Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
We have had 3 children attend the PRES - we could not be happier with their education experience.

Pound Ridge Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
Good school. Teachers put in time/effort, doing their jobs well. Aides do more than than their job helping out with the overabundance of parent-run activities. Principal is involved--see him everyday at drop off and pick up and nearly all the special activities. Specials instructors are spectacular. Service providers could be better--my child says many times the speech instructor has the kids color while on the phone during their session. The OT specialist plays games instead of focusing on gross/fine motor skills as outlined in my child's IEP. Also this school takes all the special-ed kids in the district negatively impacting the school's performance on state tests. Is there such a thing as too much teacher involvement? Could be it's here--kids are pulled out of the classroom for a myriad of parent-run assemblies. I wish the test scores reflected the good education kids are getting here. The focus is on educating children not test-taking skills. There needs to be a better balance.


Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
We have 3 children recently graduated from Pound Ridge Elementary school plus we are close friends with numerous neighborhood kids still there. A school is defined by the teachers that work there, and you will not find a more dedicated or experienced faculty than the teachers at PRES. It is true that standardized testing requirements have changed the nature of the curriculum, but all New York State schools are struggling to come to grips with the same issue and PRES is not alone in this problem. The teachers are responsive, the parent community is actively involved, and students of all learning levels are met with tailored learning regimens. Parents should feel fortunate to have their children attend PRES. Sadly, there are always a few individual situations in every school that do not match parent expectations to actual results. Our 3 children score in the 99th and 98th percentile in reading and math so I can assure you PRES has what it takes for those that are patient and work with their kids to get the most from a public school education.

Pound Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
I write with sadness that our once amazing little school has deteriorated into a test-taking factory. Everything that made PRES the 5 star school you read about in posts dating back to 2010 and before are spot-on. All of the attributes they list are now gone. Like all public schools, PRES has fallen victim to NCLB and high stakes testing, which has forced more and more test prep. Beloved projects that kids did for years have been removed to make room for 'more rigorous curriculum'. The kids don't have much fun in class anymore, my kids complain they hate school now, something they never did before. But 3 hours worth of practice tests in 2 days will do that to a 9 year old. Leadership here is weak, morale is low. PRES is not the place it once was. Parents are treated as outsiders now, under the guise of improved security in the aftermath of Newtown.

Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
My daughter went to a small private school when we lived in the city and they did not know how to handle her reading needs. PRES is addressing that need and she is flourishing with her reading!


Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
Have had 6 children in the Pound Ridge Elementary School and can say nothing but good things about the school. Each child's needs were different and each was given the individual attention necessary for his success.

Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
My child attends PRES. She began there in kindergarten and is now in grade 5. Great school! All staff are caring, competent professionals. Teachers look at individual student needs and seek to provide consistent, high quality instruction. Personally, I don't think my child could be better served in any private or other public school. Truly excellent school!

Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2009
- a parent
Both of my children attended PRES from Kindergarten through fifth grade. Both thrived in this wonderful nurturing school. The teachers were always professional, caring & responsive. My children were prepared for Middle & High School. My 11 year old now attends Fox Lane Middle & my 15 year old attends Fox Lane High School. So far so good.


Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pound Ridge Elementary School
7 Pound Ridge Road, Pound Ridge, NY  10576
(914) 764-8133
Last modified Pound Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pound Ridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top