Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pleasantville Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Pleasantville Middle School is one of the very best in Westchester. Excellent teachers and staff. Beautiful environment. Close knit community. Great preparation for high school and beyond.

Pleasantville Middle School 4

Posted July 15, 2012
- a parent
I feel Pleasantville school district is wonderful with the exception of the Middle school leadership. They need a new principal that has leadership skills, compassion and manners.


Pleasantville Middle School 5

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
The principal, Ms. Ossowski, and the guidance counselor, Ms. Brandenberg, are outstanding. They have made significant efforts to accommodate my overachieving son. While there are limits to what can be done in a public school system, I think that this one is among the best that one can hope for as regards the attentiveness of its leaders. There are also some really excellent teachers in the school. So far, I have not found any to be inadequate. Overall, a very good choice.

Pleasantville Middle School 1

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
This is a good school if your child is an overachiever. It's a good school if your child needs special services. It's not a good school if your child is average, and has any kind of maturity issues. The teachers and the adminstration adopt a 'circle the wagons' defensive mode any time you try to voice a concern. Ask one question and they will try and shame you as a 'helicopter parent'. 'It's the child's responsibility', they repeat. Which is fine, but again, if the child were mature enough to recognize their issues, the parent wouldn't need to approach the school in the first place. I think they resent any kind of parent inquiry because they fear the parent might have a good point, there might be mistakes or inadequacies on the part of the staff, and they don't want to hear it. So they 'admit nothing, deny everything'.

Pleasantville Middle School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
We love Pleasantville Middle School because we have great teachers and staff who work hard and many of them year after year take time away to escort our children on wonderful overnight trips in the 7th and 8th grade. We appreciate that and know that we are lucky to still have these programs in place.


Pleasantville Middle School 4

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I think the school is run by alot of dedicated professionals, and of course, there are a few that excel, and a few that just do not make the grade! Overall, the transition from elementary to middle school was fantastic!

Pleasantville Middle School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Our family has had nothing but positive experiences at both Bedford Road School and Pleasantville Middle School. I feel the teachers and the administrative staff do an excellent job balancing educating our children, maintaining a safe enviornment and preparing the students to move on to the next level. After having 2 children, now in 6th and 8th grade, we are absolutely sure that we made the right choice in choosing to send our children through the Pleasantville School District.

Pleasantville Middle School 4

Posted July 19, 2007
- a student
No I disagree with the reviews read. I believe that the teachers are great. Lessons are tought in great detail, in which students can understand. The science department is fantastic!!! The students get an oppurtunity to fully understand the meaning of science! I would recommend PMS to any parent!


Pleasantville Middle School 3

Posted December 29, 2006
- a parent
Pleasantville Middle School should make a larger effort to help navigate its students through the transition from elementary to high school. There are too many students coming into high school unprepared to study without basic skills of writing and homework discipline in place.

Pleasantville Middle School 2

Posted December 16, 2006
- a parent
This might be among the worst run schools in Westchester County. The teachers are a mixed group, with many just going through the paces.

Nearby schools

Pleasantville Middle School
40 Romer Avenue, Pleasantville, NY  10570
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (914) 741-1450
Last modified Pleasantville Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top