Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ms 137 America S School Of Heroes

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 2000 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

MS 137is a great school because the teachers, parents and students work together in order to be succesful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

The school is really amazing for such a large one. I am in and ARP class, 801 to be graduating this year and the school has really gotten much better since my first year. They have gotten much stricter and fights are much less often seen. My teachers are always pushing us to do better and can be confided in at any time. The school is a bit crowded and hallway travel is a bit tight but overall the experience is great. Much better than most middle schools out there.


Posted November 9, 2009

I really like the strictness of the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Hey! I was a student at M.S137 I graduated with the class of 09. There's not too much to say about this school other than it is really cool. The teachers really get invovled with the students, helping them acidemically. Pesonally I think M.s 137 has all the cool teachers. Even though we had to break a sweat while working, it paid off. We worked hard and got rewarded at the end. I will Truly Miss The Good times i had there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

i am a student at ms.137 and i love the school. I have nice teachers and good grades but some classes are challenging but that's school!! My favorite teacher is definitely ms.sasso who has always been there when kids need!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2009

i love ms 137 when i was in that school. it was a great time. the teachers that used to be there were awesome i loved every one of them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2009

i am a student at m.s 137 this school is very good! i love my 8th grade a.p miss wilkins she helps me with everything im in 8th grade and my 8th gradehomeroom teacher mr.allen is very educated he made me a 90 average studnet in math
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

ok, i am the same person who wrote on march 19, i have graduated from MS137, i really do miss that school, High School is tough, but since i was new to this country when i first entered the NYC public school system, it was weid, i was about 3,000 miles away from my 'home' and that school has given me the most help, so anyone who had a bad experience at this school, please, there are many more students like me attending that Middle school and i happen to know 2 others who are going to high ranking HS, like me, Aviation High school, and my friend, The school of accounting in Manhattan, all i have to say is that MS137 helped me and lots of others, and one sour mouthed person, should not ruin its
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2008

i graduated from this school and i must say it had been fun and i will miss this school greatly and i hope the others enjoy this school as much as i did (class of 08)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2007

The scholl is great i like it but i think that they should have better extracurricular activities. But the teacher are very nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2007

this school is not approprite for children 12-15. there are too many fight and the princpal is not at all concerned about the children's saftey. this school should have a new facuilty that supports and boost children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

This school has improved the most. The ciriculum is very good! From 2 stars this school has grown to be very good. The ARP classses are very well structeured and educated. The teachers need to just a little be nicer becuase of the kids not wanting to learn if they have a mean teacher and not wanting to focus! My child has been complaining a bit about that! The saftey is very good! They have security guards and ID cards for students this is nice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

It's a good school, just when I attended this school it was kind of cheap . We didnt have alot of good books nor text books. The Teachers are great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 31, 2005

Middle School 137 is a place where education can be facilitated by the right environment. I went to Middle School 137 in from 2002-2003 and I can personally say that the school is a place where opportunity is presented, and at the same time, it is prevented. The teachers are very diverse, some of them are caring individuals whereas the others are simply inadequate. Programs such as ARP are being slowly taken away as the school has become reduced to nothing but another 'average' middle school. Most disgracefully, the school is situated in a place where children feel un-inclined to work . It is simply a horrible neighborhood. Also, the role of the principal is meager and the administration is inadequate. If you want your children to grow up in an environment that is safe and productive, Middle School 137 is not the place.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2005

Between the fires in the halls, the harassment and abuse of teachers by students, the fear of discipline for the worst behavior problems, highly misplaced priorities, and the well-meaning yet grossly incompetent, weak administrative staff I see some serious flaws. On a positive note, there actually are some very good teachers in this school. Its a shame however that their talents are often stifled.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

631 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

645 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

668 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

673 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

650 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

659 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

640 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students27%
Female31%
Male23%
African American21%
Asian/Pacific Islander30%
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native American18%
White13%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities1%
General population30%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%

Math

All Students38%
Female39%
Male36%
African American28%
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native American27%
White30%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities2%
General population42%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students27%
Female29%
Male24%
African American23%
Asian/Pacific Islander34%
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities2%
General population29%
English language learners4%
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%

Math

All Students33%
Female29%
Male35%
African American18%
Asian/Pacific Islander41%
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities3%
General population36%
English language learners2%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Female35%
Male21%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islander35%
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native American6%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities4%
General population31%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%

Math

All Students30%
Female35%
Male27%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islander38%
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native American6%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities3%
General population34%
English language learners4%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Science

All Students65%
Female67%
Male62%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native American47%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities25%
General population69%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 57% 9%
Hispanic 1 32% 23%
Black 1 7% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 2% 1%
White 2 2% 48%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 42%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2698 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents77144%
Students182093%
Teachers10785%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LAURA MASTROGIOVANNI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

109-15 98th St
Ozone Park, NY 11417
Phone: (718) 659-0471

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jhs 226 Virgil I Grisson
South Ozone Park, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT