Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marion G Vedder Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 368 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

A great school needs three elements: a great leader i.e. principal, engaged teachers, and involved parents. My experience so far with MGV is that we have all of those elements! My daughter's teacher for the 2012/2013 school year was awesome! I hope the quality that we've come to expect continues during our involvement and beyond with this school. As the academic expectations grow, I hope our community will come together and ensure that the teachers get the support they need and deserve to make sure I children have the best foundation possible to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

I think MGV is a great school. The teachers and staff are awesome. I have 2 children that attend this school and they are very happy there. I think they are getting an excellent education. The teachers seem to go above and beyond what's expected from them. I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

I have a child with adhd and the school has unveiled every resource possiable and through this, my child has progressed and succeding in her educational journey. The teachers and other staff are great. I couldnt ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

This is the worst school I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. There is no organization at all, nobody ever knows what is really going on, and the schedule they make for events always changes the morning of, and most of the time, they don't inform anybody of it. Plain and simple -worst, worst, worst. I am moving to another town because of how terrible this school was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

M.G.V. is nothing short of a great school. My first daughter attended M.G.V. and left happy yet saddened because she loved it there. My 2nd grader too loves M.G.V. I have had absolutely no problems....Staff is great, safety comes first, and my children have excellent grades. Good behavior begins at home...Extra help is available for kids with needs. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

My son went through this school and is now going into 10th grade and my daughter is currently on her way into 3rd grade. I feel that the teachers are very good for the most part as long as they keep the lines of communication open with the parents. This stands true for any school though. The children are safe in this environment. The teachers are loved by their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

The teachers at M.G.V. have been nothing but supportive, and helpful getting my children back on track with their grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

Test scores are way too low. I'm not an advocate for all these tests but MGV is at the bottom of the list in the NB School district. They used to be on the top about 5 yrs ago. I am not very impressed overall with this school or the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

I absolutely love M.G.V. I have six children,two of which attend currently. Our family has had the pleasure of working with outstanding teachers and staff. Each of my children, all ranging in ability, received an outstanding education! It is my hope that they will continue on with such great experiences in the schools they will attend in the future! Keep up the GREAT work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 52% 48%
Hispanic 2 23% 23%
Black 1 20% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 4% 9%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 228%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 80%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kerry Larke

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

794 Deer Park Ave
North Babylon, NY 11703
Phone: (631) 321-3265

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Parliament Place School
North Babylon, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT