Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Niskayuna High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a student
This school has allowed students to properly integrate themselves with the society of the Lord.

Niskayuna High School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Nisky is a great school. I am not only a parent of three graduated children in recent years but I am a graduate as well. The standards here are higher than other schools HOWEVER my opinion of the administration has declined rapidly. My first issue (among many not addressed here) would be a principal appointed who clearly demonstrates his part time devotion to his "educational job" yet his full time presence in the professional sports area - I find offensive. When did we lower our standards to appoint someone who doesn't devote 40 hours a week to his job? Is that why we have assistant principals to take up his slack? My attendance at the HS didn't see ANY assistant principals. The whole district has become disappointing in my eyes.


Niskayuna High School 1

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent in the Nisky district for 15 years, with my youngest now in HS. I can tell you that its a matter of time before this district - which is completely overrated - crashes. The Administration for a pristigious, upscale district is lost (to say the least) and without giving too much detail, the bottom line for anyone willing to consider their child(ren) attending Nisky schools is that it is the children themselves who make Niskayuna look good.

Niskayuna High School 4

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman this year. So far I have been very impressed with the school and all of the oppurtunities that are available to her. I don't think I could ask for more from a public or private school!

Niskayuna High School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
Highly overrated. The teachers hands are held due to state regs. Quality of education has gone down the toilet. Bullying is ignored far and wide and the kids are horrible to each other. Nobody does anything to stop it. It's all smoke and mirrors. Don't buy into it.


Niskayuna High School 5

Posted September 03, 2010
- a parent
Niskayuna schools is like many high caliber public schools. It is excellent and offers one the best public school curriculum around. It cannot be everything to everyone. If your child is among the top and is ambitious, it is a great place with plenty of challenging offerings. If your child is seriously struggling and is among the lower percentile, he/she will get great services and attention. If your child is somewhere in the middle (depending on where), he/she will get lost in the shuffle. Contrary to those who are disillusioned by the music dept, I find the music dept to be excellent and committed. Of course the better caliber music students should get accolades. I don't see this as a problem. There should be some semblance of meritocracy. Above all, the student body exhibits great acceptance of uniqueness. Students are quite considerate toward each other. It's a great environment.

Niskayuna High School 1

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Highly overrated. I have found with both of my children that the competition and emphasis on the 'ivy' track destroyed their joy of learning. Both of my children are intelligent kids who did well, but whose love of school was extinguished when they walked through the door. Contrary to the previous reviewer - the music dept is not dedicated to teaching all kids, but to the accolades they receive from showcasing the chosen few. We won't be sending our youngest to Nisky High - we've learned our lesson twice over. Shameful.

Niskayuna High School
no rating

Posted June 02, 2009
- a student
Man, forget all of that. Niskayuna is just an average school. It us just a suburban school that has little to no diversity. Schools like Schenectady High School are more diverse, just like the real world.


Niskayuna High School 5

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
Consistently ranked one of the top school districts in the Albany area, Niskayuna HS offers tremendous learning opportunities to its entire student population, resulting in a high level of college attendance among its graduates. Most school districts will cut art/music programs when budgets are tight but Niskayuna has an outstanding music program whose ensembles achieve gold and silver consistently in local NYSSMA competitions. This is mainly due to the commitment demonstrated by the dedicated and talented staff, parents who care about education, and students who understand the value of a solid education.

Niskayuna High School 5

Posted June 23, 2005
- a student
Amazing school! The teachers are some of the best you will ever find in public schools, the classes are generally interesting, and the atmosphere completely supports all academic pursuits. There is an air of open-mindedness in which students are free to explore their interests and take learning to the next level.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Niskayuna High School
1626 Balltown Road, Niskayuna, NY  12309
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (518) 382-2511
Last modified Niskayuna High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top