Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 33 Edward M Funk

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 1055 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

This school sucks!! The teachers do not communicate with the parents, Some of them don't care, my child has experienced racism and the administration did nothing to help. This is not a learning environment and the guidance counselor does not counsel or help the students. Instead he allows the students to play computer games as he converses on the phone and while class is in session. The principal is not visible and he's a push over. The teachers need to go to more teacher trainings. Some of the teachers require refresher courses. Just a bad school overall. Glad my kid got out of there. My child is now thriving and doing well in his new school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

My 2 daughters attend this school, the teachers they've had have been GREAT however I dislike the courtesy in the Main Office, they should be more friendly and also the Lunch ladies I get a lot of complaints they are just to mean and should really work on their acts and on how they speak to the younger kids...Other than that it's an overall good school...P.S. Mrs.porter, Mrs. Batino, and Mrs. Anoushian GREAT GREAT TEACHERS!!! Love how they communicate with the parents and the love they put in their students, these are the kind of Teachers we need more of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

I have a child that attends this school. The security guards are very friendly. Whereas if you re in the main office, it s hard to get help and no one is friendly it should be a friendly environment. It won t kill them to smile and be friendly. Same as when you re calling! Calling is even worse!!!! The teachers are OK. This year my child seem to have a strong teacher. However teachers are being graded now! She's a real pusher and very easy to talk to. As last year it was the opposite. Lunchroom aids need to be a bit more friendly and approachable to the little ones!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Ps 33 is the best school in the area, my both sons went to this school.My younger one is still going to ps 33 .He is in 2nd grade and my older one graduated from this school last year in 5th grade .The teachers and whole staff is very co-operative and informative they give all the parents advise about the education .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

This is the best school in the world and best of all my kid is happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

this school is, just breathtaking! In this school, i have learned a lot! And what made it more fun more is that they designed a new park that our community is welcome to use anytime we want to!


Posted April 27, 2010

I think P.S.33 is a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

I think it is an excellent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

This comment is for the parent concerned about the safety. I am an out of state parent and have tried to call the school to contact my child and they absolutely refused to give me any information about my child. I was very frustrated but at the same time I understand the security risks involved. That being said the after school pick up is a security risk itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

this is gem hidden in queens village. Teachers are experienced,dynamic and caring. Both my children had great experiences here. The PTA has been extremely helpful, motivated and dedicated and have made themselves easily available for all questions, concerns and opinions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I definitely give a thumbs up to this magnificent school. All of my 4 children attended this school, my daughter is in the 4th grade. The academic structure, and music program is great! Teachers here make sure that the childrens are getting the best education possible, and give it their all to enforce that in a positive, bright environment. New teachers are also making sure that our childrens have within themselves confidence, and all the support they need to become great citizens. I applaud the teachers, parent organizations, and the leaders, principles, and assistant principles of this school for a great job. I love the 'student of the Month' awards, where the children are recognized for the superb work and participation in their class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I have no problem with the curriculum. I am however concerned with the safety of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

I went to this school and I loved it. The academic programs are great. Some examples are: TAG (Talented and Gifted) and Scan-Tek. In TAG, you do arts and crafts, like designing a board game for 2nd graders or writing a short story of your own. In Scan-Tek, you build things and use the computers. You learn about technology and science, both connected to each other. There is also art in the school where you learn about pointillism and Picasso and other things. There is also music (including a chorus and a band and orchestra) where you get to play different kinds of instruments such as the flute, violin, guitar, saxophone and many others. Parents are also involved in the school. There are a lot of PTA meetings and parent teacher conferences, too.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 20, 2005

parent involvement is great. School is overcrowded,poor educational support, poor service from administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 43% 9%
Hispanic 1 27% 23%
Black 1 21% 19%
White 2 7% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 2% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 113%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 267%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 83%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 561 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents52164%
Teachers4068%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ERICH WAGNER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

91-37 222nd St
Queens Village, NY 11428
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 465-6283

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 18 Winchester
Queens Village, NY


Ps 34 John Harvard
Queens Village, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT