Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pelham Memorial High School

Public | 9-12 | 848 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

Pelham has always been and continues to be an exceptional school. However like anything else, resources can only be utilized by those with a desire to achieve. I have relationships with teachers that I feel will continue well beyond my graduation day. All my friends and I took advantage of the AP courses offered and all attended the top quartile of 4 year liberal arts programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2014

Pelham schools are pretty OK. I have dysgraphia and while it was a pain to get an IEP, the school was fairly accommodating once I got it. Guidance is not very good, though my experience is that that is true of nearly all high schools. As for the academics, the science department is fantastic. The social studies department is pretty great. For foreign languages, I only took Latin, but my teacher for that was amazing. The English department has a few decent teachers but also a few terrible ones. The math department is horrendous - at the high school level I only had two decent teachers. The art/music department is OK, from what I know of it. The technology department is hilariously bad, but the science research department makes up for this as it is pretty great. The sports, as far as I know (I was not involved in them), are somewhat subpar. There are a number of clubs, including a robotics club, Science Olympiad, various honors societies, foreign language clubs, a military history club, and a Model UN team, among others. The students at PMHS are interesting: they tend to be typical on the whole, but the standard deviation is high; lots of geniuses and lots of not-so-smart people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2013

There are clearly some angry, scorned and vindictive mothers writing reviews on here...Pelham school do not and will NEVER warrant a 1 ONE star rating....I was born and raised here..educated as well. Compared to MANY of my friends who grew up in other westchester towns the way Pelhams school system is run and the quality of most of the teachers FAR surpasses them. I got a great foundation from prospect hill and it continued through PMS and PMHS, that took me to my undergrad, masters, and now MD. It is def an expensive place to live and I will say the down town compared to scarsdale, bronxville, or rye cannot be comapred..but we do have a SLIGHTLY lower average sale price and tax price then they do.


Posted October 28, 2013

Amazing Programs. So many Clubs, Activities, and sports programs such as Lacrosse,Tennis,Track&Field,Swimming,Golf,Volleyball,Baseball,Softball,Soccer (Just to name a few.) Guidance has been very helpful during my journey at PMHS, they are very kind and knowledgable to the students are really care about them.The teachers also really care for students and stay after school for academy periods which last about 20 minutes to help students and answer any questions they may have.They also have programs such a BOCES, which allows students to go to the Valhalla campus and learn a certain career such as cosmetology,EMT,Protective Services, Graphic and Design, T.V and production as well as fashion design, which can help the student be able to obtain a career after high school. overall just a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2013

We've lived in Pelham for 30 years. I finally had to put my daughter in the high school. We were very excited about his new school. It was recently renovated and looked very nice on the surface. They spent hundreds of thousands of dollars on new television monitors. So we felt our child was in good hands. My child has special needs as well as the reviewer below. I have to agree that they do rush them off the program . In our case the first week it was mentioned tobe taken off of The learning disability list. The unfortunate consequence was that his disability did not allow her the safety net for the regents Exam where a lot of support academically was required and not provided . In addition this information was not provided. you're told that coming off of learning disability does not lose services, not mentioning the needed safety nets. If she had been not taken off of the learning disability list unnecessarily She would not have failed. The budget cuts also affect the sports programs so the tryouts indoors for certain positions that can't be effective and cut great athletes out of sports . Therefore they lose confidence and they lose potential for developing in that sport.


Posted August 13, 2013

Well this school is completely run by tight budget deficiencies and claims to handle them well. the sports programs are completely destructive. If a child has a chance at a scholarship in a sport and is doing well he has a giant chance of being cut from the programs. Have you ever heard of an indoor try out for an outfielder. I won MVP with Senior Babe Ruth yet I was cut from the team. It was shocking and now I have no chance of scholarship to college or maybe not even able to play. I came in from a very well known school for kids with dyslexia and ADHD and the first week of school they told my parents that I no longer needed services. Someone like me with a chance for a career , there isn't much support for LD. they have a small classroom of kids asking for help at the same time with two teachers available. Most of the time they don't even know the answers, It's called resource room and it's fairly useless but looks like they have a place for LD kids.The other detriment to their desire to cut the budget and throw you off of being labeled LD is that you know longer have a safety net for their regents exams. When you deserve the safety nets no longer have one you fail the class .
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2013

Pelham Memorial High School is a great school for such a small community, with excellent opportunities for students to enroll in various AP, SUPA, and SUNY level classes to get ahead for college. The guidance department is knowledgable and helpful, and the foreign language opportunities are excellent with well-qualified teachers. Numerous extra curricular opportunities are available to students, and it is very easy to start a custom club. The teachers are supportive and highly qualified in their fields, and are almost always willing to spend extra time working with students and accommodate schedules. The principal is incredibly accessible, caring, well-informed, and open to student involvement and student ideas. All in all a great school that help me get into a great university, could never imagine having gone anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2012

Pelham Memorial High School is a good public school in Westchester. Teacher's are of good caliber and administration is capable.


Posted January 24, 2006

good school, good teachers, good parent involvment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 5, 2005

very good school, parent involvement is high, limited sports programs due to every year a budget must be passed to keep programs
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 29, 2004

I recently transferred to Pelham Memorial High School and think it's one of the best schools in the country- way up there with the other top notch Westchester publics. Teachers are accessible, friendly, and truly create bonds with the students, while covering the material and helping the students accelerate on APs, Regents, and other tests. Parents and students, too, are very active in the community and have good relationships with almost everyone involved in the school district. Pelham schools often gets neglected (the town being so small), but people should really take into consideration the quality of the academic and social scene in the schools.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

189 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
57%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

204 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

20 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

242 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

213 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

179 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Students87%
Students with disabilities89%
General population86%

Earth Science

All Students75%
Students with disabilities71%
General population78%

English

All Students95%
Students with disabilities74%
General population98%

Geometry

All Students99%
Students with disabilities100%
General population99%

Global History and Geography

All Students88%
Students with disabilities63%
General population93%

Integrated Algebra

All Students86%
Students with disabilities69%
General population92%

Living Environment

All Students97%
Students with disabilities87%
General population99%

Physics

All Students77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students97%
Students with disabilities81%
General population99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 48%
Hispanic 17% 23%
Black 7% 19%
Asian 5% 9%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 0%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. JEANNINE CLARK

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

575 Colonial Ave
Pelham, NY 10803
Phone: (914) 738-8110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Thornton High School
Mount Vernon, NY




The Hallen School
New Rochelle, NY



P.S. 723
Bronx, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT