Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Comsewogue High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1309 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 25, 2013

The recent poster is exactly correct. This is a district that embraces athletics and does not support education. The expectations and standards are far below other districts beginning in Kindergarten. (ex. Sachem required twice as many sight words for Kindergarten students to know by the end of the year than our district). My 3rd grader was told he can't take out 4th grade level books even though he can read them because they have to be reserved for the 4th graders. There was no advocacy or alternative solutions explored to meet the needs of my "gifted" child on any level. The superintendent.....my personal experience has been negative. When I raised my hand at a meeting to ask a question (sat in front row in plain sight), he did not care to take my question, nor did he respond to my written question that I submitted. He is a "rock star" as people say for the "struggling children." What about the children that are on the opposite end of that spectrum? Some of the teachers here should be fired for their lack of professionalism. They collect a paycheck, do the minimum, and call it a day. A true shame. Glad to have moved up and onward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

If your child is an athlete is interested in sports then Comsewogue is wonderful. If you want more academic or other extra curricular opportunities then do not come here. There is also an issue with children being bullied and very little being done about it. The superintendent, Dr. Rella, is wonderful though. Very caring and interested in the students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

Any school in a district with Superintendent Joe Rella is a blessed school. 2 kids graduated from Comsewogue and thrived! Lots of extracurricular clubs, sports, activities to keep the kids involved and interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

This school needs to get its facts together. The students need to learn that the ghetto is not in school and these same skip class everyday. Most students are not for school at all and there are many troublemakers. Port Jefferson Station is quickly going downhill as well. Im moving out before my town turns into another Brentwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

This school won the Siemens, Intel competition, which by the way is national. This school has been undefeated in Soccer for several seasons. This school is far less "warlike" than Longwood, trust me, former student (4th - 9th). This school received an award from DC commending our anti-bullying environment, only a select few over the country received this award. This school has an amazing AP program where the teachers not only "diagnose but treat" students' problems in areas such as writing, speed, strategy, depth, and much more. The only reason that this school seems to be ranked lower in test scores... let's face it, is because of the ethnicity. Ward Melville, which is ranked higher is so good only because it is near Stony Brook University where 60% + of the students are of some Asian descent... Since they have received high test scores for that school it has created a skew of results that makes Ward Mel. seem as if they have better teachers/ administration/ programs. This school has pretty much pulled me out of an abyss. Last year I was to the point of crying when I got my AP World History essay exam scores back (class tests not AP) in Longwood..Like I said, 'diagnose and treat.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2013

This school is terrific. For one, AP World. My son used to go to Longwood where the AP World course is split into two years, in CHS they compress it into one year. Last year he became upset because of the poor marks he was receiving from his CCOT and C/C essays which averaged to be 67% for his final marks, the Longwood teacher managed somehow to get him to get a final grade of 90 in the class for the overall GPA. The CHS teacher actually sat down with my kid, early in the school year (Oct.) helped him with his AP essay writings, allowing him to rewrite and encouraged him, contrast to the last years teacher who basically piled his students up with essays in class with little experience of writing them in the last month of school. Last year my son basically wanted to drop APWH and take global and actually looked forward to moving. He also admitted that in the first week of the year there had already been 3 fights between kids in the cafe, some of the others had been bloody gruesome fights. In CHS, he has yet to see one and it's almost February. The principals are also great, they keep in touch with the community by texting students who subscribe and updating parents frequently
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

I'm a current Junior at Comsewogue and I just read the previous reviews and I would like to set some things straight. The school first of all, has excellent security guards, excellent teachers that go above and beyond for the benefit of the students, many challenging courses for the students that are able to be challenged. As for the issue with students fighting, and bullying, the school has stepped up in its prevention methods towards bullying. The school has won a national award for its anti-bullying program, so I would say that this school is fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

i just transferred back into the high school, I'm a junior. everyone has been so nice and accepting of me since i arrived in the beginning of the year. I'm loving every second, and can't wait to go back tomorrow. the faculty and my peers are all extremely nice. ^^
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

Comseowgue Highschool is a good school. I am a junior there and it has its ups and downs. They just recently renewed the entire school.On the other hand the teachers are not so good. Some of them are not explaining things well which cause alot of kids to fail. So overall its not the greatest.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

Its the worst school ever. Its more focused on its sports than it is on education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2007

i enjoyed all 4 years at Comsewogue. Like any school there are average teachers and great teachers. I dont recall any terrible teachers. i have had a good amount of teachers that have helped me improve my working ethic aslong as help me grow into the person i am today. i felt that the teachers did give a damn about their students and wanted them to excel to the best of their abilty. I also played four years of football. The sport programs are filled with coaches who know there stuff. They not only know how to coach the sport but know how to build important qualities in their players. Eventhough it was sad to see Dr. Rella leave the Principle spot. Mrs reph is an amazing replacement. Any areas that need fixing she is all over it. comsewogue is headed on the right path.....
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2007

I am alumni to comsewogue high school - I loved every 4 years of it. Great faculty and programs! mr. Karwoski's the man!


Posted July 10, 2007

i go to comsewogue hs and i experience it every day theres not fights every day its a great school that if u choose to do well in u will and there are some classes that are jokes but on the other hand there are great teachers that will never be forgotten and will have taught many students life lessons and wil aid them in college as well its true the clubs arent great but the sports are excellent with great coaches who care soo much its unbelievable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2006

i think its a great school. many academic and athletic programs
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 7, 2005

comsewogue high school is a school that once was a very good school but is slowly deteriorating...fights are starting to happen every day and teachers don't care...athletics is good and so is academics but the students are starting to become bad
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 6, 2005

I tend to agree with the first 3 ratings. My eldest child is an honor student and excells, but the stories she tells about what goes on in school is enough to make the hair on my neck stand up. My middle child is the one cutting out, and failing. It is nearly impossible to get teachers to call home. Frankly, I don't really get the feeling that any of them give a damn! Yes sports are a very high priority in this district. I think the budget money should be spread around more evenly. More clubs and sctivities would be great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2004

Honestly this school is a joke. There is no discipline and cooperation. This school doesn't even offer great courses for students Students are not able to excel with such little resources. The teachers are not even great either. The biggest thing this school is proud of is their sports. They spend their budget on sports instead of getting better resources for students such as better more distinctive clubs rather than dance club. Come on seriously dance club. They don't have any distinctive clubs like DECCA. I'm a student at Comsewogue taking the most advanced classes as possible and I don;t even feel challenged that's why I take classes at Stony Brook and I get involved in clubs and activities outside of our school since our school does not offer great clubs and activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2004

Students in this school come and go as they please. Security guards are a joke. At any time during the school day students can be observed leaving the property or congregating in the parking lots or surrounding wooded areas. Smoking, drinking and 'other' methods of partying are rampant. The method of reporting to parents is also a joke. A recorded message is sent via phone if a student is reported cutting a class during the day. Teachers do not follow up even after numerous (15 or more) cuts. They do not feel the need to speak with parents regarding a child's progress. They do not wish to be involved with assuring success. They feel it is 'not their responsibility'. Guidance counselors return phone calls sometimes. At least three calls are needed for a response; only to be informed that, 'You need to speak with someone else.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2004

This school has a higher drop out rate than what the official documents state. Students are allowed to cut classes consistently and there is no control over them. Walking the halls is a normal thing for most students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I am very happy with the school district. Excellent sports programs as well as academics. Both my children have been honor students since elementary. It doesn't get better than that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

25 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
83%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

170 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students61%
Female62%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities20%
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Not migrant61%

Chemistry

All Students75%
Female75%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities30%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant75%

Earth Science

All Students86%
Female79%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities83%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%

English

All Students81%
Female86%
Male77%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities45%
General population88%
English language learners18%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%

Geometry

All Students70%
Female70%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities44%
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%

Global History and Geography

All Students83%
Female83%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities55%
General population90%
English language learners39%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%

Integrated Algebra

All Students79%
Female79%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities54%
General population86%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%

Living Environment

All Students88%
Female87%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities68%
General population93%
English language learners48%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%

Physics

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant85%

U.S. History and Government

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities74%
General population91%
English language learners37%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 76% 48%
Hispanic 1 18% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
Black 1 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 220%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 80%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

565 Bicycle Path
Port Jefferson Sta, NY 11776
Phone: (631) 474-8182

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mount Sinai High School
Mount Sinai, NY




Miller Place High School
Miller Place, NY


Centereach High School
Centereach, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT