Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boyle Road Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 537 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2011

I think Boyle Road is a great school. I have 2 kids that attend there and I will say we are all very happy. They geniunely enjoying going to school. I am a working Mom and I love that if I have any quesitons or concerns the teachers and the Principal are quick to answer my questions. Also I love that the principal knows every student and parent. When I do attend school events she is very personalable and welcomes every family by names. That shows how much pride she has in our school and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

Very welcoming atmosphere. Great teachers. Children always placed first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Nothing but great things to say about Boyle Road School!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

This is a great school. Teachers work so hard for all of the students. Wonderful activities for students. Many ways for parents to get involved!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

As a parent I'm very happy with the school. People are concerned about youth in a principal but I have the opposite reaction. I think youth often brings comfort and experience with the latest technology and educational approaches. My daughters teacher often took a constructivist approach to learning and guided my child to the answers in a systematic way. As for prior postings, my child's entire experience has been both the whole word method as well as the phonemic approach to reading. Emphasis was placed on diagraphs in early grades as well as balanced literacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Good school. Improving lot in last few years. Hope this improvent will continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

Boyle Road Elementary School is an outstanding place for children to learn and grow. They continue to provide a solid educational foundation with fun and exciting experiences. In addition to the wonderful faculty and staff, the strong PTA only supports this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

I have had 3 children go through Boyle Road Elementary School. I am more then satisfied with the education my children have recieved and equally as satisied with the reading program. As far as the Principal is concerned. To say she is inexperienced is absolutely ludicrous. Yes the Principal is young but she is more then qualified to hold the office she does. She does an excellent job with children, parents, staff and administration. She has an open door policy and is always available. Before stating that someone is 'inexperienced' I strongly suggest checking their qualifications. Believe me her's are more then satisfactory I know this because I did take the time to do the research and I can assure you Boyle Road is Lucky to have her. To get back to the reading program , It is a balanced approach and Phonics is an integral part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

my child is in third grade and has gone hear since first grade, from my experience so far it is a good school, the teachers keep you informed of student progress/problems and their are lots of activites to get involed in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 74% 48%
Hispanic 1 20% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Black 1 1% 19%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 223%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

424 Boyle Rd
Port Jefferson Sta, NY 11776
Phone: (631) 474-8140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Terryville Road School
Port Jefferson Sta, NY


Clinton Avenue School
Port Jefferson Sta, NY




North Shore Christian School
Port Jefferson Station, NY


Arrowhead Elementary School
East Setauket, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT