Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hutchinson School

Public | K-5 | 373 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2013

This was my son's first year; 1st grade attending Hutchinson Elementary. The school is diverse in student body, well connected with the community. The teachers are very friendly and intune with students needs, and are always in communication with parents. The school makes a strong effort to keep the parents and student body aware of updates, events and ensures timely notifications of any changes within the school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Both my kids (now in Middle and High school) attended Hutchinson School. We always loved the highly diverse student body and the amazing teachers and leadership this school has to offer. It truly enriched our lives and our sons', My older kid is an A student and my youngest has a learning disability. Having had such different learners we have experienced first hand the effort they make to engage advanced students and to dramatically improve student's performance with greater needs. Loving, caring, professional... I always felt my kids received a tremendous amount of personal attention. Parents are tremendously active at this school - very involved. And it shows! They are doing a terrific job to support and improve Hutchinson Elementary School. I agree with other parent reviews that they don't get the same level of reputation as other schools in Pelham because of the diverse background of its students. I am also under the impression that most special ed students in Pelham attend Hutchinson School, fact that may have an impact on the school rating based on test results. Certainly teachers are A+++ !! Good job Hutchinson Elementary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

GREAT SCHOOL! The teachers are all just great! They truly want the kids to do well. The principal is also great and she definitely cares about all the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2012

This is a fantastic school! Staff and school leadership are extremely caring, professional, and knowledgeable. The teachers are top notch! My child is thriving, and we feel very fortunate to be so welcomed in this school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

this school is SO AWESOME (this is an understatement.) (this is an understatement.) (this is an understatement.) (this is an understatement.) (this is an understatement.) (this is an understatement.) (this is not hyperbole.) (LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)


Posted June 3, 2011

Hutchinson school is as good as the rest of the Pelham elementary schools but gets a bum rap. It's NYS test scores are somewhat lower due to the more diverse student body that attends the school, not because of less qualified staff or less rigorous academics. It's the only school in Pelham with any real socio-economic/racial diversity, which is an advantage to many parents, since it more closely resembles the real world. My kids are thriving in this school, and so will any other children with involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

There is an obvious reason this grammar school is the only one in the Pelham District that did not score a 10 -- the principal is solely concerned with qualifying why her school's test scores have consistently dropped (blaming transfer students, since they did not attend from K forward and are primarily renters). The office staff is completely unknowledgeable, and tax money is ill spent. There is no accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

Hutchinson is a wonderful academic school with a great community support. Both of my children are learning and adjusting beautifully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

We love our hutchinson school.We are fortunate to have a wonderful principal and active PTA. The teachers are highly qualified, innovative and motivated. most children live within walking distance of the school,wich give us a strong sense of community . The PTA organises a lunchtime enrichment program offering language, cooking, crafts, dance etc. The curriculum includes art and music every week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

We spent all of 6 months at hutch, but it was time well spent Mrs. Tarazi is (the principal) is always available to help in anyway she can. She helped our family, by paying for trips and all sorts of activities that we being a displaced family due to the financial crisis facing our country could not afford. The staff is wonderful almost like a family, the teachers are very loving and involved with the children. My kindergarden daughter still cries for Ms. hatter her teacher, and my son (3 grade) remembers Ms. Ragosta fondly and how she thought him to divide. All in all this is a great school and had I not have the need to move I would have not removed my children, we will miss all of them very much.,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Hutchinson School is a wonderful school, providing my children with an awesome well rounded education. I am consistently amazed at how my third grader discusses literature he is reading. He is being exposed to such a high level of discourse in the classroom, that such analytical conversations are commonplace. Similarly, my kindergarten child has blossomed as a reader, writer and thinker. The school has a wonderful music program, students have the opportunity to play in the orchestra or the band beginning in third grade. They are exposed to songs from around the world in their music class from kindergarten through grade 5. The art program is equally as wonderful. My children have produced works of art using a variety of media. All in all, my children have flourished at Hutch. What more can a parent ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 51% 48%
Hispanic 2 25% 23%
Black 2 11% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 9% 9%
Two or more races 1 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 215%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 67%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CARLA TARAZI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 3rd Ave
Pelham, NY 10803
Phone: (914) 738-3640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Excelsior Learning Center
Mount Vernon, NY



Westchester Area School
New Rochelle, NY



Traphagen School
Mount Vernon, NY


Colonial School
Pelham, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT