Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Babylon High School

Public | 9-12 | 1605 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

I am a recent graduate of North Babylon High School and overall I have a positive image of the school. Not only is there a lot of diversity among the student body, there is also a lot of opportunity for students to excel and grow from the AP and Honors classes to the extracurricular activities, music programs, sports programs, and school spirit activities which really bring everyone together. When I attended, the teachers were phenomenal and were really passionate about their job and very involved in their students success and many still keep in touch with me today. The cons of the school are some of the conflicts among students which the school will discipline and some issues with some of the staff which the school also addressed. I did feel that the guidance counselors did not provide me enough information and instruction on all of the opportunities available to me at the time nor did they take the time to investigate my individual interests to provide proper guidance and thus I relied heavily on my parent and teachers. I hope this helped, send your children but stay involved, your support is just as important and influential as the institution they're attending. Best Wishes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2013

the teachers are the greatest teachers for miles the parent involvement is great but the kids are not the greatest although it has a diverse mix of kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I am a parent of a student that use to attend this school he graduated in 2010 This school is very diverse and his teachers and the staff were really great to him yet the students are not nice I'm lucky nothing violent ever happened to him during his years I'm afraid of the later students and the bullying will get worst resulting to violence in the future. Send your children to a safer school I fear for this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

The teachers try very hard to make this school a phenomenal learning environemnt. Everyone working here is very dedicated and passionate about what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

My child attends this school and I find the AP Program to be great. This school is diversed so that most kids would be able to fit right in. My child went to Woods Road, Rober Mosses Middle School and now NB High School and is have the time of her life. She is involved in the community, sports, and National Honors Society. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I am a student who attends this school and i honestly love it. I have attended this district all my life. As long as you hang out with the right people and are involved with extracurricular activites it is a very enjoyable school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

If I had to do it all over again, I would never have allowed my youngest son to attend North Babylon High School. I would have worked 3 jobs in order to have sent him to a parochial school. The past four years in the high school and the two years he attended the middle school were the worst years for our whole family. The influences were very negative and the school was not much help even though I begged for help for my son. I will never vote yes for a school budget. Supposedly this district spends something like $15,000.00 per pupil per year. I could have sent three children to private school and gotten them a better education for that sum. More money does not equal a higher quality of education. I would never recommend this school district. To be fair though, there were some outstanding teachers and counselors without whom I, as a parent, would not have survived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

Getting better as time goes by. Some superior teachers, some are still lacking. HS administrators are out there watching, to make the environment as positive as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

Great school for individuals looking for diversity within a school district. Great AP program for student who want to excel. Good Sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

its a good school they try hard for you they have some really good teachers. Such as mr. gmelch and mr. colgan
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

21 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

146 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students59%
Female59%
Male59%
African American40%
Asian/Pacific Islander59%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant59%

Chemistry

All Students70%
Female70%
Male68%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant70%

Earth Science

All Students71%
Female70%
Male72%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities35%
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%

English

All Students78%
Female82%
Male74%
African American76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities47%
General population86%
English language learners31%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%

Geometry

All Students65%
Female73%
Male57%
African American56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities35%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%

Global History and Geography

All Students72%
Female68%
Male76%
African American64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities28%
General population83%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%

Integrated Algebra

All Students67%
Female67%
Male68%
African American61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities31%
General population77%
English language learners39%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%

Living Environment

All Students78%
Female74%
Male81%
African American69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities41%
General population87%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%

Physics

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant97%

U.S. History and Government

All Students87%
Female85%
Male88%
African American77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities58%
General population94%
English language learners40%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 54% 48%
Black 2 26% 19%
Hispanic 2 17% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 228%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 57%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Phelps Ln
North Babylon, NY 11703
Phone: (631) 321-3233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Deer Park High School
Deer Park, NY


Ascent School
Deer Park, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT