Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Lourdes School

Private | PK-8 | 299 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens Village

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $331,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 30 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2008

I had chosen this school for my child because it's very diverse. Although I'm not happy with how involved the teacher's are and the tuition keeps increasing every year. The principal isn't friendly as well. At this time I'm looking around to other private schools that could offer much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

I currently have two children who are attending this school and I am more than satisfied with the education they are receiving. One warning however, if your child is not willing to work hard and/or if the parents are not willing to be involved in the child's academic life, then this school is not for you. You will not be able to 'coast' through your academic carrer at Our Lady of Lourdes because this school actually expects you to work hard. There are many extra curricular activities and events to choose from and it is most certainly a familial atmosphere. I'm very happy my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

this school is horrible. not enough activities. teachers are not there for the students. prices for food and uniform is ridiculous
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 29, 2006

OLL, Queens Village is a multi-cultural Catholic school in Queens. There is a strong sense of family and high educational values. My children have thrived in an environment of 'peacemakers' and have been able to learn greatly from interaction with peers from various backgrounds. Sadly though, the faculty is not as diverse as the student body, though the schol does not suffer because of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

There are many academic programs such as Mrs. Rapuano art club were my child had lots of fun. In health and gym class taught by Mr.Hewiitt your child will exercise and learn.Mr. Nelan teaches them about all the fascinating things of things that music has to offer and we also don't forget about the prents who are very ivolved in the school Im a 8th grade student who has been with OLL since 3rd grade and if you ask me I think its the greatest school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2005

Our Lady of Lourdes school is a pretty good environment for the children. The neighboorhood that it is located in is a very serene area.The children are very well diciplined. The education there is outstanding! All the children love it there. The teachers are well mannered and loving. Almost each student get individual attention and won't be left out. There is also counceling if the child needs. There are not many extracurricular activities. There is on the other hand art, physical therapy, music, library, and computers. But these are all mandatory. There are basketball, swimming, track, and cheerleading teams, but that is all. The level of parent involvement is moderate. Many parens choose to volenteer at school parties (Holoween party, ect.), at meetings, ect. Usually the parents help out when it involves the children instead of the
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

This is one of the best decisions we ever made in regards to our children education. My daugther got a full scholarship to st.francis prep (one of the best catholic high school in the nation) and one of NYC's specialized high school. This school is highly reccomended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Our Lady of Lourdes is a wonderful family school. Most of the teachers have been teaching there for 20 years! And many of the teachers either attended the school when they were young or their children attended. The curriculum is A+ and challenging. The teachers always make themselves available to parents and are involved in all aspects of the school. There are many fun activities sponsored throughout the year and several sports teams you can join. My children started in Pre-K and are now in the middle grades. If you want a great learning atmosphere, structure, caring teachers and a first class education, Our Lady of Lourdes is the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 75% 21%
Asian 11% N/A
Hispanic 11% 21%
White 3% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Josephine Barbiere
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

92-80 220th St
Queens Village, NY 11428
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 464-1480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. 34 John Harvard
Queens Village, NY


P.S. 33 Edward M Funk
Queens Village, NY





Grace Lutheran Day School
Queens Village, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT