Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orchard Park High School

Public | 9-12 | 1577 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

I just finished my freshman year at OPHS. While a lot of people have said they focus on sports, I found that academics are just as important to the teachers and staff. I had a lot of homework so I don't agree with previous comments. I was challenged in math and had plenty of resources to guide me through the year. The school takes all academics very seriously. I plan on applying to a college with high standards and this school helps me achieve this goal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2014

Well as a student I can give a personal experience. Yes this school can be cliquey, not surprising since it's almost impossible to find a school where the jocks don't hang with jocks, nerds don't hang with nerds or the preppies don't hang out with the preppies. It's high school, it's happens if we like it or not. Overall the education is quite nice, you get a good relationship with your teacher as most are like able and those who aren't have the intention to not be trampled on. If you need help all you have to do is ask, trust me I spent almost a week with a certain teacher just so I could keep myself prepared for midterms. This school does have a huge focus on sports, and no they don't care just about it. If your failing guess what? Your'e off the team until you can raise that grade! The activities here are very fun and well worth going to.. Homecoming, prom, football games, spirit weeks, plays, fundraiser. The school is big on fundraiser, especially on cancer research and awareness with bald for bucks, caps for a cure, and even the cancer awareness club. I'm summary, this school preparers you for college, life and tries it best to set a good moral compass


Posted February 23, 2014

I like OP High School. I think it has many good clubs and activities for the kids to be involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

The school places far too much importance on the athletics. The coaches and their teams come first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

Orchard Park is not a good school they don't care about the students like they say they do.They favor one over the other and what school lets any student play sports without maintaing a certain grade average? It's all about the money and who knows who. Maybe if the school staff stopped stealing money from the schools they would not have to rely on parents to pay for some sports.O.P. only cares about their sports teams winning all the time and as far as the drop out rate is It's higher then people think.Do the research. The school is a joke.Parents have to either be on the PTA or work for the school in some way to have their child stand out from the rest. Give Me A Break...................
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

orchard park is bad doesnt give enough homework not good with sports teams and they are not smart
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

Anyone can walk in or out of the school without even a glance their way. Needs to be updated! Students are well behaved (minus at sporting events) and the school has tremendous sports teams. Students are well prepared for college. Only good for the exceptional student and good athlete. Middle of the road students can get by as well. If you child has any type of 'disability', take them elsewhere!


Posted February 1, 2009

i like the school! I dont think it is over crowded! It really isnt that big!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

Personally, I think it's a good school. We can't do much about the overcrowding, it used to be the middle school before it was changed to the high school. I do agree on the whole renovating sports before other students (new turf for a about $500,000) but in at least marching band doesn't have to march in the mud anymore. I just think we need a new main staircase, but the side staircases are quicker. We've got great stuff academically, musically, artistically, and athletically.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

Overcrowded, clicky, poor administration, lackluster guidance 'counseling'...moved into OP to send our child to this school - total joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I am a former student and now employee. I will agree about some overcrowding, but the education at OPHS is top notch. The teachers are dedicated and top quality and the sports and music/drama programs are second to none.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

I was very happy with the school a couple of years ago despite being over crowded. Now they are taking away the special ed programs to save money for the district. They think improving the tennis courts is more important! This is not right! The kids that need extra help, should get the help. Our kids should come first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

As a graduate of Orchard Park High School, I felt that there were a lot of problems that detract from the overall quality of my educational experience. The school is ridiculously overcrowded. To the point were walking down the hallway between classes is next to impossible without elbowing and pushing your way through. The class sizes range from very large to very small with very few falling in between. The building itself is decaying, with recent mold problems and just general griminess. The school does have a few good points, however. The honors program is exceptional, with the major of the school's AP students scoring above a '3' on their exams. The music department is very strong, as are the intermural sports such as lacrosse. The parents at the school are either too involved, orjust not there. Overall, a decent school, but too much politics for comfort.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 16, 2006

The Orchard Park High School is a great school. It is one of the top schools in western New York for a reason. My child goes to a SUNY school, and she says you can tell the difference between the kids who went to OPHS and the ones who went to other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

The college attendance rate of OPHS is why we chose to move to Orchard Park. We are very pleased so far with everything that the school has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

As a graudate of OPHS, I feel that I received the best education that they could have given me. Yes, the school is overcrowded, but things can be done to change that. The faculty and staff are the best I have ever come across. I loved it there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2004

this school is okay. over crowded but for the most part the teachers are friendly. This school lacks diversity but the work is challenging and sometimes over loaded. It would be nice if teachers and students could respect different cultures.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

Orchard Park High School provides a first-class education experience despite the crowded conditions which currently exist. All 3 of my children have received a well-rounded, quality education with a caring administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2004

This school is okay but it is extremely overcrowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

85 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

231 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Chemistry

All Students94%
Female91%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant94%

Earth Science

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities92%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%

English

All Students92%
Female96%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities69%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%

Geometry

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities75%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%

Global History and Geography

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities72%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%

Integrated Algebra

All Students94%
Female92%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities89%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%

Living Environment

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities94%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%

Physics

All Students90%
Female91%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant90%

U.S. History and Government

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities82%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 96% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Black 2 1% 19%
Hispanic 1 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 45%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4040 Baker Rd
Orchard Park, NY 14127
Phone: (716) 209-6243

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lackawanna High School
Lackawanna, NY


Immaculata Academy
Hamburg, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT