 2009
- a parent
I have had two children attend school at Maple and feel that it is a positive school. I have felt very welcome by teachers and very included in my child's education. I especially recommend the Pre-School program. It is wonderful.


Maple Avenue School 5

Posted July 31, 2007
- a parent
I also feel that Maple Avenue School is an excellent school. Not only are the teachers amazing but the parents are also great! My son has excelled and thrived and I am so pleased to be sending my second son there this year as well. The teachers I have come in contact with are wonderful and caring. Every Monday morning they have a special Morning Program where the whole school gathers to celebrate achievements, school pride, birthdays for the week, and much more and parents are invited to Morning Program as well! I could go on and on but we'll leave it at this - a home away from home for children to thrive!

Maple Avenue School 5

Posted June 23, 2006
- a parent
Maple Avenue School has been wonderful for my 3 children. In the 2 years they have been in the public school system, they have exceeded most of the NYState standards and have scored at or above 90% of national averages on state tests. I normally do not participate in surveys, etc, but after reading someone's comment about not enough parent participation, I had to comment. I have volunteered in 2 different classes. Parents are not only encouraged to help but they are necessary. School is not just about parties and cookies and donations. It is a huge part of these kids' lives and occupies most of their time and energy Sept-June. It is vital to be a part of it. Maple welcomes all parents to be a part of their school and depends on them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maple Avenue School
952 Maple Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY  14305
(716) 278-9140
Last modified Maple Avenue School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maple Avenue School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top