Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 34 John Harvard

Public | PK-5 | 520 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

The principle is rude and has her favorite children, and parents. She does not want to be bothered with anything. There are some good teachers. Then there are some teachers that are always yelling at the students and treating them badly. This school needs a good clean out....the principle needs to be removed and some of the teachers as well.....I am still hoping to get my child out of this school....I will try my best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

Faculty and Staff are rude and discriminative. It's very obvious the principal has favorite kids. She would only remember her favorites by name and would get optimum attention from her. The parent- teacher coordinator looks friendly and helpful....you think!!! She is only nice in front of you as soon as you turn your back she will start judging you and gossip about you. Teachers are so young i don't even know if they are experienced qualified teachers. My son has a classmate in his class who doesn't even know how to write yet. Imagine at 1st grade!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

The turnover of teachers is a clear representation of the school climate and its leadership. Look closely at how many teachers have actually stayed there - how many are RUNNING away? Many of the teachers of the strong teachers have had just enough of the poor leadership created by Mrs. Pauline Shakespeare. She is belligerent, opinionated and judgmental. She loves to talk about parents as if she is she has been crowned "parent of the year." She gossips about her staff. This is a sinking ship. There are some strong teachers still on the roster - but due to Shakespeare's favoritism and rudeness, their self confidence is beaten down to a pulp. You are more than welcome to register your child at P.S. 34 - but be warned - Shakespeare does not like parents. Initially, you will be embraced with open arms - but god forbid that you have a question, you will be incarcerated and deemed as a difficult parent. After 1 year of school, for the sake of my children, it was imperative that I find them a new school. DON'T MAKE THE MISTAKE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I feel that the principal and facility members are doing thier best with the children pf P.S.34
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

This school is horrible in my opinion. The office staff are very rude. They are not friendly or professional in the least bit. While enrolling my daughter in thsi school for the first time, Ms. Shakespear seemed very involved, caring and friendly. However, on my daughter's first day of school, Ms.Shakespeare grabbed a child who apparently was scared due to the first day of school as he was crying and held onto his mother's leg. After grabbing the boy, he told mom that she needed to go in an unpleasant tone. I couldn't believe it. Even teachers and other parents looked at her as though she lost her mind. Some of the teachers are very nice, i must say. The majority of the staff need sensitivity training and attitude adjustments though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

This is a very great school, staff are very supportive and helpful. The principal is a woman of quality, very respectful and caring..our family is supposed to relocate and we are waiting until our child graduate, because we want her to be an example of P.S 34..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

The Principal in this school Mrs Shakespere need to be removed from this school all she knows how to do is yellat the kids in the school as if she is their parent, she is disrespectful and never resolves a problem, she encorages the bullies in this school,she brags about the school being an A school i beg to differ, that school has nothing but bad kidsin there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I love this school..the principal Ms. Shakespeare is wonderful...She cares about her student...She push the student to do the best they can...My daughter has been in this school since kindergarten and I am very satisified. I had a couple experience where I did not appreciate how a teacher handle a child; however,it does not reflect on the principle. Anytime I needed something to be address the principal give her immedate attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2012

Admissions staff was very helpful in making sure they follow up with me in regards to my son being selected to attend kindergarden in the fall. I am excited that he has been chosen for this school since it is rated a good public school compared to others within the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Since Ms Shakespeare became principal the school has become a circus. She doesn't practice school principals and allows interns to not follow the rules. Parents are brushed off and she gossips in the office with staff while parents are trying to address their concerns. Bullying is also allowed in this school and she a very contradictive individual. I would recommend any parent enroll their children if they dont have time to stay on top of their childrens progress.


Posted May 24, 2009

PS 34 is a great school. I have two children that attend this school. a fouth grader and my youngest is in pre-k. My fourth grader came from a different school, where she was doing very poorly. Within one year she went from failing marks in the second grade to getting grades in the high 3 percentile on her statewide exams. Even there pre-k is great. My 4yr old used to attend a private school and there is no difference in the curriculum. The principal truly cares and the teachers push hard. Making this school a wonder environment. The PTA executive board is really involved as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

P.S. 34 has improved tremendously over the last two (2) years. The principal has always been fair and understanding and the teachers seem to be more involved with the students. An African Arts program has been implemented and my son loves it! P.S. 34 should have more extracurricular activities for its' students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

This school has been getting better and better over the last 2 years. I see that my child has made an improvement. The teachers are great and helpful and the principal makes sure each student gets what is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

Good supportive teachers but parent aids and office personnel are rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 78% 19%
Hispanic 2 13% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 7% 9%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 285%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 125 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9825%
Teachers2784%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAULINE SHAKESPEARE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104-12 Springfield Blvd
Queens Village, NY 11428
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 465-6818

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 33 Edward M Funk
Queens Village, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT