Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northport Senior High School 1

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
everything you dont want in a high school, bad administration, wealthy kids, horrible teachers, conservative environment. Its funny to see kids dress like its picture day, everyday. the place is falling apart, in desperate need of a whole new administration. the assistant principals cant handle a disciplinary situation for sh*t!!!!

Northport Senior High School 4

Posted August 31, 2013
- a student
Pretty good school, decent environment. Grades are very inflated, however- a 93 GPA barely put me in the top 40%. Your GPA doesn't really show how hard you work, it's an indicator of how many weighted classes you take (many of which do not deserve to be weighted). I'd say that a good 70% of the student body either overachieves or underachieves.


Northport Senior High School 1

Posted July 26, 2013
- a student
This school made me feel alienated and I was bullied constantly. No one even tried to stop the bullying. Do NOT send your kids here.

Northport Senior High School 4

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
Disagree with critical reviews. Calls returned promptly. Attendance taken seriously but quickly resolves any issues. Guidance very helpful. Just moved and my senior student was made I feel very welcome.

Northport Senior High School 2

Posted May 14, 2013
- a student
This school is definitely not what it's "cracked up" to be. Unless you exceed academically, musically, artistically, or all of the above; you're nothing to the school. You don't receive any recognition or praise. Same goes for whether or not you're in AP/IB classes. If you're an average student, it's almost as if you do not exist. Also, they make the biggest deal of out absolutely nothing. For example, if you receive ONE "somewhat negative" comment on a progress report/report card, you're called down to guidance as if there's some kind of huge problem that requires immediate attention. They also overreact about absences, even when they're notified about your illness/family emergency in advance by a parent. The school is huge, falling apart, and is just not attentive to everybody's needs. Administration doesn't know students' names from a hole in the wall; unless once again, as I said, you excel in a specific area. It's just not a great place to be.


Northport Senior High School 5

Posted February 23, 2013
- a student
the school has a great ESL program !! <3 all the teachers are so nice and devoted to students!!

Northport Senior High School 2

Posted August 11, 2012
- a parent
School used to be great. Now it appears they really do not care about the student unless its high profile. Any problem and you become the bad guy. Money all goes to employees, school is falling apart and looks worse than it did 10 years ago. So I guess as long as you don't ask for help you are fine. They look good on paper, but do not follow through when there is a problem. Try to see how many days you have to wait for a return phone call. Then when you go higher up you get yelled at for doing that. There are some terrific people and many who have huge power trip and are not there to protect the student!

Northport Senior High School 1

Posted December 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Northport Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted August 01, 2008
- a parent
The extracurricular activities are great. Does offer advanced placement courses. However, the greatest weakness is the English Dept which does not prepare students to read and write essays. There is too little time devoted to intelligent reading and forming opinions. The district as a whole is overrated and does not apply revenue to appropriate academic outcomes.

Northport Senior High School 5

Posted July 13, 2008
- a community member
I am a former student of Northport High School and my experiance while attending this school was AMAZING! They offer the best classes, they have a very educated staff and are very helpful. The teachers as well as the rest of the staff there is dedicated to the students and helping them as well as pushing them to succeed and reach their full potential. I loved northport high school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northport Senior High School
154 Laurel Hill Rd, Northport, NY  11768
(631) 262-6652
Last modified Northport Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northport Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top