Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Merrick Academy Queens Public Charter School

Charter | K-6 | 472 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens Village

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $331,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Merick Academy has come a long way, and are getting better everyday. I almost removed my child from the school at one point, but the Ms. Griffin and my son's teacher Ms. Danielle Spence worked with my child and I and I thank God I waited. I am sure they will keep on getting better as they strive to make every child's education experience worth while, while they get the very best education. Way to go Merrick Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Do you know where is the new facility they are movinng to? Thanks. I am considdring sending my child to Merrick Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

My child has attended Merrick Academy since 2009. Merrick has definitely had its bumps along the way however I have to say that this year has renewed my confidence in Merrick Academy and reminded me why I chose this school. Dismissal has been going on smoothly and the teachers are just amazing with the kids and work very hard with them. My son benefitted greatly from their extended Saturday school and the ELA carnival was one of his favorite moments this year. Field day which was held today for the upper grades was also a joy for me to participate in and all of the kids, teachers and parents seemed to have a wonderful time. As for the facility they are moving and will be in a facility with a full gym next year so physical Ed taking place in the classrooms will no longer be an issue. I personally love this school and am happy my son attends. Happy Parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

I started at this school from when it first opened in 2000 and went all the way up to 6th grade. I loved it when I was going there. I never had a problem with any teachers. But now, my sister does there and I must say, Merrick has fallen off. I dont know what it is, but I feel like everytime I go in there, it feel like I'm surrounded by a bunch of wild animals. There is no doubt a control problem between the kids and the students.


Posted January 29, 2013

I am very disappointed in Merrick academy. Communication between parents and staff are not promoted there. their dismissal is unorganized and safety is a issue. They do not have an open door policy in the school. You have to make an appointment to see the teacher for your kids report card, kids progress in class and they do not allow parents to view their children routine in the classroom. There is no gym, the gym are held in the class room. The children have no physical activities during the day. I hope Merrick Academy improve because these kids are getting short changed in both their education and the location of their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

VERY MATURE RESPONSE WHAT A SCHOOL I FEEL THAT WAS UN CALLED FOR IT SHOW THE MATURITY LEVEL OF THE TEACHERS UNDER THE OLD REGIME.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

You forgot to include how the school is going to financially survive. You made great points but to start over, you got to have funds. So I ask, how is this school going to pay good teachers like you a salary? Former concerned Teacher who glad one left!


Posted March 18, 2011

I am currently a teacher at Merrick Academy. It is difficult to find the solution for the years of corruption stemming from Merrick's Board of Trustees and their contractor "Victory Schools." it really is a shame that charter schools like Merrick Academy are being run by businessmen, and not educators. They are usually lawyers or politicians...not truly concerned with our students best interest's. Its difficult to go to work everyday when you are surrounded by negativitey and poor managment. Here is the simple solution. Remove the current board, terminate relations with Victory Schools, and start fresh with the right leaders inplace to ensure a quality program. -Merrick Academy Teacher currently seeking another job
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 3, 2010

im deeply upset and unhappy about the latest firing of teachers at merrick academy. im a parent of a second grader and thinking of moving my child to another school. these teachers work very hard and deserve all our support..shame on all of you that done this to our teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

I have been a parent of Merrick Academy since my daughter was in the first grade. My oldest daughter has graduated from Merrick and is now doing very well in middle school. I cannot believe what is going on in this building. This is a school of excellence that treats the teaching staff like rabid dogs. My daughter is bright and has great teachers, she did very well in the social studies test. When I come to PTA meetings and board meetings I hear the leadership complain about the teachers. I say what are you complaining about? They are tremendous. All I see is unhappy people. Someone should do something before we lose the teachers that help our children perform. I worry about my daughter for next year?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2009

I really dont know what the parents are talking about I am a former student at Merrick I miss it so much they have great displine and wonderful teachers this is one of the best schools you will every find


Posted April 7, 2009

I am very unhappy with this school! The good teachers are leaving and there aren't really support for the less experienced teachers! I don't understand how this school received a high rating in parent involvement where a majority of the parents don't even show up the the pta meetings. As far as extracurricular activities, there is an after school program which resembles more like a day care than program which should offer challenging activities to all of the children involved. I believe Merrick could be a much better school if there were new leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

My grand son is going to leave in 2009 and we are looking for a middle school that would have his overall interest like Merrick Academy.Ithank Ms Alston and the staff from the bottom of my heart for helping my grandson stay focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

im a student and i just graduated from the sixth grade and now im on to a 7th grade in a new school....im deffinently going to miss merrick because i've been in that school since 1st grade which is 6 years....right now i just wanna take the time out to say thank u mrs.alston for always being there your a great principle and i will never forget you....also mr.d[my math and homeroom teacher] even tho we was not on the same page all the time you helped me with what i needed because you cared about me and i repect that....mr.mac[s.s and science teacher] you are a very funny guy and you are so supportive and you give people more than one chance so thank you.....last but not leat mr.hilton he is soooooo wierd how can i forget him lol....but on the upp side he can b soooo funny...much love bye
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2007

The School needs a new leadership. The school started off great and then declined for the worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

Since attending Merrick Academy Public School, both of my children have seen a vast improvement on their academic level. The 5th grader has been attending since Oct 06, she has become more independent, self sufficient where she is able to do her homework without any assistance.Her class work has improve from a level two to three and 4. The teachers have been doing a spectacular job. The first grader who was recently accepted has improved a lot in her vocabulary and can able to read more independently. She has progress tremendously. Both of their teachers and the staffs has been doing a great job of mentoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

Merrick Academy is a school of excellence. They have molded my son into a model citizen and are keeping the tradition in our family alive with our second Merrick Academy enrollee, a new kindergartener.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

My daughter has attended Merrick Academy since third grade and she graduated this year from the sixth grade. Her former teachers from another school district focused more on her weaknesses, and were in strong pursuit in labeling her and trying to persuade me to place her in special education. Once my daughter started Merrick Academy, I saw major improvements in her academics, and the teachers assessment of her was very contrary to her former teachers. Merrick Academy teachers cultivated her strengths, potential, and helped her to improve in weak areas. I thank God for Ms.Alston and all the staff. Ms.Alston is definitely an advocate for educating children of color, and she has zero tolerance for disruptive behavior. Sincerely, Ms.Dawn Young
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 26, 2006

This could be a great school if the leadership were changed! The school overall started of strong but has declined because of a high turn over rate of staff and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

I feel that this school is giving students and parents a great resource it is providing an education that is innovative in a school system that often fails children of color.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Female41%
Male33%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population37%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant36%

Math

All Students32%
Female31%
Male33%
African American31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population33%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students22%
Female28%
Male15%
African American21%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%

Math

All Students35%
Female40%
Male28%
African American32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%

Science

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
African American96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students20%
Female26%
Male15%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%

Math

All Students30%
Female36%
Male24%
African American31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students11%
Female10%
Malen/a
African American11%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%

Math

All Students21%
Female10%
Malen/a
African American21%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English21%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 91% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 6% 9%
Hispanic 2 3% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 168%N/A43%
Female 249%N/A49%
Male 251%N/A51%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 38%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 3%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 294 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.9
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents23755%
Students19100%
Teachers3895%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TONYA JOHNSON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

207-01 Jamaica Ave
Queens Village, NY 11428
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 479-3753

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps Is 295
Queens Village, NY



Ps 134 Hollis
Hollis, NY


The Bellaire School
Queens Village, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT