Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ocean Avenue School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
Best school around! My two kids both attend Ocean and we couldn't be happier. All of the teachers they have had have been great and the school has great extra curricular activities for all grade levels.

Ocean Avenue School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in second grade and so far the school has been a great experience for her. Her classroom teachers, as well as the support staff have been very caring and knowledgeable.


Ocean Avenue School 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
My son's experience through third grade has been nothing but amazing. The experienced teachers, support staff and principal ensure that every child has the opportunity to realize their potential.

Ocean Avenue School 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school. Teachers go above and beyond what is necessary to make sure each child's needs are met. PTA is extremely involved and provides excellent extra activities for the students.

Ocean Avenue School 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
I cannot say enough about the wonderful learning environment fostered in this school by the principal, teachers and parents. The staff are knowledgeable, professional and extremely supportive. As a former teacher, I am so glad to know that my children are in such great hands as they go through elementary school.


Ocean Avenue School 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic, caring teachers that go the extra mile for each student. Such a great place to learn and grow!

Ocean Avenue School 3

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
I had two children go through this school. They had a few excellent teachers but most were just average. There wasn't one program that stood out in our minds. Both of my children are A students. Honestly, the system breeds mediocrity when the teachers are tenured so quickly.

Ocean Avenue School
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is now in 3rd grade and she has been in the school since kindergarden. I love the scool. The PTA is involved and very dedicated to the chilredn and school and the teachers do work with you and your child. I think if there is a parent that thinks the teachers don't work with the children then they must be the ones that send thier kids to school and expect the school to do everything. Education starts at home and works together with theteachers and staff as do respect taught at home.


Ocean Avenue School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a community member
Great teachers and great atmoshpere

Ocean Avenue School
no rating

Posted March 07, 2009
- a parent
I would agree with the review posted in 02/06. I came to this school with great expectations after listening current parents and seeing it's rating on this website. However what you don't hear is that the test scores you see are a result of strictly teaching to the test. Other subjects are completely avoided at the expense of whatever subject is coming up on the test. My children have been in schools in both CA and MN and this is the most pathetic excuse for an education I've seen thus far. There is no educating going on, just rote memorization.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ocean Avenue School
100 Ocean Avenue, Northport, NY  11768
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (631) 262-6840
Last modified Ocean Avenue School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top