Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Corpus Christi School

Private | PK-8 | 330 students

Corpus Christi-Holy Rosary School is best known for its robust academics.
 
 

 

Living in Port Chester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $470,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

This is the first year for my kids in the K and PK3 and they love the school. I am so happy with the school as a parent . We love CCHRS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

I feel like this school should prepare me for high school. A class that just graduated is very confused about a lot of things. I think that they shouldnt treat the other students like they are children. And they shouldnt put too much pressure on us. The testing system is horrible. We learn someting one day then the next day we have a test. That doesnt even give a student enough time to go over the lesson if they didnt understand it. I think they learn everything too fast and for the kids that are slow, they dont do anything. I dont recomend this school at all. I honestly think public school will be better . Its less money and you have more extra things too do.


Posted July 17, 2013

I have recently graduated from CC-HRS and it was one of the best schools I've ever been too! Although the girls in my class didn't appreciate my friendship, I made friends with the 7th graders of 2013. My friends in that class are amazing and are the best friends I've ever had! The teachers are challenging and help students if needed. Every month, the priests and sisters plan masses so the students can pray and be with The Lord. The students have their own laptop! The teachers use the laptops to help students understand the lesson by assigning an academic website so the students can learn and have fun! Next year, the school has new programs such as Chess Club, Drama Club, Track and Field, and cheerleading! The school also has programs like soccer, basketball, and football. Parents, I recommend you to send your child to this school. :-) - Submitted by student


Posted April 22, 2013

As far as resources, compared to the local public schools, this school has good technology available for the students which is important to me. As far as the teachers, I am not sure if they are appropriate. This is my daughter's first year in the kindergarten and I am highly disappointed by her teacher and the staff at the front desk office. I paid for a fee that I owed for the books, and received notices that I owed money twice. From what my daughter has repeated from her the mouth of her teacher, I have the impression that her teacher can be inappropriate. She told my daughter that if she did not behave, she was going to phone the classmate's parents and tell them my daughter's party was canceled two days before her birthday party. I felt that this comment was out of line. Then my daughter told me that one of the other girls called her "fat" and the teacher never addressed. I am really considering placing her in the public schools if the other teachers are just as inappropriate. Why am I paying thousands of dollars for a teacher to embarrass my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I have been consistently pleased to find that Corpus Christi-Holy Rosary School is serving my three children so well. The school has state of the art technology in every grade and in the upper grades, each child has a laptop on their desk. The building and grounds are beautiful, the faculty is highly-skilled and it is obvious how much they are invested in the success of each student. The Salesian atmosphere in the school makes parents and children feel like they are family. Each day starts with an "assembly" where prayer, song and positivity are what the kids begin their school day with. The technology lab is top notch with every bell and whistle imaginable. Language, Music, Art and "musical theater" is available to each child. I can say that my children and I truly love the school. It is so well worth the investment to have my children thriving in such a good school. I love the diversity of the student body, with children of every possible background working and growing harmoniously. I am very impressed that there is someone who is available to speak to parents in Spanish, Portuguese and other languages. Thumbs up to everyone who makes CCHRS a great place to be everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

I love this school so much. It is like a huge family and I feel so comfortable and happy walking into school in the morning!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2006

High Quality Academic Programs Availability of extracurricular activities High Level of Parent Involvment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

This school is great! It has fantastic teachers and wonderful kids! The academic programs are top of the line and have advanced math classes in grades 7-8! They have music class(with a music recital at the end of the year), a basketball team(which competes and wins many championchips), a softball team, and a cheerleading team! Many parents are involved in the school activites, for example, St. John Bosco Night, The Corpus Christi Carnival, Breakfast With Santa, and many more festivities that parents and kids can participate and help in! Corpus Christi School is a fantastic school to send your child to, grades Pre-K 3- 8!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 21%
White 26% 52%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sr. Lou Ann Fantauzza, FMA
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Municipal buses in most areas
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Madrinas Program
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Corpus Christi-Holy Rosary School is adminstered by the Salesian Sisters of Don Bosco. If you are not familiar with a "Salesian education", please come and visit us. You will see the difference in what our school offers. The family, faith-centered atmosphere of CC-HR benefits the student and their family by providing a second home for your child. Each boy and girl is known by name in our school, and we are invested in their personal and academic success.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
35
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
80

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cardinal Stepinac High School
School of the Holy Child
Port Chester High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

135 South Regent Street
Port Chester, NY 10573
Website: Click here
Phone: (914) 937-4407

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Park Avenue School
Port Chester, NY



Thomas A Edison School
Port Chester, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT