Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
291 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Poughkeepsie Day School 3

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
I think parents need to understand what Poughkeepsie Day School does not offer when deciding to enroll their children here. No AP Courses--they do offer 'Advanced Topics" courses but they are not Advanced Placement courses. Students can take the AP exam at the end of the year, but the curriculum is not the same. No grades! PDS does not offer letter (A, B. C) or numerical grades. They believe that evaluating a student's progress through "narrative paragraphs" is more meaningful. This is a problem with applying to colleges obviously. 99% of schools in the United States offer a more traditional grading system and although it may provide different benefits to your child, the real question is what the colleges will think. PDS has many very intelligent international students who achieve 700+ on the SAT exam...This helps them in the college application process immensely but if your child has scores of the national average (500 CR, Math) then you should think long and hard about attending school here. Many international students support this school financially, but few understood the no grade policy and no AP courses. Prospective Parent

Poughkeepsie Day School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. My children have attended both public and private schools and this is by far the best school. The teachers are engaged and caring. The curriculum is relevant and challenging. The students are helpful to each other and it is not cool to be a bully or elite. The sports are team oriented and everyone gets to participate. Arts and music are encouraged and very supported. The college guidance is excellent and the students et into very good schools. The school helps each student find their strengths and work on areas they need to improve upon. This is a special place.


Poughkeepsie Day School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Our two kids enrolled at PDS in 9th and 6th grade respectively. We're in our second year now, our only regret is we didn't discover PDS earlier. The kids are thriving, the faculty are wonderful, the culture and values of the school are nurturing. PDS is a well-kept secret. Famlies that want a first rate progressive education for their kids should definitely check it out.

Poughkeepsie Day School 5

Posted March 04, 2011
- a parent
After I attended the information session, I knew I would feel guilty sending my child to any other school. Sensitive and caring teachers who go out of their way to assist students. There is no "grade envy" because there are no grades. Each teacher prepares a written narrative twice per year about each child's progress. This about learning and learning to love learning. Music, drama, art, Spanish all begin in the lower school. More frequent physical education classes than in the public schools. This is a community of learners dedicated to quality education. The After School Program is wonderful and there is no charge for before school care. The Food Program is amazing - fresh, local foods and always a vegetarian entre. No junk food! Yes, PDS is is expensive but worth it. And if qualified, a family may receive financial aid.

Poughkeepsie Day School 5

Posted August 27, 2010
- a parent
My two children have attended Poughkeepsie Day School since pre-K and are currently going into 3rd and 5th grade. I placed them into PDS because I wanted them to learn how to think independently and nurture a love of learning. I have not been disappointed. My children love each and every day of school. It's summer and they are counting down each day until school starts. Excellent teachers offering a challenging education and wonderful administrative and parent community.


Poughkeepsie Day School 5

Posted June 06, 2010
- a parent
I have a child in the lower school. He has truly blossomed in the 2 years that he has attended. I truly believe the caring teachers, wonderful resources, and low student to teacher ratio helped foster his love of school and learning. To those contemplating sending their children to this school, take a visit. Notice all the smiling faces walking through the halls, and engaged children in the classroom. That sold me.

Poughkeepsie Day School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
A school true to its mission, challenging every student academically, creatively, while preparing them for the future of critical thinking!

Poughkeepsie Day School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
My two children went through the lower school and are both now in the middle school. I feel lucky every day to be part of the PDS community. I love how the children are not pressured to do well for the teacher, but instead to strive to reach a goal for him/herself. Having said this, the teachers share in the joy and pride of their students' many accomplishments. Kids are actively engaged as learners in each class and every grade. I am in awe of how the PDS administrators and teachers stick to the wonderful progressive philosophy, while creating an exciting and challenging academic program. PDS students are confident, incredibly smart, sensitive, creative, thinking people who know how to solve problems independently and in groups. Teachers are caring, highly intelligent and inspired. A sense of respect reigns throughout PDS. A very special school!


Poughkeepsie Day School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
We decided to make the switch from our local and highly ranked public school to PDS after an amazing visit to the school . We have 2 children (Lower School and Middle School) and it is our 3rd year at PDS. I don't think I truly understood what my kids were missing in their education until they started PDS. My children are completely different learners and teachers and staff at PDS understand how to maximize the learning of every child in the class room. My son especially loves the music program, the cooperative PE program and challenging math problems. My daughter thrives with a rich humanities curriculum, early exposure to foreign language and hands on science. An excellent balanced curriculum. Coming from a European educational background myself, I am very pleased with the global and top notch education both my children get at PDS. A visit is a must!

Poughkeepsie Day School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a student
I have never been happier or more enthused in my life, to wake up at an ungodly hour to go learn. When I read some of these negative reviews, I only wish those students and parents were better cut out for this school. Some people aren't exactly meant to be in a more academically advanced, progressive school and I believe this is what lead to their negative experiences. I've never been so respected, cherished, or listened to in my entire life. It's a horrid mistake to miss out on the community and upper school arts department. This school is well worth the money.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Poughkeepsie Day School
260 Boardman Road, Poughkeepsie, NY  12603
(845) 462-7600
Last modified Poughkeepsie Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Poughkeepsie Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top