Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Niagara Falls High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1909 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2013

I hate this school with a burning passion. As you can see by the other reviews, people who went here in the past also have not recieved a proper education. I hate the whole student body because most of them are very disrespectful and immature and utterly stupid. I cannot wait to graduate next year as one of the few that have recieved a diploma AND a proper education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2012

best school of my life i am have went to this school and now my children are
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I have to be the one person that is going to disagree about this school, my child is not too happy with some of the people at this school and it is a teacher and princable. I dissagree with their way of handeling situations and they are not very fair about anything. My child was picked not to be not liked and as a parent it's a slap in the face. They pick on kids who have a problem remembering things and they are prossecuted for it because their not as smart as they are. I didn't want my child going to this school because i knew my child would have problems but I never thought it would be because of a teacher and princable but still i was right all thumbs down this school is horrable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Niagara Falls High School encompasses the world of possibility!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

I am a Current Student here at NFHS.I had the chance to go a private school in the area and I am happy I didn't . I love every thing about this school and would not have it any other.Unlike other schools in the area this a VERY diverse school and every one fits in .I highly recommend this school. Doesn't matter if your white, black,or Asian every one is treated equal .They have colleges course classes student can take.or if u have a special needs they provide u with all the help you need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

I am a student here and I really love the diversity and all the opportunities the school provides!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2004

I am a Parent but my kids dont go there. I was one of the hundreds of students that attended the new Niagara Falls High school when it first opened and I can tell you first hand that it is a great school. There were less fights, fueds, rivalry or what ever else happened between the two schools while they were seperate. I personally think that it was a great choice that was made to make the new school. If I could go back and go to high school all over again I would jump on it in a heart beat just so that I could be in the best school ever. I know almost all of the staff there and I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone. I miss every single thing about that school and I hope it doesn't change.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 7, 2004

My daughter is in her senior year this year and I have to be honest for the last 3 years she has attended this school every year I have had some kind of problem with either her schedule, her report card where there have been no grades printed out and when I try all avenues to get help to remedy these problems it seems like it always is the same old routine of pass the buck and nobody seems to feel it is there job to help me. The school is brand new but not being kept as clean as I would have expected with such a state of the art building. I am disappointed in the new school, and as far as the laptop computers go they have been nothing but problems also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

Wonderful school! My daughter loves it there, and I am so proud to say my child attends school there! Over all the school is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

My child attends this school much to our family's delight. She is thriving and is very encouraged by her teachers. The extra curricular activities are absolutely amazing, especially theatre and tv studio. The building is beautifully new and has been featured in architectural magazines. Each student (grade 10 and above) are issued laptops for the year. Excellent, Excellent School! Very excellent academics and atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

619 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

582 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

225 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

537 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students56%
Female58%
Male51%
African American35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Non-migrant56%

Chemistry

All Students58%
Female56%
Male63%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant58%

Earth Science

All Students53%
Female51%
Male55%
African American32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities22%
General population56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%

English

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
African American70%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native American100%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities43%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%

Geometry

All Students80%
Female79%
Male80%
African American65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities45%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%

Global History and Geography

All Students52%
Female47%
Male58%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native American36%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities24%
General population56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%

Integrated Algebra

All Students61%
Female64%
Male59%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native American56%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities25%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Living Environment

All Students64%
Female60%
Male68%
African American60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
Native American67%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities35%
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Physics

All Students73%
Female53%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%

U.S. History and Government

All Students67%
Female64%
Male69%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native American86%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities42%
General population71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 56% 48%
Black 1 36% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 3% 1%
Hispanic 1 3% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 264%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 98%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOSEPH COLBURN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4455 Porter Rd
Niagara Falls, NY 14305
Phone: (716) 278-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






North Tonawanda High School
North Tonawanda, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT