Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northport Middle School 1

Posted June 10, 2012
- a community member
As a former student of Northport Middle School, I saw kids get into trouble for crying, I saw rampant bullying which the administration did nothing about, and i saw kids with minor learning disabilities being placed into classes with mentally disabled people. Notice that all of the good reviews are written by girls, that's because the bullying only happens to boys, not girls.

Northport Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter graduated from Northport Middle School after having a wonderful experience there. I vote for it!


Northport Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
NMS has been able to give my daughter and other children the extra help as well as extracurricular activities that help them become the thinkers of tomorrow.

Northport Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 08, 2009
- a student
I loved this school! All the teachers that I had were truely heros to me and my life today. The teachers I had and every teacher at Northport Middle School is awesome.

Northport Middle School 5

Posted September 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Northport Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Northport Middle School 4

Posted July 25, 2005
- a parent
As a parent I feel the school is exceptional and the teachers are helpful and caring. it shows that they like their jobs.

Northport Middle School 5

Posted July 06, 2005
- a parent
I think Northport Middle School is a great school. The staff is always willing to help. The principal Tom Heinegg and Assistant Principal Chelsea Brown are hands on and are always available to help. They are very responsive to parents requests.


Northport Middle School 4

Posted March 11, 2005
- a parent
The quality of the academic programs is above par. The availability of music and art is outstanding. The availablity of sports and extracurricular activities is above average.

Northport Middle School 3

Posted March 10, 2005
- a parent
We have three children that experienced this school. The music department is not encouraging but tries to only keep the top students that they favor. Academically, they give so many opportunities for extra credit work that the honor society is not one with true honor students. The art department is wonderful. Discipline is not handled directly but pushed around from year to year until the troublesome child graduates. High scores on standardized tests can be credited to extensive cramming by the teachers 2 months before the tests.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northport Middle School
11 Middleville Road, Northport, NY  11768
(631) 262-6750
Last modified Northport Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northport Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top