Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John C Birdlebough High School 5

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
There are a few things missing from this site. JCB offers at least 19 college level classes for the students to choose from. There may be more. My 15 year old is already taking 2 of them. The honors classes begin in middle school with at least 4 high school credit classes available in 8th grade. Music, Arts & Sports are all available in and out of classes: Jazz band, drum line, drama cub, marching band, art club, French club, Spanish club and a wide variety of sports teams. There are other academic clubs and specific interest clubs as well. When I read negative comments about the school I'm shocked by how little the commenters seem to actually know about the school. The teachers, staff and administrators I have met and spoken with are all excited and enthusiastic educators. They clearly have the students' best interests in mind even when the students themselves don't.

John C Birdlebough High School 5

Posted July 01, 2011
- a student
The staff at JCB couldn't be better they are all around GREAT people. I graduated class of 2009 and I'm now attending nursing school. They pushed me and pushed me to succeed. Patrick Fitch the assistant principal is a great guy and does a fantastic job of keeping the kids in the right path. The sports are great, the nurse is a sweetheart. I'd recommend this school for everyone.


John C Birdlebough High School 5

Posted May 02, 2011
- a student
The teaching staff is great, low class size and the leadership program is unbelievable along with the sports!

John C Birdlebough High School 4

Posted April 08, 2011
- a community member
This school is a great example of educational system that has teachers who care, are extremely positive and the administrative staff is exception. Always willing to learn and grow for the betterment of the students.

John C Birdlebough High School 4

Posted April 07, 2011
- a student
I graduated in 2007 and am getting ready to graduate from a private 4 year school in May. I will continue with my masters and possibly law school. I had been in the Phoenix School District K-12 and always disliked the fact that the school was so small. Now, I greatly appreciate the small class sizes and readiness for help from the teachers. The school isn't the most popular athletically but the winterguard, colorguard, and softball programs are all great. Oswego County, injunction with John C. Birdlebough has a great BOCES program for individuals who would be better at learning a specific trade. The New Vision program through BOCES is great for students who know before college, what program they would like study. In all, Phoenix could be better, but that also requires involved parents in the community...so if you want the school to be better, attend board and PTA meetings.


John C Birdlebough High School 1

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
This school is a poor example of what educating our children should be. The teaching staff is very lackadaisical and show little interest in the development of there students. The acceptable to unacceptable teaching staff is 1 in 10 at best. This school is a prime example of a district needing the dead wood to be cut. My advise to anyone stuck in this district is to have your children privately schooled.

John C Birdlebough High School 4

Posted June 27, 2009
- a student
I just graduated from this school, my graduating class consisted of a little over 200 kids. This is the biggest phoenix has ever had. The high school struggles with some sports but the varsity softball program has risen to new heights over the years. The 2009 year marked a great accomplishment as the Varsity Softball team made it all the way to sectional 3 finals but unfortunately lost in the end. You cant get that far by not being good. The school has the potential to achieve higher. It's a small town setting and the kids that enter the school system are very tight-knit. I think it was a great surrounding to grow up in and also enjoyed my time at the school. If you like small towns and want your child to grow up in a tight community that cares about everyone involved this is the place for you!

John C Birdlebough High School 3

Posted November 29, 2005
- a student
The Phoenix high school's academics are mediocore, but are definitely getting better. Most of the teachers care care strongly about the students, and those that don't are decreasing in number. There are not many option for gifted students, which is definitely a disadvantage of this school. However, options for college credit and AP courses have been slowly increasing in number over the past couple of years. The school has a very strong music program and they are quite well recognized. But, this is taking away from the sports programs. The sports programs in Phoenix struggle every year just to get enough players, and it is rare to have one team with a winning season. The athletics are awful, so if you are looking for a sports powerhouse, I would definitely not choose Phoenix. But academic-wise, it is decent and getting better.


John C Birdlebough High School 4

Posted March 23, 2005
- a student
I graduated from Phoenix. This is a very good school district. It has good academic, art, and sports programs. The teachers are great and your graduation class is only 100 students or so.

John C Birdlebough High School 2

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
I feel that JCB High School lets the underdogs slip through the cracks. If you aren't popular and athletic you may as well not be there. My son has dropped out of ninth grade due to uninterested faculty members. No one offered to help him get through a really hard time in his life personally or academically.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John C Birdlebough High School
552 Main Street, Phoenix, NY  13135
(315) 695-1631
Last modified John C Birdlebough High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John C Birdlebough High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top