Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Peekskill High School 4

Posted December 28, 2013
- a student
Peekskill high school is a diverse high school. The teachers are good and students should excel to take AP courses and challenge themselves. I have attended 3 high schools (A private catholic school in somers, PHS, and a public school in Florida). PHS was by far the best. The teachers provided quality and it was an overall wonderful experience. I wish I did not have to move for my senior year.

Peekskill High School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Peekskill HS has gone from a ghetto school, where few children did well to one that now includes AP courses and is educating all its students to go to good colleges. The Supt. of Schools, Judith Johnson, has made this happen over her 9 year tenure..


Peekskill High School 0
no rating

Posted December 20, 2009
- a student
Honestly, the school could have a lot more potential if the main focus was on academics. However, punishment is given to uneccassary actions. For example, I had trouble getting to the school on time and for every 3 days that I was late I earned a detention. Lateness is stressed too much in the school. Students are looked upon as delinquents & it's the few that ruin it for all.

Peekskill High School 3

Posted April 12, 2009
- a parent
Peekskill has a great chance to be a top school. With more parents supports they can be on there way. For being a 'city' with out a alternative school there will always be some bad apples..

Peekskill High School 0
no rating

Posted February 21, 2009
- a community member
This school is a joke. The discipline at the Peekskill High School is terrible, kids are allowed to break the rules all the time with little or no consequences. Cell phones, ipods are used regularly in the hallway and classes. Many kids are disruptive in classrooms making it difficult for the good kids to learn. Do yourself a favor if you are considering moving into the area consider Lakeland or Panas High School.


Peekskill High School 5

Posted April 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Peekskill High School 3

Posted March 23, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Peekskill High School 2

Posted October 07, 2006
- a student
Ok I am not a parent, but a student and it is my feeling that the student body is not truly represented on this site or else where. I mean as students it is our job to make the best of the school and to gain support from the staff, which isn't always the case. Peekskill has its ups and downs like many other schools but it is a mass feeling of worthlessness that drags students down. No one seems to be interested in anything because there is no reward for advancing, an honors student has the exact same standing as a student who cuts so students to try. If a little more power were to be given to worthy student body members a lot of the schools issues would disappear. There is a lot to be gained by examining at the way things are run. We need change!


Peekskill High School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
The teachers in the Peeksill school system are extremely dedicated to the success of their students. I have had 2 children with learning disabilities and my mind was always at ease knowing that they were in the hands of these teachers. I now have a daughter in college studying law and would like to thank the staff at PHS for their dedication especially Mrs. Wychunas.

Peekskill High School 5

Posted December 16, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peekskill High School
1072 Elm Street, Peekskill, NY  10566
(914) 737-0201
Last modified Peekskill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peekskill High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top