Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pound Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 412 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

Good school. Teachers put in time/effort, doing their jobs well. Aides do more than than their job helping out with the overabundance of parent-run activities. Principal is involved--see him everyday at drop off and pick up and nearly all the special activities. Specials instructors are spectacular. Service providers could be better--my child says many times the speech instructor has the kids color while on the phone during their session. The OT specialist plays games instead of focusing on gross/fine motor skills as outlined in my child's IEP. Also this school takes all the special-ed kids in the district negatively impacting the school's performance on state tests. Is there such a thing as too much teacher involvement? Could be it's here--kids are pulled out of the classroom for a myriad of parent-run assemblies. I wish the test scores reflected the good education kids are getting here. The focus is on educating children not test-taking skills. There needs to be a better balance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

We have 3 children recently graduated from Pound Ridge Elementary school plus we are close friends with numerous neighborhood kids still there. A school is defined by the teachers that work there, and you will not find a more dedicated or experienced faculty than the teachers at PRES. It is true that standardized testing requirements have changed the nature of the curriculum, but all New York State schools are struggling to come to grips with the same issue and PRES is not alone in this problem. The teachers are responsive, the parent community is actively involved, and students of all learning levels are met with tailored learning regimens. Parents should feel fortunate to have their children attend PRES. Sadly, there are always a few individual situations in every school that do not match parent expectations to actual results. Our 3 children score in the 99th and 98th percentile in reading and math so I can assure you PRES has what it takes for those that are patient and work with their kids to get the most from a public school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

I write with sadness that our once amazing little school has deteriorated into a test-taking factory. Everything that made PRES the 5 star school you read about in posts dating back to 2010 and before are spot-on. All of the attributes they list are now gone. Like all public schools, PRES has fallen victim to NCLB and high stakes testing, which has forced more and more test prep. Beloved projects that kids did for years have been removed to make room for 'more rigorous curriculum'. The kids don't have much fun in class anymore, my kids complain they hate school now, something they never did before. But 3 hours worth of practice tests in 2 days will do that to a 9 year old. Leadership here is weak, morale is low. PRES is not the place it once was. Parents are treated as outsiders now, under the guise of improved security in the aftermath of Newtown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My daughter went to a small private school when we lived in the city and they did not know how to handle her reading needs. PRES is addressing that need and she is flourishing with her reading!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Have had 6 children in the Pound Ridge Elementary School and can say nothing but good things about the school. Each child's needs were different and each was given the individual attention necessary for his success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

My child attends PRES. She began there in kindergarten and is now in grade 5. Great school! All staff are caring, competent professionals. Teachers look at individual student needs and seek to provide consistent, high quality instruction. Personally, I don't think my child could be better served in any private or other public school. Truly excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

Both of my children attended PRES from Kindergarten through fifth grade. Both thrived in this wonderful nurturing school. The teachers were always professional, caring & responsive. My children were prepared for Middle & High School. My 11 year old now attends Fox Lane Middle & my 15 year old attends Fox Lane High School. So far so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

Both of my children attended Pound Ridge Elementary School and had a fabulous academic experience. They were given an opportunity to grow and develop at their own pace and always felt a part of the learning experience. They started in the school orchestra in elementary school and continued through high school, while still maintaining active participation in soccer, baseball and lacrosse and other extra-curricular activities. As a parent I was involved in the parent teacher organization as well as volunteering in the classroom for special projects and math games. I felt that PRES gave my children a good foundation for college and the socialization provided gave them an excellent start in life itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

A great little school in every way. Small classes with top dedicated caring teachers. All kids love going to school each day and mix of social/homework is perfect. After having had 3 kids go through PRES, I can honestly say that I could not have chosen a better place to raise my children. All of them have been happy and involved in after school activities and have gone or are going on to middle and high school with a great grounding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

My child attended kindergarten. The entire year of 2004-2005, the building was under complete reconstruction--only loose plastic sheets hung between the classrooms and rooms/wings of masonry, wood, and other dusty, fume-filled construction. A walk through the hall gave me headaches when I picked my child up from school. My child complained of headaches for weeks. I appealed to the PTA, which did nothing but cheerlead the district's decision to allow this unhealthy situation. To add to the insult, school homework assignments were rife with misspellings and grammatical errors, as were the teacher's letters home. This school has nice test scores, but everything else about our experience there was extremely disappointing. In spite of our high taxes, we are choosing private school for our other kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 86% 48%
Hispanic 1 8% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
Black 2 2% 19%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 26%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7 Pound Ridge Rd
Pound Ridge, NY 10576
Phone: (914) 764-8133

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT