Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Poughkeepsie Day School

Private | PK-12 | 291 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Poughkeepsie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2011

Our two kids enrolled at PDS in 9th and 6th grade respectively. We're in our second year now, our only regret is we didn't discover PDS earlier. The kids are thriving, the faculty are wonderful, the culture and values of the school are nurturing. PDS is a well-kept secret. Famlies that want a first rate progressive education for their kids should definitely check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

After I attended the information session, I knew I would feel guilty sending my child to any other school. Sensitive and caring teachers who go out of their way to assist students. There is no "grade envy" because there are no grades. Each teacher prepares a written narrative twice per year about each child's progress. This about learning and learning to love learning. Music, drama, art, Spanish all begin in the lower school. More frequent physical education classes than in the public schools. This is a community of learners dedicated to quality education. The After School Program is wonderful and there is no charge for before school care. The Food Program is amazing - fresh, local foods and always a vegetarian entre. No junk food! Yes, PDS is is expensive but worth it. And if qualified, a family may receive financial aid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

My two children have attended Poughkeepsie Day School since pre-K and are currently going into 3rd and 5th grade. I placed them into PDS because I wanted them to learn how to think independently and nurture a love of learning. I have not been disappointed. My children love each and every day of school. It's summer and they are counting down each day until school starts. Excellent teachers offering a challenging education and wonderful administrative and parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

I have a child in the lower school. He has truly blossomed in the 2 years that he has attended. I truly believe the caring teachers, wonderful resources, and low student to teacher ratio helped foster his love of school and learning. To those contemplating sending their children to this school, take a visit. Notice all the smiling faces walking through the halls, and engaged children in the classroom. That sold me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

A school true to its mission, challenging every student academically, creatively, while preparing them for the future of critical thinking!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

My two children went through the lower school and are both now in the middle school. I feel lucky every day to be part of the PDS community. I love how the children are not pressured to do well for the teacher, but instead to strive to reach a goal for him/herself. Having said this, the teachers share in the joy and pride of their students' many accomplishments. Kids are actively engaged as learners in each class and every grade. I am in awe of how the PDS administrators and teachers stick to the wonderful progressive philosophy, while creating an exciting and challenging academic program. PDS students are confident, incredibly smart, sensitive, creative, thinking people who know how to solve problems independently and in groups. Teachers are caring, highly intelligent and inspired. A sense of respect reigns throughout PDS. A very special school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

We decided to make the switch from our local and highly ranked public school to PDS after an amazing visit to the school . We have 2 children (Lower School and Middle School) and it is our 3rd year at PDS. I don't think I truly understood what my kids were missing in their education until they started PDS. My children are completely different learners and teachers and staff at PDS understand how to maximize the learning of every child in the class room. My son especially loves the music program, the cooperative PE program and challenging math problems. My daughter thrives with a rich humanities curriculum, early exposure to foreign language and hands on science. An excellent balanced curriculum. Coming from a European educational background myself, I am very pleased with the global and top notch education both my children get at PDS. A visit is a must!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I have never been happier or more enthused in my life, to wake up at an ungodly hour to go learn. When I read some of these negative reviews, I only wish those students and parents were better cut out for this school. Some people aren't exactly meant to be in a more academically advanced, progressive school and I believe this is what lead to their negative experiences. I've never been so respected, cherished, or listened to in my entire life. It's a horrid mistake to miss out on the community and upper school arts department. This school is well worth the money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2009

Poughkeepsie Day School has been great for my daughter, who is in 2nd grade and transferred in from another private school. She looks forward to going to school and has come to love math, which used to be a difficult subject for her. The teachers engage the children by making classwork interesting and relevant. The field trips are tied directly to the curriculum and build on a theme. So they re also learning about the world beyond the classroom walls. The art, music, and drama teachers are outstanding. There is a climate of mutual respect among students and teachers. Ethics are stressed. I have been active in the parent organization and made many good friends. I have gotten to know parents of older students who have told me that PDS has been life-changing for their kids. The high school reminds me of a small college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

I have been at PDS for three years now. And I love it. What I like most is that my teachers really care. At my old school I was just a number. At PDS I matter. I really like the choice of academics and the fact that I can get to do so many things like Model UN, be in the band and play sports. Best of all I have made some great friends with people I know I will keep forever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

I love the focus on the skills kids will need to be successful. The college guidance is top notch. It's small but it still has a strong range of choices for academics. Kids learn to be independent thinkers who actually care about the world. Both my children learned to love - absolutely love - science and art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2008

I cannot say enough good things about Poughkeepsie Day School. My children are getting an excellent education in all the academics and in values. The teachers are amazing and go well beyond to help every child. The program is very full and exciting. My children love to go to school everyday. I feel so lucky that they go to PDS and have the chance to do and try so many amazing things. The college prep program is very strong and the high school is like a college but in the best way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

I've been a student at PDS for almost 6 years now and I am still amazed at what an absolutely amazing school and community it is. PDS epitomizes the fantastic progressive school; it's academically excellent, it has an incredibly strong community and the teachers are approachable, nice excellent teachers, and all around good people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

PDS is more than a school. It is a community, a vital and brilliant one. It is close-knit and requires participation on the part of student and parent alike. To be a part of the community of PDS is to know the school and revere it for the unique place it is. My children have been there since Pre-K and are now in high school. I could not be happier with the fine young people they are becoming, in large part due to the school. They are carefully watched, encouraged but never lectured to. They are allowed to be self-directed learners. Not every kid can handle that--but they have learned to learn, and this will, I believe, set them up well for the very unstable future I see ahead for all of us. There are no locks on the lockers--because it is assumed no one will steal. Consequently, no one does!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

As a parent of two students at Poughkeepsie Day School, in the middle and upper schools, I could not be more pleased. My children are challenged, love going to school, have developed new passions and interests, and have wonderful relationships with their teachers and other students. They are doing very well academically and have much more intellectually challenging and interesting work than they did at the (very good) public high school they attended previously. Sending them to Poughkeepsie Day School is the best decision we have ever made for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

I love going to poughkeepsie day school because it is amazingly fun. It has small classes which allows more space for knowlodge. Yes, it may be exspensive, but belive me, it is worth it. It is very hands on, so you can not just learn about it, you can get up close and personal to whatever. I defintly suggest going there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

I am glad to see that finally some parents are speaking out loud. This is the worst school I have ever been in. I am also waiting for the school year to be over. Not worth the money. It has been a complete disappointment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

My son enrolled at PDS after attending a traditional prep school for three years. He is throughly enjoying the PDS experience. He is engaged in active learning. He comes home energized about his academic day. We were concerned about him being the new student, however the students and faculty at the school are so warm & welcoming he feels at home already! PDS- top notch academics,arts,social environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

I have attended PDS for years and am appauled at the way they run their school. Not only do they not administer classes properly, they do not live up to their standards. I have learned less this year than in the past. I was in love with this school and their philosophy, but it has changed for the worst.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2008

Poor communication on the part of the teachers and administration. Not academically challenging. Admin will talk an issue or problem to death rather than deal with it. Very disappointing. Not worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 52%
Asian 8% N/A
Black 8% 21%
Hispanic 4% 21%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Josie Holford
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian,Non-Denominational
Associations
  • NAIS,NYSAIS,NAIS
Fax number
  • (845) 462-7602

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

260 Boardman Road
Poughkeepsie, NY 12603
Website: Click here
Phone: (845) 462-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Christian Academy
Poughkeepsie, NY





Hagan School
Poughkeepsie, NY


Spackenkill High School
Poughkeepsie, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT