Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2016
- a parent
Pound Ridge Elementary exemplifies all that an elementary school should be. All three of our children (who are all different learners) have found success in learning in a safe, comfortable environment. Nothing but positive experiences from this school. We are more than satisfied with all that was provided for our children. We're lucky to have this little jewel of a public school in our town!

Pound Ridge Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Delesia, Ms. Wilson, Ms. Mascaro, Ms. Mahoney are all great teachers at PRES. I'm very proud to say my daughter goes to PRES and think they are doing a great job in all areas.


Pound Ridge Elementary School 2

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
I'm completely unimpressed and have resorted to tutors to supplement my (average) child's education. It feels as though classes run at the pace of the slowest child. For example, in 3rd grade the kids only made it through 2 of the 6 units in the ELA Journeys program. Teacher quality is very hit/miss. Parents are extremely pushy and always in the school disrupting/distracting with their pet projects. There is a very anti-parent attitude amongst the administration--pick up was changed so that parents stand outside (regardless of weather). Security is so high it's more a prison with simple common sense being left far behind. For example, if volunteering you must sign out, walk all the way around the school to pick up then walk all the way back around to sign in again and get back to your volunteer work. There is a revolving door of Principals--2015 sees the 3rd one in 5 years. Anti-bully program is overkill on the good kids and ignored then not enforced on the problem kids.

Pound Ridge Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
No spelling words come home. No vocabulary either words. Very minimal cursive in 3rd grade that could be done at home but isn't.

Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
We have had 3 children attend the PRES - we could not be happier with their education experience.


Pound Ridge Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
Good school. Teachers put in time/effort, doing their jobs well. Aides do more than than their job helping out with the overabundance of parent-run activities. Principal is involved--see him everyday at drop off and pick up and nearly all the special activities. Specials instructors are spectacular. Service providers could be better--my child says many times the speech instructor has the kids color while on the phone during their session. The OT specialist plays games instead of focusing on gross/fine motor skills as outlined in my child's IEP. Also this school takes all the special-ed kids in the district negatively impacting the school's performance on state tests. Is there such a thing as too much teacher involvement? Could be it's here--kids are pulled out of the classroom for a myriad of parent-run assemblies. I wish the test scores reflected the good education kids are getting here. The focus is on educating children not test-taking skills. There needs to be a better balance.

Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
We have 3 children recently graduated from Pound Ridge Elementary school plus we are close friends with numerous neighborhood kids still there. A school is defined by the teachers that work there, and you will not find a more dedicated or experienced faculty than the teachers at PRES. It is true that standardized testing requirements have changed the nature of the curriculum, but all New York State schools are struggling to come to grips with the same issue and PRES is not alone in this problem. The teachers are responsive, the parent community is actively involved, and students of all learning levels are met with tailored learning regimens. Parents should feel fortunate to have their children attend PRES. Sadly, there are always a few individual situations in every school that do not match parent expectations to actual results. Our 3 children score in the 99th and 98th percentile in reading and math so I can assure you PRES has what it takes for those that are patient and work with their kids to get the most from a public school education.

Pound Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
I write with sadness that our once amazing little school has deteriorated into a test-taking factory. Everything that made PRES the 5 star school you read about in posts dating back to 2010 and before are spot-on. All of the attributes they list are now gone. Like all public schools, PRES has fallen victim to NCLB and high stakes testing, which has forced more and more test prep. Beloved projects that kids did for years have been removed to make room for 'more rigorous curriculum'. The kids don't have much fun in class anymore, my kids complain they hate school now, something they never did before. But 3 hours worth of practice tests in 2 days will do that to a 9 year old. Leadership here is weak, morale is low. PRES is not the place it once was. Parents are treated as outsiders now, under the guise of improved security in the aftermath of Newtown.


Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
My daughter went to a small private school when we lived in the city and they did not know how to handle her reading needs. PRES is addressing that need and she is flourishing with her reading!

Pound Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
Have had 6 children in the Pound Ridge Elementary School and can say nothing but good things about the school. Each child's needs were different and each was given the individual attention necessary for his success.

Nearby schools

Pound Ridge Elementary School
7 Pound Ridge Road, Pound Ridge, NY  10576
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (914) 764-8133
Last modified Pound Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top