Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Peekskill High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 01, 2016
- a community member
thanks to all those administrators who shut out former peekskill graduates for employment. thanks to the athletic director who allowed the athletic program to become a joke!

Peekskill High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 01, 2016
- a community member
currently there is a teacher being charged with changing grades. the basketball coach and athletic direction just got into a physical altercation in the gymnasium.


Peekskill High School 1

Posted January 01, 2016
- a community member
There is a high administrative turnover. The students have little respect for the school and teachers. The athletic program is one of the worst in the state.

Peekskill High School 3

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
Two of my children attends this school and I cant wait to get them out this school district

Peekskill High School 4

Posted December 28, 2013
- a student
Peekskill high school is a diverse high school. The teachers are good and students should excel to take AP courses and challenge themselves. I have attended 3 high schools (A private catholic school in somers, PHS, and a public school in Florida). PHS was by far the best. The teachers provided quality and it was an overall wonderful experience. I wish I did not have to move for my senior year.


Peekskill High School
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Peekskill HS has gone from a ghetto school, where few children did well to one that now includes AP courses and is educating all its students to go to good colleges. The Supt. of Schools, Judith Johnson, has made this happen over her 9 year tenure..

Peekskill High School
no rating

Posted December 20, 2009
- a student
Honestly, the school could have a lot more potential if the main focus was on academics. However, punishment is given to uneccassary actions. For example, I had trouble getting to the school on time and for every 3 days that I was late I earned a detention. Lateness is stressed too much in the school. Students are looked upon as delinquents & it's the few that ruin it for all.

Peekskill High School 3

Posted April 12, 2009
- a parent
Peekskill has a great chance to be a top school. With more parents supports they can be on there way. For being a 'city' with out a alternative school there will always be some bad apples..


Peekskill High School
no rating

Posted February 21, 2009
- a community member
This school is a joke. The discipline at the Peekskill High School is terrible, kids are allowed to break the rules all the time with little or no consequences. Cell phones, ipods are used regularly in the hallway and classes. Many kids are disruptive in classrooms making it difficult for the good kids to learn. Do yourself a favor if you are considering moving into the area consider Lakeland or Panas High School.

Peekskill High School 2

Posted October 07, 2006
- a student
Ok I am not a parent, but a student and it is my feeling that the student body is not truly represented on this site or else where. I mean as students it is our job to make the best of the school and to gain support from the staff, which isn't always the case. Peekskill has its ups and downs like many other schools but it is a mass feeling of worthlessness that drags students down. No one seems to be interested in anything because there is no reward for advancing, an honors student has the exact same standing as a student who cuts so students to try. If a little more power were to be given to worthy student body members a lot of the schools issues would disappear. There is a lot to be gained by examining at the way things are run. We need change!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peekskill High School
1072 Elm Street, Peekskill, NY  10566
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (914) 737-0201
Last modified Peekskill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top