Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 210 Elizabeth Blackwell

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 2072 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

I am currently in ms210 and I can honestly say that it is a scary place. There's fights all the time and if your child isn't tough enough, I wouldn't recommend this school. I am in an arp class meaning I'm in an advance program and my teacher are amazing. We arp students are taking our regents a year early( 8th grade) and my teachers help and explain everything we'll enough. I wouldn't recommended this school as your number 1 choice, I'd probably recommended this school as your last choice


Posted April 6, 2014

I attended this school in the 1970's. It is agood school but some students tend to be big bullies and should be disciplined and some even suspended. Parents are responsible for the way their child behaves in school.


Posted January 25, 2013

This school and this school has a severe problem with bullying..!!!!!... The teachers do NOTHING to help a student out... they are bascially there for a pay check. Everytime I ask my sons teacher a question about anything she NEVER has answers. she is like in Lala land.!.. The teacher even gets bullied by the students. The rating this school has is over rated. My cousin use to be mortified to go to school. The Dean the Guidance counselors are all in lala land. If your kid is going to go to this school make sure they take some Martial Arts fighting classes, they will need it. School is suppose to be a place of learning and fun not a War Zone where you have prepare your child with fighting techniques if someone starts a fight with him! RIDICULOUS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

This school is waaaayyyyy too overcrowded. Unless your child is an AP student do not expect much from this school, the pricipal or the teachers. I did not like it at all during the three years that my child attended this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Class of 2010. This school was really a second home to me. I love the environment, regardless of fights. That s in every school. That s what middle school is! Creating yourself for the real world. This middle school has everything. From Honors classes, to Advanced Regents classes to the talents: Art, Theater, Dance, Band & Chorus. Not to mention, they all contribute nicely to the school. This is where you begin your life. I started mine here. I want to go back so badly. High school isn t the same like this. This school gives you a family for 3 good years. You have the same 30 classmates each year. It keeps things interesting so you don t have to start off new each year. It s rather very comfortable. It s like the environment or class you were selected in was MADE for you. I know I can t feel the same way in High school. The way they split everything into houses was a genius idea. The teachers here are amazing! You have the funny/strict ones, the ethical ones, the ones that make you fall asleep that s what was so unique about this school. Each teacher had their own ways that you and your classmates will create memories forever. That feeling of 210 will never go away.


Posted April 17, 2011

We are seventh graders in M.S.210. There are many problems that people do not address. First of all, we have limited time to go to the bathroom, and it causes many students to become ill. Second, there are many fights, at least once a week. Third, the hallways are so crowded. Students tend to skip class and stay in the bathrooms. Although there are students who tend to misbehave, the teachers could handle it pretty well. Even though there are a few unfair teachers, most of the teachers are well spoken and respectful. Besides the students behavior, there are many students who use inappropriate language. Being in House A our current dean and assistent principal handle things well. In House E, they also handle things corrrctly and keep their cool during stressful situations. Although this school has a few flaws its not as horrible as long as your prepaired for a rollercoaster of fun and stress. THERE ARE MANY FUN AND EXCITING EVENTS THAT HAPPEN IN THIS SCHOOL. DANCES ARE AWESOME AND APPROPRIATE.


Posted April 16, 2010

Hi everyone, I am a student from MS210 I have been in this school since 6 grade I love this school. We are seperated into houses so it is in a small enviroment so it is great for childeren! All of the teachers from my house and other houses know me. At first they said to my mom are u crazey this school is very bad but for being there for 3 years I will miss my old school so much!!! Class of 2010 rocks =] House b rocks I will miss u!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2010

ms 210 is like a second home to me. this senior year is the best and whenever I have problems, I know I can trust the adults and teachers in the school. ms210 for life
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

i used to be a student there about three years ago before i graduated and even though it wasnt the greatest school ever it was the best out of all the school ive been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2009

I am a 7th grader at M.S.210 and in my opinion I think this school is very good I am mostly happy that they put different houses b4 hteir many fiqhts and now there barely any since they put differnt houses
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2009

This a fantastic school I was a graduate from 08-09. This school has great programs and great ways of learning but the only problem Is that there is alot of drama throughout the school year and not many students are commuted to there wrk and or education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2009

I am a current student at M.S.210 i will graduate this year and I'm very sad about that because I love it . I have learned alot . But i must admit there are a few snobby teachers other then that its awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2009

hey! I recentely graduated from 210, this past year (09'). Yeah, wow...3 years can fly by pretty quick when you are having fun! Anyhow, words cannot describe this school, it's amazing; and excels in every way possible. Compared to when I entereted there in 6th grade, thanks to the prinicpal Ms. Manning...this school has greatly improved; as it is now broken down into houses, each having an assisstant priciplal and dean in charge. As such, it is much easier to control and overlook; and plus most of your classes are on the same floor. You won't to miss a day when you start this school, as every day is flled with much excitement and learning to do. The staff, as well as the teachers are excellent and have gret realtionships with there students. It is safe, and the students behave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2009

I am a parent.My child loves Ms210.My son attend Ms 210 for one year and he don't want to miss a day Great ,great school!!!!!!!Ask the Experts About Your Middle-Schooler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

I am an eighth grader at Ms210.My past three years here have been wonderful .I've made many friends and gotten smarter. Sometimes I hated the school but most of the times I loved it.The teachers are greatly helpful and the other staff members do their jobs excellently well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2009

My duaghter goes to this school, and she has improved her grades with all the great and helping teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

The school isn't too great. Classes are becoming too crowded & teachers spend a lot of the time making students be quiet instead of continuing the lesson. It'd be nice to have more than one teacher trying to motivate students to reach their goals. Many students spend time fooling around and cutting classes. This school year has been a great improvement from previous years. More curricular activities and whatnot. However, the houses has caused many problems. Assigned staircases are just plain foolish. How can we get to gym, lunch or talent without being late? I hope they decide to remove the houses and assigned staircases after this year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2008

This school has very good academic standards but very poor displine.I strongly reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

This school is great! They teach you techniques for tests so that you don't forget important facts you might need for tests.They helped get to High School,whis is where I am now.It's a really great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 30, 2005

My daughter is in 8th grade graduating this year of 2005, she loves the school, she is always in actvities and gets good grades. I beleive that to make a school work the students have to want to do a good job. Its a team work effort. Parent+student+teachers= success. I have heard bad things about this school but to me it has been a great experience for my child. She is in ARP. There is a teacher that made a big difference in her life and but she learned from that experience even though they did not like each other she worked harder and made it through this class with a great avarage.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

589 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

610 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

608 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

626 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

637 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

556 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

655 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 60% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 29% 9%
Black 2 7% 19%
White 2 4% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 114%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 287%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 38%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Speech and language therapist(s)
Special education coordinator
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
School psychologist
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Dance teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2860 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents92753%
Students185294%
Teachers8162%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ROSALYN ALLMAN-MANNING

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

93-11 101st Ave
Ozone Park, NY 11416
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 845-5942

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 273
Richmond Hill, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT