Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Tonawanda High School 2

Posted December 29, 2012
- a community member
At this time, NTHS is not a school that is conducive to learning. The building is extremely dirty and poorly managed. It has a nice library and pool, but everything else about is very dreary and out of date. The administration is nonexistent, rarely available in the halls and have poor leadership skills. The student life is hit or miss. Some kids are great, others aren't. NTHS does offer good career academies and after-school clubs, which is a plus. The teachers have developed very poor attitudes and are quick to point the finger at parents and students for their own shortcomings. The Special Education department is abysmal. The services are often non-compliant and employs one consultant English teacher who is extremely rude and dismissive to student and parent concerns. The students suffer under her in the mean time. This simply isn't right. Overall, North Tonawanda is not a great environment in my opinion. It has potential to be great but until there is a culture change, starting with the principal, things will continue to suffer here.

North Tonawanda High School 5

Posted October 20, 2009
- a student
For one, I know for a fact that NTHS does not grade on a letter system and furthermore it is a great schoo. The possibilities are endless. If you cant make it @ NTHS you will not make it anywhere in life b/c you need to work hard, show up and try your best. This is a great credit to the school and overall, the school is easily one of the best around.


North Tonawanda High School 5

Posted February 19, 2009
- a student
Awsome school! Amazing atmosphere and great classes available. Variety of courses, clubs, and athletics available to anyone. There are teachers in this school that really take their job seriously, and are great at their job. I reccomend anyone NTHS. Go Jacks!

North Tonawanda High School 3

Posted January 10, 2009
- a student
I am currently only a freshman at NTHS but, from what i can see about the school so far, is that it is not very well organized. As the other people have been saying about NTHS i agree with, that it is not very updated with its teaching policies. And that the teachers are not very helpful.

North Tonawanda High School 2

Posted December 20, 2008
- a community member
Not a good school for anybody aspiring to go into the sciences in university (engineering, physics). This may not be the fault of the school, but rather outdated curriculum as mandated by the state.


North Tonawanda High School 1

Posted November 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

North Tonawanda High School 5

Posted October 21, 2008
- a student
I might only be a sophmore now but from just my first year going by I can say that it is hard to be a student but this is nothing compared to the education given decades ago. Most of the teachers preach how much they care but the only way for them to care is to ignore you like my science teacher he taught me that if I want help I have to come to him for help he wont offer anymore than a pass to see him whenever you need help in his class. The programs after school are awesome and there are clubs like first priority, student council, technology, outdoor awareness, scholastics bowl, science olympiad, plenty of school sports, etc... The school spirit never goes out T-NT week rocks This years football game 61 Jacks and 0 Warriors

North Tonawanda High School 2

Posted October 17, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


North Tonawanda High School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

North Tonawanda High School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
This is an awesome school. If your child went from A's/B's to C's after coming into NTHS it's because the standards are higher at this school you should help your child reach these higher goals. NTHS only wants what's best for everyone and that means your child must work hard to do his part. It means homework is a must and attendance. Don't blame the school because your child is not making the grades. The school has an open door policy and you are welcome to come in at any time to ask for help to help your child. Do your part as a parent. Your child's education is a partnership between you, the school and your child. Use it wisely and your child will see your involvement and he'll improve. Try good old discipline if he doesn't take school seriously.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Tonawanda High School
405 Meadow Dr, North Tonawanda, NY  14120
(716) 807-3600
Last modified North Tonawanda High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Tonawanda High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top